We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and modern close to the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #13 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice and modern close to the city centre”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Nice, moderd and good quality hotel in the city centre, close to the harbour.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetrKasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,792
    1,064
    261
    101
    44
See reviews for
738
1,105
164
1,792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We recently stayed at the Omni San Diego with our two children. On arrival we were upgraded to a larger space, which was a fantastic start! Everything about the hotel was wonderful, but the most impressive thing was the staff. Every person we met was extremely helpful, and nothing was ever too much trouble. Mark the concierge was fantastic, giving us good local knowledge and some very handy tips. He made a real difference to our holiday.
This hotel exceeded our expectations and we would return there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 408Jac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Chose the Omni for location and price. I reserved 2 rooms and for my birthday weekend. Prior to my check-in, the hotel upgraded us to a suite and gave us connecting rooms (Outstanding). The staff surprised me with a Champagne bottle and chocolates (which were consumed that same day). Room service was fast and the hotel staff was friendly, I totally recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Across the street from Convention Center and Petco Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etapngav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear "etapngav,"

Thank you very much for your recent review on TripAdvisor. I was very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and that we earned a 5-star ranking. We're constantly striving to create memorable experiences for our guests and find great satisfaction in knowing we were successful in your opinion.

We are hopeful of future opportunities to welcome you back when your travel plans bring you back to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Thomas Kermabon
Director of Operations
Omni San Diego Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had not pre-booked this hotel and picked it by pure luck.

We got a room on the 22nd floor with a fantastic view of the water front. Stayed for 3 days and the car remained in the parking. Walked everywhere or went by public transport.

Huge number of places to eat within walking distance.

Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_K_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

After reading a few negative reviews I was worried I made a mistake by booking on priceline but luckly that wasn't the case.

Omni is located downtown, walking to distance to everything downtown San Diego has to offer, bar, clubs, restaurants, malls, banks, movies and much more.

The service was outstanding. I got checked in by a woman names Heather that was very professional and welcoming, made me feel right at home.

The rooms are very nice as well. Very clean, comfortable beds and lots of extras.

wiFi is only free if you sign up for their online service ( which is free ) but I think adding that extra hassle is unnecessary.

Parking is definitely a problem. The hotel nickle and dime the guest there. Be advise it costs $35 overnight at the hotel parking lot, $13 a night across the street parking lot. They should have free parking for a guest that pays $200plus to stay there.

All and all I really enjoyed Omni and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoLaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear "Gebroida,"
Thank you for submitting your 5-Star review on TripAdvisor. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and would consider returning should your travel plans bring you back to San Diego. We most certainly would be pleased to have you return. Regarding parking options and pricing, guests are welcome to valet park overnight at our hotel for $35 with unlimited "in and out" privileges. Additionally, guests have a convenient self-park option, located directly across the street, in a facility not managed by the hotel yet one that offers overnight prices in the $17 to $25 range based upon day of week and local event activity. I can completely empathize with guests who are not accustomed to having to pay these considerable sums for overnight parking. In our urban city center and after regularly comparing our prices to other establishments, we feel we are competitively priced. Of important note, we often offer packages via our website that include discounted parking in the overall rate.

Thank you very much for your time. If I can be of any assistance here at the hotel for any reason, I hope you will not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Thomas Kermabon
Director of Operations
(619) 209-0292
tkermabon@omnihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed at the Omni in December with our two girls and had a wonderful time in San Diego. The accomodations were very nice, location to the gaslamp district, Petco Park convention center and monorail (or whatever they call it there) was perfect. My only complaint would be that the beds in our room were definately not queen size. That could be a big problem when kids are older/bigger.

Upon check in our children were greeted with a kids activity bag with all sorts of fun stuff for them to do. They even delivered chocolate chip cookies and milk to our room that evening. There was a Baltimore Ravens game the following day so the lobby/lounge/restaurant was packed with players and fans, kind of cool to be in the middle of the action. We ate breakfast at the hotel both mornings and had wonderful meals.

We had a view of the bay and were able to watch the Christmas boat light parade from our window. Sea World was only 10 minutes away so that was very convienient. Our best meal by far was at The Fish Market. It was too far to walk with kids so we cabbed it both ways but it would be a very nice adult walk. And the gaslamp district would be awesome with a group of adults. The entire area has so many bars and restaurants to chose from that it would be a fun destination without children :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UtahFamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel is very nice and I had wonderful views of the bay and coronado. Breakfast buffet in the morning was very nice, great selection of fruits and berries. The only complaint I had was the train runs right outside the hotel which I really don't mind usually but the train sounded it's horn before 6am waking me up out of a sound sleep all the way on the 18th floor. Also no flat screen TV and really poor wifi reception on my iPad.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfitzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,831 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing