We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #10 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Grosse Pointe, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at the Omni while attending a conference at the nearby Convention Center. Very convenient location to the conference center, restaurants, downtown/gas lamp area, stadium, harbor. While being within a very comfortable walking distance to all these areas, it remains in a fairly secluded corner and is a most welcome oasis in the midst of what seems like a persistent throng of travelers. The hotel lobby is fairly small and sparse. The rooms are large, tastefully appointed and very comfortable. One of the few hotels where there appears to have been some thought to where the air conditioning vents are placed so that the cold air doesn't always blow directly on you. Only criticism is the location of the TV - bit odd in terms of watching TV while laying down. Bathroom is large, generous sized toiletries and soap, thick and soft towels. The fitness area is average, by hotel standards. Did not try the pool nor the restaurants. Hotel over-all is very clean and secure. Housekeeping is un-intrusive; spotty night turn-down service. Good value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elguernica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,436
    945
    213
    84
    38
See reviews for
625
988
149
1,524
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is my second review of this hotel. I stayed here twice for conventions at the convention center. It could not be more convenient for that. The walk to the convention center is just a minute or two. My last review was lukewarm but this time they stepped it up.

First let me say that this is a busness hotel. It is convenient for downtown and the convention center. It would be OK for vacation travel but for the money there are places on the beach that might be more fun. You can catch the little trains next to the hotel to go up the coastline I suppose. Never tried it. But as a business hotel this one shines. The rooms are not large but they are very nice. Lots of plugs for electronics and a good desk and easy chair for work. Internet is free for club members and you can sign up for the Omni club on arrival if you don't do it from home. It is free. I consider internet as important as running water these days and hotels that charge for it are running off business travelers. It is often not a reimbersable expense. The TV has all of the cable channels we want.

Typical of Omni, the beds are very comfortable and the air conditioning individually controlled. The room was quiet. (I had a view of Petco park.) This would be a great hotel for a game. The amenities are what you would expect from a first-rate hotel. The room was spotless and included evening turn-down service.

Stay away from the mini-bar. You could have a beer FedEx'ed from home for the cost of one. And what is with the $7.00 italian water in the room? Look Omni. There is a fine line between convenience and absurdity. We would like some bottled water in the room but we do not want to pay more for it than we did for our lunch. Kudos on the coffee maker though. The free Wolfgang Puck coffee is a step above the competition. There is a McCormick & Schmick's in the lobby and they are always reliable though fairly expensive. If you really want a treat, go next door to Tin Fish. This is a bar/restaurant with an outside eating area and some of the best fish tacos (and other seafood) you could hope to find. And the prices are very reasonable. The entire Gas Lamp district is right out your door so if you have bad food on your trip it is on you.

In the end though this is a very nice hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. It is convenient for business and just does everything pretty well. It is my goto place for business travel in San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Omni is a very nice property. As others have commented the rooms with beautiful water and city views also come with train noise. However, during the night hours I think the "quiet zone" regulations are in effect as I heard no train horn tooting during sleep time. Room is not large but very well laid out. The sliding bathroom door is attractive but does not really screen out bathroom noise. Love that some of the windows open, great fresh air. Room service is very efficient, consistently bettering their quoted times. Fair warning, the breakfast burrito is big enough to split between two! Housekeeping could pay a little more attention to detail and the four elevators are achingly slow. Staff provides friendly and efficient service.

Room Tip: Beware noise from the pool, although it does close at 10pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RainCityGal425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I had a really nice stay. Beds and rooms were comfortable and quiet. I couldn't hear the guests in the adjoining rooms. My only recomendation is that they have vending machines available. San Diego water smells like sulphur, so you need bottled water to drink and brush your teeth. That is only available in the room for 7.00 or from the gift shop off of the lobby. Soft drinks had to be purchased from the gift shop too. Beakfast is not included in the price of the room.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 19th floor and could barely hear the trains passing by on the tracks. I would sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merechat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you are in San Diego for an event at the convention center or to party in the Gaslamp and want a modern and convenient place to stay, the Omni is a good choice. I am a Starwood member and often stay in Westins; I found this hotel to be comparable. The customer service was above average. We were initially put in a double room and told the front desk that we preferred one king bed. There were no king rooms available yet, but they allowed us to use the double room until the king room became available. Since we were traveling with an 8-month old baby this was beyond helpful. The room was not large, but not any smaller than a typical city hotel room. Bathroom was larger than expected. The views are either of the pool/harbor or the city. My fondest memory of this hotel is lounging by the outdoor pool. We found the poolside bar/food menu to be very reasonably priced. We ordered the crudite, which was a generous portion of veggies, olives and dip. The pool area is clean, relaxing and well-staffed. We didn't use the gym facilities, but did check the gym out briefly, which appear decently sized and new. Really the only downside of our stay woke us up in the middle of the night. Though we were staying on the 17th floor, we could hear club music blasting from the streets that lasted from about 11:30 pm to around 2 am. Again, if you are here for the nightlife the noise probably won't be a problem for you. Overall, this is a nice, contemporary hotel well-situated in the Gaslamp district.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smith2la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Being in San Diego for a convention one can not stay in a better location. Incredibly close to the convention centre the hotel adds some very decent rooms, a good restaurant with excellent breakfast, and a decent gym and a beautiful pool. I have stayed in other hotels during the conventions in San Diego, but this one remains the best so far!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wllmbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Modern rooms. Good gym. Beautiful pool and deck with a fire place. Across the street from the convention center and Petco field (San Diego Padres). Dozens of restruants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#33 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#71 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,215 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#42 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#14 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing