We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Ranked #170 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    247
    177
    96
    64
See reviews for
422
142
47
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently had a family reunion. La Quinta Inns was selected because of its great central location to all of the attractions available in San Diego. The hotel was exceptionally clean and well maintained. We can't say enough about how accommodating the staff was. Our family came from all over the country for this reunion, first one in 50 years. All of the Staff, from the front desk to house keeping, went out of their way to see that we all had a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great location. Quick access to all the major attractions. Very close to the High way that made commuting very easy.
Nice clean facility and very friendly staff. The service was great from front desk, cleaning staff and breakfast lady. I would like to see hot breakfast added to the menu.
Internet coverage can be improved a little. The connection was not very consistent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank fkharadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6119gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the two thumbs up! As we always strive to provide our guests with excellent service, we are happy to hear your stay reflected those efforts, with a clean facility and friendly staff. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to San Diego.

Chris Michie, General Manager 619-295-6886
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Good: Comfortable beds, somewhat updated room (newer granite counter top and replaced tile in bath, nice larger fridge, a microwave and small table with 2 chairs, free parking Friendly clerk checked me in and asked my preference of room location. Free breakfast, but I didn't take part, so can't give review on the breakfast. It has a small outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, but I didn't use them. (For vacationers, the beach is about 15-20 min away.)

The Bad: Internet was "included" in the price, but it didn't work except at 6:00 a.m. The hotel tech support said too many people were using it and I should wait a while. It didn't work both evenings I was at the hotel, which is completely unacceptable for me.

The place is set up like a motel. As a single woman, I didn't feel very secure with my room opening up to the public walkways. The breakfast and gym were in another wing. I was planning to go to the gym at 6:00 a.m., but didn't feel secure walking through the parking lot to get there in the dark. I was also told the gym was not locked, so I assume non-guests could access the gym. Signs everywhere reminding patrons not to leave anything in their cars didn't help me feel safe.

TV was a larger flat screen, but the one in my room was almost dead and pixelated.

Would I stay again? Well, it WAS much less than the fancy hotels on the other side of the freeway. It was clean and comfortable (just old and right off the freeway frontage road). I might return if I needed a moderately-priced place for a night or two, was not staying alone, and didn't need the hotel's internet to work.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6119gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear of the issues you experienced with the internet and television. I have reviewed your comments with the staff to ensure these issues are corrected. Please contact me if you have any questions or would like to discuss your stay further.

Chris Michie, General Manager 619-295-6886
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I loved every minute i had to spend with Shamu.
just loved the polar bears and dolphins, sea lions, whales jumping.
Seaworld is a great place to visit with your family. It's fun and exciting for all ages! Have fun!!
Kids love this trip..

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shobazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6119gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your trip to San Diego and to SeaWorld, one of the many great attractions near our hotel. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you and the kids back during your next fun filled adventure!

Chris Michie, General Manager 619-295-6886
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Right when my husband and I arrived, we found a front row parking spot for the front office. When we walked in, we were greeted immediately with a friendly smile and we checked in. They noticed that it was only the two of us and asked if we wanted to upgrade from a regular two queen room to a king suite. We agreed (of course) and we got a really nice, clean room with a sofa, desk, refrigerator, microwave, two sinks, two TVs, tub/shower, and everything that comes in any hotel room. At night, it was very quiet and our room faced east so there was no morning light in our room in the morning. Very comfy bedding and the mattress was not lumpy or too hard. I found absolutely nothing wrong with the room.
The next day, I went to the pool. It was clean with a towel folded on each lounge chair. the exercise room was dinky and at least 10 degrees hotter than it was outside. Good thing I don't use the gyms at hotels!
I frantically realized the next night that I needed a printer fast. I called the front desk to see if they had a computer hooked up with a printer. They said of course, print as much as you want for no extra charge. The internet on that computer was super fast and the printer got the job done.
This 3 night stay was the best stay at a hotel EVER! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a room facing east. Light WILL show through in your room if you want to sleep in later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChanSimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#140 of 278 in San Diego
1,495 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Address: 641 Camino Del Rio S, San Diego, CA 92108-3512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a pet- and family-friendly San Diego hotel, located in Hotel Circle. We are a San Diego Zoo Preferred Partner hotel, and we welcome all guests to enjoy our amenities, including free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and a convenient location near the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, and Qualcomm Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
La Quinta Mission Valley
La Quinta San Diego
San Diego La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing