We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #18 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was a really great hotel, very friendly staff, very clean, and it was also in the ideal location for exploring San Diego. If you get a deal on this hotel, you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovemyicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,673 - 3,679 of 4,453 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

We used to live in San Diego, but we were just visiting for a bowl game, and decided to stay downtown so we could walk back to our hotel from our old favorite watering holes. Great location. Right off the trolley. And the view from our room was amazing, of the bay, looking northward, including Point Loma, Coronado, etc.

We could go to the game at Qualcomm via the trolley, super easy!

We will definitely consider this place again next time we are visiting San Diego.

One negative is parking is expensive, but I think I had it added to my room bill.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPilot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Just finished a short stay at the Omni Hotel. This hotel is in a great location - but there are a few things to consider noise-wise.

If you're a baseball fan, the hotel is adjacent to Petco Park. You can even see the park from some high floor windows inside the hotel (although it's more fun to be INSIDE the park!) I stayed on the side away from the ballpark so I can't confirm noise levels during games (not that the Padres have too many full houses these days.) I didn't notice much annoying traffic or noise inside the hotel during the three game days I was there.

What can be a deal-breaker noise-wise is if you're on the side facin the convention center. BE WARNED: not only is there noise from the light rail (intercom announcements from conductor and occasional bells from approaching trams) there are loud REAL TRAIN WHISTLES with passing cargo trains. The whistles can blow at all hours of night and day. The hotel does provide earplugs (check the nightstand drawers) but not sure those will help, especially light sleepers. I happen to like trains and even I had to admit, this was a bit annoying at times.

Otherwise the hotel is a great, clean 4* hotel. The exterior design is modern. The staff is polite, relaxed and helpful (and oddly enough... quite goodlooking...) The rooms are up to date decor-wise (except the TVs... need to get with the flat-screen movements, Omni Team.) The rooms have great views (on the high floors) and probably not so bad on the lower floors either as you can look over the harbour or Gaslamp District.

If you're in SD for a conference - it's right across from the Convention Center. It's within minutes walking to the seaside / port district that's filled with a few parks, marinas and restaurants. Being a the corner of the Gaslamp District, the Omni is close to TONS of restaurants, bars, shops. This means the Omni is wonderfully convenient for going out in evenings and for a easy return "home" after lively during game days and special events.

Would I stay here again - definitely. I think it's actually one of the best hotels in the city - and I walked around the district to scour others. It's all about location - location - location. Don't let the train noise be a deterrent. This is convenient for public transit (and taxis) and it's a modern place to kick back and use as a base to explore SD. Good for work or holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the convention center / train track if you're a light sleeper, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TexasFjord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Cons first: you pay nearly 275 a night and they nickel and dime you for internet. That's just tacky. This is a major down side for business travelers.

Pros: everything else. The front desk staff are actually smart and took care of a credit card authorization with my company very effortlessly. It's nice to find people who work in customer service who are efficient when something out of the norm comes up.

The location is totally prime and the rooms are somewhere between standard and high end. If they get the internet situation resolved I would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmoratto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I were there this past weekend. We joined friends for the Padres game and combined it with my birthday. This hotel has a conveinent bridge conecting the hotel to the stadium. This hotel is within walking distance to several attractions ( Seaport Village, Horton Plaza, Gaslamp District, Convention Center, the Trolley).
This is my favorite hotel in the Omni chain. I would recommend it to anyone. Every time I am in San Diego, this is where I would stay.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDFifield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We are from the midwest and love to visit San Diego. When yo go no need for a car the Omni is the perfect location!we have stayed at many different locations in San Diego and the Omni is the best.No need fo us to look any place else when we getr back there we will always stay with them. Great hotel, great service, friendly staff, I cant imagine a better San Diege stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xsears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Recently returned from a 2 night stay. From the time you pull up to the time you leave everyone is very nice. The concierge was very helpful, parking attendant quick and the front desk staff friendly. The place is spotless as was the room. It is very convenient to the gaslamp district, as well as the sports stadium and convention center. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 278 in San Diego
5,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 278 in San Diego
5,002 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#35 of 278 in San Diego
2,060 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $167 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing