We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #10 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

In the heart of downtown and still quiet, clean and best attention. We loved our stay. Just dont forget you have to pay parking. Still worth it. Great view to the convention center. We loved the city more.

Room Tip: Great price at priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafaelabril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,361
    915
    204
    78
    36
See reviews for
602
956
147
1,468
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We wanted to stay in the Gaslamp District. This hotel was very clean and conveniently located. Wish the pool and hot tub had a better view, but at least it was near the water. We will definitely stay here again on our future adventures in San Diego.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love this place for the perfect location and extremely pleasant service. The pool is very nice and the snack/food selection at the pool, is reasonable and good. Our appetizer was a little late, and they made it complimentary, which was not necessary, but a nice surprise. They are courteous and willing to work with you if your room is near a "noisy" patron. I can't wait to stay there again and will definately reccommend it to other visitors to SD. My only complaint would be the beds are doubles, instead of queens, which can make it tight if you are sharing.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a quiet room, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for a business trip in October 2012 and had a great time. The location couldn't be better for the Gaslamp District and sea-front and you can pretty much walk anywhere else easily - so many great restaurants and bars right on your doorstep and SD being pretty small, a taxi anywhere else is pretty cheap.

I think us Brits are always pretty impressed with US hotels because they're just so much bigger, but even by the standards of other American hotels I've stayed in, this was great. Lovely big rooms with all mod-cons, good shower and plenty of power points in useful places - always a bug-bear of mine! I was also pleased to find local craft beer in the mini-bar - so much better than the same old stuff you get in every hotel!

Pool area is really nice and although I didn't go for a swim myself, it was certainly big enough for laps by the looks of things and there was a separate jacuzzi area so those that felt like lounging didn't get in the way of pool-swimmers.

Had breakfast both in the Terrace Bar by the pool and the in-house Starbucks, both of which were great and really well priced. Also had room service one night and the tacos were excellent!

I actually ended up being stranded in SD for a few extra nights because of Sandy-related flight cancellations and the staff couldn't have been any more helpful, even putting me into a bigger and better room for the 'inconvenience' of having me move! Couldn't have been more pleasant in organising my extra nights.

I'd definitely visit again if I was in San Diego on vacation rather than business and would recommend to colleagues if they were in the city too!

Only complaint would be lack of breakfast - I think that's pretty normal in the US, it does make an extra expense.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a very good hotel as downtown San Diego hotels go. The service is extremely good, the rooms are modern and in good shape, pool is nice, the bed is comfortable and the location is great. The in-hotel restaurant is a snooze affair seafood chain but being as the hotel is located in the Gaslamp District that doesn't matter much.

The tragic flaw of this hotel is train noise. Downtown San Diego is separated from the bay by a few sets of railroad tracks. If you have spent any time there at a conference you know them well. Both the LRT system and passenger/BNSF freight trains use this right-of-way. The Omni is located on this right-of-way. The hotel has standard double glazed silicone curtain wall which can handle the noise generated by the LRT system. Unfortunately it does nothing to stop the noise from the BNSF freight trains which happily blow their horns at ALL HOURS of the night despite nearby crossings being fully controlled. 2am TOOT! TOOT! 4am...TOOT! TOOT!

Our room had a bay view and therefore also a "train view" as well. Perhaps a room facing downtown would help deal with this issue?

I liked most everything about this hotel other than my ability to actually sleep in it...therefore it gets only an average rating. If it wasn't for the train horn it would do much better.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city may offer less train related noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyleyinSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I went to the hotel for a weekend romantic much needed getaway. We booked thru the website omni hotels. As soon as we drove up we were very much welcomed by the valet staff people. Check in was a breeze.We then were lucky enough to have dane help us with our bags. He was really knowledgeable , helpful and when we arrived our our beautiful room. He additionally got ice for us, and showed us how the different items in the room worked. We had a beautiful view of the water and felt our stresses melting away. The hotel is in a great location, as its quite to sleep but it is a quick walk to get a bite to eat or walk around, as there is lots to see. We sleep like babies in our comfortable bed. Love the comfortable bed.The only negative was not the hotels fault. Late at night we had a very noisy group of guests in the room next to us. The really good thing was the manager of the hotel luis simental really handled the situation with such grace. My husband and I were so pleased how polite, and gracious this manager was. We could tell that he really cares about the guests and is very proud of his hotel. We had a wonderful experience at their breakfast restaurant also. The food was wonderful and service was excellent. I am pretty sure the manager of the restaurants name was francisco. He was so nice and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and would definately be coming back to this hotel in the future. Great location, Good drinks at the bar, wonderful room service, well educated, polite and accomadating staff all around.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room with a view of the water, I always like a corner room, but its all about what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamondfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hallway was dated with obvious previous water damage, the suit 1732 that we paid $600 a night had such a dirty carpet, that my feet were black by the end of the day. Every time somebody above us flushed their toilet we could here it. Breakfast buffet had a poor selection for the price paid. ($22) The door that is suppose to separate living/sleeping areas was creaking and useless since it didn't conceal any noise from the living room at all, if not added more. The housekeeping were rude and pushy - especially when trying to deliver ice we didn't ask for (for tips) at 9 pm! Didn't receive even one free bottle of water! Friendly staff, for the price would not stay again. Grand Hyatt is just across the street!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your review after your recent stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel. I was very disappointed to read your remarks and learn about how far short we fell of your expectations, and our responsibilities to provide you with a comfortable, enjoyable stay. Aside from the carpet problems you noted in the corridor outside your room, the dirty carpet inside, a problematic door separating the parlor from the bedroom, noisy plumbing, and a Turndown Attendant that did not leave a good impression, it is clear that we owe you an apology. We are a much better hotel than that, but I can understand you not necessarily agreeing with me based upon your experience.

Upon initially learning of these issues via our electronic survey system, I feel it important to note I contacted you directly and offered a refund of one night's room and tax, which I was happy you accepted. While we are very disappointed in your TripAdvisor rating, we are hopeful you will be willing to give us another opportunity to demonstrate our potential in the future.

Thank you again for your time, and for choosing the Omni San Diego Hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Kermabon
Director of Operations
Omni San Diego Hotel
Direct: (619) 645-6530
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,261 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#65 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing