We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Vacationing in San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Ranked #161 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
San Pedro, California
2 reviews
“Vacationing in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Couldn't have found a nicer place to stay: attractive lobby, rooms and breakfast room all clean and well maintained, professional/friendly service from everyone, enjoyable and tasty full breakfast, and so centrally located within in a few minutes of the Zoo/ Balboa Park, Sea World, Old Downtown San Diego and a few minutes more to the Seaport Village. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit! And will definitely recommend these accommodations to our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    211
    141
    87
    51
See reviews for
354
116
38
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our nieces orientation at San Diego State University.
The housekeeping is terrible-all of our towels were taken one day for no reason, not replaced and all they left us was a bath mat for 4 people! Another day no service with no explanation from front desk.

The pool and hot tub area is tiny.

Our room was infested (twice) with bugs. One morning bugs were all over the pillows, and in the bathroom sink.

The bathroom is totally out of date and our vanity area was broken and cracked.

The management was nice about the issues, however did not give us confidence they would be fixed.

Next time we go visit our niece at SDSU we will not stay here and you should not either.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Proudcsuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Penfield, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great staff & very well maintained property . I stay here 3 times per year traveling from east coast to visit family. The check-in staff is efficient and all staff are very accommodating. Pleasant little pool & spa in back. Reasonably priced, convenient to highways & attractions, and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Q45rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Like the other reviewers stated, for the price you would expect more but this is a old hotel that they are trying to make look new. The ice machine was so dirty that I do not believe it would pass an inspection and the elevator was slow but worked. The room is dated but is generally clean. The bathroom is very small and and dated. Overall it is a old hotel! The service was excellent so this made up a little for the other issues. Parking was tight but was OK, however, they have signs all over the place warning of leaving stuff in your car. This makes me wonder about security, however, it was fine when I was there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsalot411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I spent four hours over two days researching a quality, affordable hotel for my wife and I and our two little girls. With a final price of $150 (taxes inc) I didn't expect to have one of the worst hotel experiences ever.
Arriving to check-in, we were told the laundry service was running behind and additional towels would be delivered to our room when they were ready. Fine.
Entering the room, it had an old musty smell. There were a few towels in the bathroom area. One of which HAD A HUGE BLACK HAIR ON IT! There was a long black hair on the toilet as well. Totally grossed out. My wife immediately called for more towels to be delivered. You guessed it. MORE HAIR!
The bed linens were cheap and uncomfortable.
We could hear the people walking in the room above us.
The free breakfast was exactly as advertised and the clerk did allow us a late checkout.
Overall, I expected a better hotel than what we paid for.
Will absolutely not return to la Quinta.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#139 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,313 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Address: 641 Camino Del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
La Quinta Mission Valley
La Quinta San Diego
San Diego La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing