We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, quiet, well appointed, pool long enough for laps”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #19 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fairly standard five star hotel experience but nothing to fault. Stayed here because we couldn't get the Residence Inn, which I think would be preferred because of better ratings, free breakfast, kitchen etc. (it is only 1 block north). Efficient friendly service, decent room without being anything special. Breakfast in the room is a bit pricey once you add $3 delivery and 20% standard gratuity. Minibar looks like Fort Knox, has a special key, viewing door, and we were too frightened to open it lest is set off an array of charges!

The pool is about 15 m (50 ft) long, which is long enough for laps. Free internet but only if you join their preferred customer program, which is free.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the water (we tried this and ended up with a low room overhanging the po...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,408)
There are newer reviews for Omni San Diego Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,393 - 3,399 of 4,408 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is located very close to the Convention Center and to both the trolley (green line) and the Coaster train.

Everything was clean, the room and amenities were luxurious, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a bayview room on an upper floor, which was great; large windows afforded wonderful views and let in plenty of light. Wired and wireless internet access was available in the room --- without charge for members of the hotel's loyalty club. (If you're not already a member, you can sign up for free, although for this deal to work, you probably have to do so before arriving.)

One small drawback: there are no towel racks outside of the shower. One large problem that plagued us throughout our stay: noise, both from the trains outside the hotel and from the room next door. Although the walls between rooms were sufficiently thick, a door between the rooms had a gap underneath, letting most everything through.

Room Tip: Bayview rooms are delightful --- but perhaps not the best choice (because of train noise) if you'...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear "EdMed,"

Thank you for offering your feedback on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel. We're pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay overall, found our hotel to be clean and comfortable, and the people working here to be warm and engaged. Regarding our loyalty program, anyone who is a Select Guest member is eligible for complimentary wireless internet access in their guest rooms, even if they enroll after checking in. Also, as are all hotels near the Convention Center, we're patiently awaiting news from the City of San Diego as to when a long-awaited Quiet Zone will go into effect. This should reduce local noise from trains and train crossings significantly. We expect to receive that any day after working for several years to get it enacted.

Lastly, I'd like to apologize for the disturbance you had to endure due to a gap below your connecting door. Thanks to your feedback, we'll be double checking all doors for gaps underneath, as well as bathrooms for towel hooks.

We are hopeful of future opportunities to welcome you back when your travel plans bring you to San Diego.

Best regards,
Thomas Kermabon
Director of Operations
Omni San Diego Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Summary: Phenomenal service and impeccable cleaning. Great location for convention, trolley and Gas Lamp access.

Location: The location is right beside the Gas Lamp district and across the street from the Convention center. Petco is attached to the Omni via a skyway (we did not use it). The trolley access is downstairs as well. The Gas Lamp area has tons of restaurants and places to go and visit. For a good & inexpensive eat, you can try the Tin Fish downstairs across the street (be aware that it closes early) for some seafood.

Room: The room was phenomenal. Clean. I am big on finding on hairs, but did not find any! Beds are very comfortable. View is incredible! We could see Coronado, Convention center and the Cabrillo National monument from our window. Have to pay for WiFi unless you are a member of their loyalty club. As I was, I got a lot of personalized service - pressing, shoe shine, bottled water, cookies, and local newspaper. They gave me a microwave and a fridge when I asked as I had toddlers staying with me.

Where it can improve:
- They left cookies and milk on day 1. I wish they had brought cookies when the children arrived, as they would have loved it!
- Area around Tin Fish has some homeless people living around it. Safe as police is there.
- Area north and north east of hotel is not too good. Lots of homeless people around it. This is primarily around the Hotel Indigo area.
- train sometimes runs in the evening; slightly noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very nice hotel if you have an event at the conference center. Rooms were clean, bathrooms modern with soft fluffy towels and nice robes,and service excellent. Its in the gaslight part of town so there are lots of restaurants not to mention the ballpark and easy access to transportation. Free wireless is nice, too. My only complaint is with the mattress which seemed a bit saggy. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingsMountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

It is a very luxury hotel, great service and nice rooms. They have a small bar where you can have a Martini before you encounter the Gas lamp district.
The hotel I found very well located close to the harbor walk and also close to the city walk. You reach the Balboapark easily by cab.
I was at a conference and stayed for 7 day and I can highly recommend this hotel for work as well for leisure time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bubbla20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear "Bubbla20,"

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your TripAdvisor review. We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay as much as you did and would consider returning when your travel plans bring you back to San Diego.

Best regards,
Thomas Kermabon
Director of Operations
Omni San Diego Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Rooms are spacious, clean, and have contemporary furniture. Location is good. It is across the street from the Convention Center. Lots of bars and restaurants are within walking distance. Rates are okay...you are in the heart of downtown so do not expect any bargains.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference at the convention center. Wonderful staff and nice clean property. Located a block from the gaslamp district, across the street from the convention center, and next door to PetCo Park baseball stadium, you can get to great restaurants and entertainment with a short walk. The train runs along the frontage of the hotel but the noise isn't too bad, wasn't disturbing to me on the 5th floor. If you're sensitive to noise I would ask for a higher floor room. All in all a nice property even though you'll pay for the convenience and higher end amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 278 in San Diego
5,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,957 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $172 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing