We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable Place in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Ranked #115 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GEORGETOWN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A Comfortable Place in San Diego”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a great hotel. It has been around since at least 1946. The hotel is relatively small, as hotels go these days, but it is comfortable, and the staff is very helpful. Equally important, it is within walking distance of most of San Diego's downtown high spots, or the trolley is just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank PAUL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Paul S,

Thank you for your comments regarding the recent stay at our property.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn and we hope to see you back soon.

Y Chen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    101
    43
    9
    5
See reviews for
56
81
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Loved this small, well-located San Diego hotel. Charming decor, friendly and helpful staff and a nice rooftop patio to relax on made it a great experience and very good value. We were able to walk to the Rock and Roll Marathon Start and Finish lines, Petco Park for baseball, Horton Mall for shopping, Little Italy and Gaslamp Quarter for fine dining, Convention Center and waterfront. It was ideal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Sylvia K,

Thank you for your review regarding our hotel Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn San Diego.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at our property and we are hoping to have you as our guest in the near future.

Y Chen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Highest compliments to the owners and staff for a very nice setting and excellent service. The staff was knowledgeable and gracious. The breakfast lady was fantastic for her preparation and service. The rooms were just great for sleep and the upstairs roof top garden was nice for relaxation and a nice view of the city. Would highly recommend for value and a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Kenneth M,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and friendly staff.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back soon.

Y Chen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Our stay at the Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn was absolutely wonderful. The staff was helpful and welcoming right from check-in. The walked us through a map of San Diego including places to visit, eat, and where to walk. Our room was very clean and well presented when we walked in, and it was continued to be well kept over our week of stay. The terrace was also a wonderful place to enjoy a class of wine and conversation with friends. Overall, our stay in San Diego was great, and the staff at the Cabrillo Garden Inn made it all possible!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Katie S,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that you loved the accommodation, our friendly staff and convenient location.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Y Chen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel had an excellent location and all of the services were exceptional for a person attending a conference at the downtown convention center in San Diego. If you are a walker the distance from the convention center to the hotel is a little over a mile, by taxi it is a little more than 3 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Bernard Y,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn.
We hope to welcome you back again soon and thank you again for your review.


Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here in March 2014 as I was attending the USCAP at the San Deigo convention centre. Right from the moment I entered the gates of this quaint little gem of a place tucked peacefull in San Diego till the moment I my pick up to the airport appeared I had a lovely time in the Best Western! The location is really convenient. The cinvention centre and the Gas Lamp District are at walking distance.Well appointed, clean rooms, clean sheets, bed covers, towels, warm blankets, an awesome coffee maker, an ironing board and iron, a well stocked bathroom and the very helpful and courteous hotel staff made my stay truely memorable. Carlos at the reception desk helped me with a map of SD and direcions to get to the Gas Lamp Quarter and the convention centre. I could not operate my laptop as I was not carrying the adaptor needed to plug into the US systems and the hotel so graciously lent it to me! I felt really secure and well taken care of and never for a moment felt worried being a single Indian woman on her first visit to the US! The only thing that was not upto my satisfaction was the breakfast buffet on offer, but that was manageable. Thanks to all the staff with a special thanks to Carlos for making my stay comfortable. I look forward to coming back to SD and staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: I founf the room on the top floor corner to be quiet and peaceful, but I guess the locationitself is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust7471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Wanderlust7471,

Thank you for your kind comments in regards to your stay at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and friendly staff and we are looking forward to have you as our guest in the near future.
Thank you.
Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

If you have to stay downtown San Diego, this is a nice, not too expensive place. It's easy to get to the Zoo and Balboa Park without having to fight the I-5 traffic. The place is cute, but modest, not sure it qualifies as a Plus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Hwa-Chun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Hwa-Chun L,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Best Western Plus Garden Inn.
Our property qualifies to be a Best Western Plus based on the room décor, amenities as well as the hotel location.
Thank you again for your feedback and we are looking forward having you as a guest at our property in the near future.
Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#205 of 279 in San Diego
208 reviews
Downtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn

Property: Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Address: 840 A St, San Diego, CA 92101-4613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing