We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Ranked #112 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed with my wife and two boys. Rooms are small, but well appointed and comfortable. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuonofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 284 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

This place was so cute - not your usual hotel. The parking was separated from the rooms with a grove of bamboo and lots of potted plants, with teak table and chairs outside the room. The rooms had hard wood floors although a bit small. Breakfast was good and everyone working there was very nice. We were very pleased with the location so close to Balboa park.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, General Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

Dear Traveler0,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn.
It is great that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the surrounding areas.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

After travelling for four weeks through the United States, we didn't want a to end a great stay in this country in a cheap city hotel. So, we decided to book a Best Western Plus, thinking that the plus meant that this is a upgrade on the usual Best Western standard. During the four weeks in the USA we had used a lot of Best Western hotels and that resultated in a promotion in their awards programme from Gold to Platinum. When we arrived the Platinum status wasn't in their booking, so I had to ask for the welcome-packet for Platinum members. Next, we didn't get the upgrade in the room that usually belongs to a Platinum status in a loyalty programme. The room we got, was small, but clean. The breakfast was average and the hotel didn't have a pool. So, we could not see what was "plus" in this hotel. We have stayed in much better Best Western hotels during our trip that didn't have the "plus-status". Finally, we wanted a late check-out at 5.30 pm, because our plane left San Diego at 8 pm that night. We had to pay a charge of $75 for keeping the room for another couple of hours, although one of the benefits the Best Western Rewards programme offers to Platinum members is a late check-out upon availabilty. And the room was available, because the hotel was virtually empty the day we left San Diego. So in all, a bit disappointing. The member of staff was the only real plus to the Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn. He was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, General Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Dear Willdejag,

Thank you again for your comments and I do apologize for the inconveniences you have encountered at our property. Our goal is to make sure each and every one of the guests is happy and well taken care during the stay. As soon as I have received your feedback I personally sent you a detailed response regarding this matter by e-mail.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any other questions at 619-234-8477 or via e-mail at bwcgi@sbcglobal.net.
Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This place is a find! Clean rooms, reasonable parking, free breakfast. It's not a frills place, nut clean and comfortable. I would stay here again no question. Friendliest staff I've encountered in the last five years!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraBC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We were able to check in early, upon our request, which was wonderful! The room was a bit small, but very clean. There is no fan in the bathroom, which was very odd. The bathroom was so small, I could barely get in and close the door. We enjoyed the roof top balcony area. It was very nice. Parking lot was a bit dirty with trash etc... Located across the street from a market, which was convenient. Just a short walk from downtown and gaslamp.

When we asked front desk for dining recommendations, she was unable to provide us with a clear answer. She replied with something like "well, there's hundreds of restaurants in the area". It was more difficult than it should have been to get her to suggest a single place. Same thing when we asked what beach to go to and how to get there. Either she wasn't familiar with the area or she really was overwhelmed with all of the choices...

We were in town for a wedding and upon returning from the wedding that evening, there were two parties going on in the hotel. One was two doors down from us on the ground floor and the other was directly above us and two doors down from that upstairs. I quieted the people next to us on my own, but could not get the people upstairs to stop yelling and rough housing. I called night audit who said he did not hear anything when he was outside in the parking lot. Period. End of discussion, I guess. I told him it was 2AM and I needed to sleep, and asked if he could move our room farther from them if he wasn't going to quiet them down. While he was bringing keys to our room, I was outside and the party was throwing things off of their balcony into the parking lot. We were never offered a discount or even an apology for this disruption!

TIP: If you stay here, request an upstairs room- the walls/floors are paper-thin and you can hear EVERYTHING if someone is above you!

Probably will not stay if we ever return to San Diego. This was our first trip to this city. Upon walking around etc, I would probably take a look at the Days Inn next door...

Room Tip: Request upstairs, paper-thin walls/floors can hear everything in room above you if on ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlowerLife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

booked hotel at the last minute, and got a great rate. small, very nice
property. room was exceptionally clean, bed very comfortable, nice bathroom
with great shower. front desk staff very nice and helpful. hotel is
central to everything and cabs were easily called to area attractions.
this is one of the "best" best westerns, i have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbtraveller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Had a four night stay at the Cabrillo in early May 2010. The room was extremely clean, so much so that we had to keep the windows open to let the cleaning fragrance escape! I guess you should never complain about a place being too clean. The room included a complimentary hot breakfast but did not include parking. The hotel was a bit away from San Diego’s centre but it was definitely within walking distance for us. If not for others, the trolley and bus stop is only a block away. The staff member at the front desk was very helpful with information regarding maps, transport, food and places to steer clear from. The nightly rate was $150USD, maybe a little pricey for what we got but we enjoyed the stay overall. We were there to see San Diego after all, not the four walls of the Best Western. Still, I would recommend this hotel if you didn’t mind being just out of the very centre of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roaming-wifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#61 of 286 in San Diego
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn

Address: 840 A St, San Diego, CA 92101-4613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $128 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing