We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Ranked #153 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had the pool, free breakfast, free parking, workout room, location close to tourist sites and nice rooms. The staff was helpful, particularly the front desk. Like everywhere else in San Diego, the support staff (breakfast, housekeeping, etc) is Hispanic and speak Spanish, but generally speak enough English to help out. They have a large breakfast area with four waffle makers, three toasters, apples and bananas -- it's not a luxury hotel, but you're not paying for luxury. It is a nicely kept hotel with good housekeeping and responsive staff. Good value for San Diego, and in a good location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6119gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our great amenities including the Bright Side breakfast, free parking and heated pool. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to San Diego!

Chris Michie, General Manager 619-295-6886

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 837 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Does anyone at La Quinta speak English? Answer not many.
Does anyone at La Quinta empty trash? Answer no.
Does anyone at La Quinta know how to order breakfast supplies? Answer no.
They were out of syrup (only sugar free), only fat free cream cheese, and only no salt butter.
I like having healthy things to choose from, but maybe its a SoCal thing to only offer sugar free and fat free items or maybe bad ordering. I will never know because the kitchen help does not speak English.


  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank stevesF3865QU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here based on the positive reviews. However, we were less than satisfied. We always stay at a La Quinta because they welcome pets, and we have always been satisfied with our stays. This particular La Quinta was very noisy (we were on the ground floor and heard every footstep); breakfast was not good (don't know how a hard boiled egg can be ruined); not much hot water in the shower; saw two cockroaches in our room; both husband and I woke up with a big welt from some kind of bug bite; parking was pretty tight. The good point is the desk staff was very professional and checking in and out went very fast. But that isn't enough to make us stay here again and won't recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucysmomSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6119gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for your patronage of the La Quinta brand. We are sorry to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay, as this does not reflect the high standards we have to exceed our guest’s expectations with every stay. I have shared your comments with the appropriate departments to ensure the issues are corrected. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations during your next visit and renew your confidence in our hotel. Please contact me if you have any questions or would like to discuss your stay further.

Chris Michie, General Manager 619-295-6886

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

its a good price great location and the breakfast room is roomy , plenty of food I liked the rooms a lot it was very homey although the room key kept getting demagnetized :-( Overall I will stay here again was extremely satisfied. for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank CFPENA2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6119gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your review and taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and felt our rooms had a homey feel, as it is our goal that our guests feel their room is a home away from home. We hope to welcome you back during your next trip to San Diego.

Chris Michie, General Manager 619-295-6886

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very happy with my stay here. Staff was friendly, everything seemed as clean as I would expect. Only complaint I guess would be never enough towels by the pool and the area where breakfast is served needs to be bigger. Alot of people smashed into a small room. And possibly more waffle makers. Took my daughter 15 minutes each time to get her waffles. Location was great though. Got to everywhere we wanted to be within 10 minutes. Pool area was clean and perfect for the kids. Hot tub very relaxing. There is a Target less than 5 minutes away for any food you want to stock your refrigerator with. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michris17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I was in San Diego to attend a graduation at MCRD. I wanted to use Elite Member points to get a free room close to the base, but was not allowed to despite advertisements saying rooms were guaranteed. The hotel was about 20 minutes from the base and airport and there was no shuttle available. A free room was essentially lost because of all off the taxi fares paid. We wanted a room with two beds. While happy we were upgraded to a suite, we were told the second bed was a sleeper sofa and were not allowed to change rooms. All other desk attendants were awesome. The room was fairly clean except dust bunnies in the corner and something that looked like blood on the wall. The bed and pillows were fine. Even the sleeper sofa was fine for a sleeper sofa. The breakfast was acceptable but there was no fruit on one morning. Pool was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marshall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had great time, We had an upgrade to a suite. It was very nice. The staff was very helpful. Everything is right there. Large stores and entertainment close. Restaurants, a good variety. That was nice. Would go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank dsgtravel2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites San Diego SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area

Address: 641 Camino Del Rio S, San Diego, CA 92108-3512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#68 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $92 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a pet- and family-friendly San Diego hotel, located in Hotel Circle. We are a San Diego Zoo Preferred Partner hotel, and we welcome all guests to enjoy our amenities, including free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and a convenient location near the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, and Qualcomm Stadium. Hotel parking fee is $10.00 daily and parking for over-sized vehicles is subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
La Quinta Mission Valley
La Quinta San Diego
San Diego La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing