We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omni San Diego:This is The Hotel for San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #22 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our first trip to San Diego and we picked the Omni just because it was connected to Petco Ballfield and we wanted to see the Padres play. But this hotel turned out to be a fantastic selection for many, many other reasons including location, room views and excellent service from the Front Desk, Concierge, Housekeeping and Room Service. Service is a HUGE thing for me as I hate waiting with a passion and don't like to have to call twice.

We arrived at 1:00AM but there was a very friendly and helpful Front Desk that got us checked in quickly. They have web check-in and checkout which is very convenient although I didn't use them.The room was on the 20th floor with twin double beds. The room was very clean and modern and beds very comfortable. We woke up, opened the shades and the whole exterior wall was a floor to ceiling window with magnificent views of the San Diego Bay which in itself was an amenity. So get the highest floor possible facing the bay. Location of the hotel put you within easy walking distance of the bay front and restaurants. The bay front has the Midway Aircraft carrier museum, Star of India tall ship which is where the maritime museum is and lots of great restaurants. There is a boardwalk that goes all along the bayfront for at least 3 miles and is great for walking or jogging.

The concierge desk is manned by 2 so no long waiting and they are very fast and helpful. They planned a sailing trip, a driving trip to La Jolla and suggested many restaurants that were all excellent. Room service was actually fast and the food good. There is a small shop near the concierge's desk that has cold drinks, breakfast muffins and a variety of other things in case you forget something. We gave into temptaion and used the convenience bar becuase we got in so late...expensive but convenient.

Having the hotel actually connected to the ballpark was really cool but don't think of this hotel just for the ballpark. The hotel is very, very well staffed which means no wait times and fast service. Plus everyone is happy because they don't have to do a hundred different things. I rented a car for 2 days and the valet service was excellent. But be prepared, parking is expensive at hotels downtown in general at $34 per night. I used a taxi to get around to most places as everything we wanted to see was nearby includng the zoo and airport. La Jolla is a 25 minute drive thus the rental car.
The pool is on the 6th floor but we never used it.

My daughter left a bunch of stuff behind which she told us about on the way to the airport and caused a lot of stress. I called the Front Desk asked them to have it ready for me as I was in a Taxi and coming back with the meter running. I ran in and they had it bagged up and ready to go.

There are ALOT of hotels downtown but given our experience we would return to the Omni.

Room Tip: Defintely get a room 15th floor or higher facing bay. Didn't use Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony0146484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,546 - 3,552 of 4,546 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a wonderful experience while visiting San diego for the first time. Luxury without being overbearing, efficient and friendly service in the dining room and at the check in desk, a knowledgeable concierge with the right advice (thanks Robert!) and the weather. All conbined to make the downtown experience there fabulous. A pool, a city view, and a location on the edge of what's happening in the downtown topped it off. Nice and simple. We would return anytime.

Room Tip: We overlooked the Gas Lamp while viewing the convention center and Coronado beyond. it was tough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Omni staff in San Diego make you feel very welcome. They are cheerful, helpful and accommodating. It was our wedding anniversary and they sent up sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries which was a lovely touch.
The location of the hotel is perfect, walking distance to the bay, the Gaslamp Quarter and Petco Park.
There were a few areas that could be improved. The shower kept cutting out and the air conditioning was not regulated, there were only two settings, boil or freeze!
Becoming a select guest was a very good idea, as they bring you a complimentary morning beverage and free wifi.
The hotel is comfortable, well located and great for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nik399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel was not worth the price of the room and I am surprised at all the positive reviews it has received. I usually don't write reviews, and don't consider myself to be picky at all, but I was pretty disappointed with this hotel. First- the carpets in the halls and room looked dirty, old, and was bubbled up in many places. The room was a little on the small side, but OK, but the bathroom doors and part of the walls were like closet doors with slats so that any steam/smell in the bathroom came out into the rest of the room and the doors didn't really close. TP was from a public beach bathroom. The water pressure kept going out so that the shower would keep switching off and the water would come out the tub faucet instead. The pool was through some unmarked doors off one of the hallways on the 6th floor and was pretty small (only 3.5 feet deep the whole way). WiFi was not free- 10 bucks a day (after paying $230 a night for the room?!, plus $35 to park). No place to eat breakfast in the hotel- only room service.

Maybe all the glowing reviews made me expect something better, but this hotel was just OK. If it was 100 dollars cheaper, I would have been happy with it, but for the price I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I can't add anymore than others have already stated. Great 15th floor room overlooking the bay - really pleasant staff who seem genuinely happy to help you - fantastic location for Gaslamp area restaurants & entertainment, Petco Park, the bay & convention centre. This was our first time in San Diego and it won't be the last and I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a 'quiet room with a view' and had a room on the 15th floor overlooking the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YLAandIMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Absolutely amazing. My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and the staff at Omni went out of their way to make it a memorable experience. I would absolutely stay here again, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarolee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at The Omni, San Diego. We had just been dealing with a difficult situation in our family and wanted to just get away and take our minds off everything for a week. San Diego is one of my favorite places in the world and it was the perfect trip. We had a new baby and a few young children with us and they put us up on a very large, gorgeous corner room with floor to ceiling windows and beautiful views of the gaslamp district and the harbor. The staff went above and beyond to make our family have a wonderful stay and it was surprisingly family friendly considering it being an upscale, more of a boutique type of property. My kids absolutely loved the hot chocolate on our doorstep every morning and we loved the walking distance to Seaport plaza and lots of shopping and hotels. We would definitely stay at the Omni again!

Room Tip: A corner room with a view of the harbor is just beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AM7D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
5,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
5,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $141 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing