We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wyndham Harbour Lights(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
126
111
47
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
111
47
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalboa parkgaslamp districtcounter space in the bathroomquaint hotelwestern hotelshot breakfaststay there againclean roomsthe breakfast areawithin walking distancecomfortable bedconvention centergas lampconvenient locationper nightfresh fruitmini fridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 300 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Location is good, staff were friendly, breakfast was good. But room was humid and small with thin walls. You can hear everthińg you neighbor does... It was cold during our stay, the heater was loud and cold. They should replace the air conditioner. Overall, we won't go back...

Room Tip: Double bed is only good for one person, don't put more than 2 people in one room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abby60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, General Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2011

Dear Abby60763,

Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your comments. We are sorry to hear about your room experience. Your comments have been reviewed with our management and necessary changes in the Preventive Maintenance program has been in place for all the guestrooms.
If you choose to give us another chance, please let our Front Office team know of any concerns during your stay so that we may resolve the issue immediately. Perhaps we could have moved you to a quieter location within the hotel. If you decide to stay with us again, please feel free to contact me directly at 619-234-6877 or via e-mail at bwcgi@sbcglobal.net. and I will be glad to assist you with your stay. Thank you.
Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed with my wife and two boys. Rooms are small, but well appointed and comfortable. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuonofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This place was so cute - not your usual hotel. The parking was separated from the rooms with a grove of bamboo and lots of potted plants, with teak table and chairs outside the room. The rooms had hard wood floors although a bit small. Breakfast was good and everyone working there was very nice. We were very pleased with the location so close to Balboa park.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, General Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

Dear Traveler0,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn.
It is great that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the surrounding areas.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

After travelling for four weeks through the United States, we didn't want a to end a great stay in this country in a cheap city hotel. So, we decided to book a Best Western Plus, thinking that the plus meant that this is a upgrade on the usual Best Western standard. During the four weeks in the USA we had used a lot of Best Western hotels and that resultated in a promotion in their awards programme from Gold to Platinum. When we arrived the Platinum status wasn't in their booking, so I had to ask for the welcome-packet for Platinum members. Next, we didn't get the upgrade in the room that usually belongs to a Platinum status in a loyalty programme. The room we got, was small, but clean. The breakfast was average and the hotel didn't have a pool. So, we could not see what was "plus" in this hotel. We have stayed in much better Best Western hotels during our trip that didn't have the "plus-status". Finally, we wanted a late check-out at 5.30 pm, because our plane left San Diego at 8 pm that night. We had to pay a charge of $75 for keeping the room for another couple of hours, although one of the benefits the Best Western Rewards programme offers to Platinum members is a late check-out upon availabilty. And the room was available, because the hotel was virtually empty the day we left San Diego. So in all, a bit disappointing. The member of staff was the only real plus to the Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn. He was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, General Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Dear Willdejag,

Thank you again for your comments and I do apologize for the inconveniences you have encountered at our property. Our goal is to make sure each and every one of the guests is happy and well taken care during the stay. As soon as I have received your feedback I personally sent you a detailed response regarding this matter by e-mail.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any other questions at 619-234-8477 or via e-mail at bwcgi@sbcglobal.net.
Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This place is a find! Clean rooms, reasonable parking, free breakfast. It's not a frills place, nut clean and comfortable. I would stay here again no question. Friendliest staff I've encountered in the last five years!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraBC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews