We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location doggie paradise”
Review of Ocean Villa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Villa Inn
Ranked #174 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location location doggie paradise”
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Its due for renovation, the walls are thin. Not glamorous. The front desk was helpful when the upstais neighbors were loud. They moved us because they could & apologized for the inconvevience. BUT... It's doggy Disneyland. There's a dog wash at the side of the hotel, the beach is 100yds away, ocean beach is right there too. 90% of the restaurants & shops are dog friendly & within walking distance. Great sushi nearby. Keep an open mind & remember ur in San Diego for the beach not the hotel room. We went on a quiet weekend & are going back for the 4th of July, I'm sure it will be noisy & busy but it's worth seeing the dogs have such a good time& u don't have to fight beach traffic or find a parking space. Have a glass of wine & turn down the lights & the room won't bother you:)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jensizzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    118
    51
    29
    35
See reviews for
111
116
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed at the Ocean Villa Inn at the end of May 2012. My experience was extremely enjoyable. My husband and I were traveling with our two dogs. The first floor rooms have direct access to a fenced-in grassy area, where friendly dogs are allowed off leash. The location has direct access to Dog Beach. The hotels location within the Ocean Beach area is also convenient to numerous local restaurants, coffee shops, and small grocers - all within easy walking distance. The hotel's dog wash area provides dog towels and shampoo. This is a great feature, when your dogs have been playing on the beach all day. Ocean Villa makes traveling with you pet even easier. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room itself is very basic, but perfect if your traveling with dogs. The room and bathroom were very clean. The in-room refrigerator was very convenient as well. If you are traveling with your dogs, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a dog or dogs, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were traveling from San Diego up to Riverside with some friends and we spent one Friday night here. We didn't have a dog and were on the upper level. The location was perfect for our planned lunch at Hodad's on Saturday afternoon. We checked out the breakfast and it was pretty standard for a hotel breakfast. The quick walk right to the beach and watching the dogs on Dog Beach was nice. The hotel was a little bit run down, but there was really nothing wrong with it otherwise. The price was decent and we'd stay again if we had a late flight. If anything, just the walk over to Hodad's made it worth it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Five paws up from all the doggies! We went to this hotel in January to take our four dogs to the beach. When we called to make a reservation, the lady on the phone was very pleasant. When we arrived, she was even nicer and very accommodating to both us and the dogs. She said we could give notice at any time if we wanted to stay another day and let us check in very, very early. (We did stay another day) It must be said that I rated five stars for the DOGS. Where else can you go that they happily accept four large dogs? This place was perfect: tile floors, the rooms have a community back yard with screen and glass doors to the patio, literally on Dog Beach, the rooms are simple so there's no worrying about the dogs ruining something in all their frenzy, and the dog wash station they provide is awesome! Shampoo, towels, hoses. Don't come here expecting anything fancy. Bare simple basic for the humans- it really seems like a dog hotel first. But when you get to go to the beach with all your dogs instead of leaving them with a babysitter, it's totally worth the cheesy bedding and squeaky mattress. (Besides, who'd want to put nice bedding out if you know dogs were gonna be all over it?) The dogs had a fantastic time and we have already made another reservation for March. I'll go back again and again.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms don't allow dogs, but have a beach view. All the bottom rooms are dog fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kassy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We took our dog here for the Christmas Holiday. It is a 1-2 minute walk from Dog Beach. You cannot beat this location.
The dog rooms are tiled and have a shared, fenced patio. The room we were in had an average sized bedroom, large patio doors leading outside & a dressing area somewhat separate from the bedroom. Worked perfectly for us as I like to sleep in a bit & my better half likes to get up in the morning & make coffee. It was the best of both worlds.
The staff was extremely helpful & friendly. They truly would bend over backwards to meet your needs. They even had a restaurant guide that listed pet friendly patios.
The only negative was the comfort of the bed. It is a beautyrest mattress & appeared newer, but was a bit uncomfortable. Next year when we come back we will bring our portable mattress pad.
They even had a dog wash station!
We gave them a 4 (only because of the mattress), but our pooch would have easily given them a 5!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepper123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Ocean Villa has a great staff that is friendly and helpful.
The motel is walking distance from the dog beach.
The dog rooms are titled and have a shared back yard that the dogs run around in (all visitors don't pick up the s**t. There are some minor setbacks that make it hard to pay the asking price for the room.
1. There is a NON-refundable fee that is added on top of your hotel bill ($30)-Yes, they tell you.
2. The offered dog towels do not look or feel any different from the human bath towels.
3. The place is completely dark at night?
4. The beds are uncomfortable and past their prime.

The hotel could use some updating on the lower level. Making the decor simple and spacious would help. Ocean Villa really needs to get some new towels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cre8Pinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This was a great motel on the beach. Very comfortable rooms and they allow dogs. The dog rooms are on the lower level and open to a fenced dog run. The upper rooms have balconys that over look the beach area and it has a table and chairs. The motel has a very friendly staff and they there is a pool and they serve continental breakfast every morning. We were looking for a reasonable priced motel with beach access and this fit the bill. The beach area is split between a people beach and a dog beach so its a motel for everyone. Motel has direct access to the boardwalk. WIFI signal was strong and very fast. There are several places to eat nearby within walking distance and alot are dog friendly. I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank storm180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach Hotel
#146 of 278 in San Diego
742 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#148 of 278 in San Diego
367 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#216 of 278 in San Diego
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#128 of 278 in San Diego
211 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#100 of 278 in San Diego
666 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 278 in San Diego
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Villa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Villa Inn

Property: Ocean Villa Inn
Address: 5142 W Point Loma Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-1315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Villa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ocean Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Villa Hotel San Diego
Ocean Hotel San Diego
Ocean San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing