We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great little 3 star motel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Ranked #107 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great little 3 star motel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights whilst at a conference at the convention centre. As I pulled in at night time it looked such a sweet little place for a big city! When I checked in the man showed me a map of the best route to walk to the conference and areas that are good to go to and also the ‘no-go’ areas. Later in my stay he also gave me advice on where would be quicker to get a taxi, and warned me of the approximate price to avoid overcharging. On my last day I was allowed to keep my suitcase behind the desk until I was ready to go to the airport.

Room: My room was on the top floor (it’s only 2 levels) which I got to choose when I checked in. It was a double room, very clean, with a wardrobe and little bathroom. They could have easily gotten away with no bath at all but I’m glad they squeezed a half size one in. The bed was very comfy, and there was a large TV, fridge, coffee making facilities (although never used that), and an iron / ironing board. There were little shampoo, mouth wash and body lotion bottles to use. Also free wifi which was good! Both bedding and towel got changed every day unless you hung the towels back up and left the ‘eco-friendly’ sign on the bed. I thought this was a great idea as there was no need for me to have it changed all the time. No view but I didn't expect one anyway from a city motel.

Breakfast: It was serve your own with plastic cutlery. I loved the waffle maker, which the kind lady showed me how to use! There were only 2 3-person tables available, but it was always very quite when I had breakfast anyway so it didn’t matter. The coffee cups had lids which was great when you wanted a coffee to go.

Location: The location of this hotel is approx 15-20 minutes walk from the convention centre and the gasplamp district (good restaurants) and 10 minutes (good traffic) taxi ride from airport – so I thought it was a great location.

Overall, it is a cute place in a good location. The staff were great and room clean, and for a single woman staying on her own I felt very safe. The room cost me approx $144 per night including breakfast. It is a 3-star establishment, and from my point of view couldn’t have done any better. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: I liked my room 217 - top floor (no people above you) and tucked away above the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lianne-KF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Lianne,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn and for taking the time to share your experience you had at our property.

We are appreciating your feedback and we are looking forward to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Y Chen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    91
    41
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
73
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had stayed at this lovely little downtown hotel when my son graduated from college, so when he got married, we decided this was a good, centralized place to stay. We had a large block of rooms reserved, as many family/friends were coming for the festivities. Hotel gave us a decent price for the rooms. Staff, especially Carlos, was very accommodating, helped us with taxis & other issues, along with setting up a shuttle service to/from the reception. There was another lady at front desk who was very nice & helpful, but I didn't get her name. Breakfast lady was so nice & helpful every morning with the children, & even made them pancakes. Rooftop "hang-out" was perfect for our large group. Convenience store right across th estreet in the Avalon provided all the beverage & snack needs. Unfortunately there was road construction going on, so there was tar/soot all over outside, but nothing is ever perfect & not the hotel staff's fault. I want to thank the staff for being so helpful in making the wedding go even smoother & being so helpful & accommodating to such a large group.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Jill,
Thank you for the nice comments regarding your stay at Best Western Garden Inn.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and our friendly staff and we are looking forward having you as a guest at our property.

Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Rooms are clean but a little small for a family of four. We were told about the complimentary breakfast served until 10am on Sunday but when we arrived somewhere between 9 & 9:30 there was very little left of the breakfast. All of the warming dishes were empty. When I asked if there would be more food put out the lady working there was not friendly. She brought out a small amount of eggs. We ended up eating out for breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Yvonne,

Thank you for your feedback regarding the recent stay at our property.
We do apologize for the issue you have encountered in regards to the breakfast.
We will make sure to retrain our employees in customer service to be able to offer a high level of service which it is expected by the guests.
Thank you again for taking your time to share your experience. Your comments are very important to us in improving our business.

Y Chen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was recently refurbished. Clean rooms, free Wi-Fi, full breakfast, and very close to historic Gas Lamp area with great restaurants, theatres, etc and short taxi ride to Cruise ship terminal and airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Ruth,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and friendly staff.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back soon.

Y Chen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was a bit worried at my first look when I arrived as the hotel seemed a bit old. At he front desk I was greeted by a friendly lady Katrina. I checked in and as I headed to my room upstairs and found a very nice room with a very comfortable bed! The bathroom had been updated and had nice toiletries. The hotel was a few blocks from the Gas Lamp District so a short walk in San Diego weather and you are in the middle of everything. A bonus to the property is on the roof is a great sitting area to kick back and enjoy the city sounds. I would recommend staying her if you want to be downtown San Diego. For the money this place is a great deal.

Room Tip: I stayed in 215 it was an extra large room with a sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimToyota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Tim A,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our property Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel as well as our friendly staff.
We are looking forward to have you again as our guest in the near future.

Y Chen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Even though this small motel is in downtown San Diego, it was pretty quiet in my room. The staff was very helpful when we asked about seeing the city. Breakfast was pretty good. I was happy to see hot food, not just rolls, juice,m and coffee. We stayed two nights, and after getting back after the first day, I found my car overrun by little ants, so I mentioned it. When I checked out the next day, they had already arranged to have the property treated. Even though it was a little problem for me, they were right on top of things! Overall, it was a comfortable, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Angela H,

Thank you for your recent review. Your comments are very important to us and we are using them constructively to better our business.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Thank you.
Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in August and found it to be a nice little retreat right in the heart of town. The bed and linen were so comfy it was a struggle getting up in the morning!

The trendy gas lamp district is right on your doorstep so we were able to find nice little eateries and bars just from ambling around.

The guy who checked us in, Carlos was his name I believe, was incredibly friendly and helpful. When we told him our travel plans (to drive along the coast to San Francisco) he produced a map of California and of LA and San Fran and told us all about his favourite spots along the way. He couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and gave us some great tips!

Great little hotel and excellent value for what you get! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funyoungIrishcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear FunyoungIrishcouple,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn.
We appreciate your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay as well as our friendly staff.
Thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to accommodate you again in the future.

Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#186 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#78 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Address: 840 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Best Western + Iniative and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing