We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Comic Con in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town
Ranked #110 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Sophisticated place. Well kept, clean, orderly, comfy room and comfy beds with good pillows and supportive mattress. Friendly staff. Overpriced-$369 for one night. Poor lighting…fluorescent lights. Close to fast food and gas. Easy on and off for I-5. Garage parking is additional for $15 unless street parking is available. Seems like a safe area. We parked on the street very nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 442 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed 5 days at the Fairfield and were very pleased with the staff and location. The location is one block from Old Town San Diego which we loved. All the great shopping and restaurants were within walking distance and area attractions were within 10 mins. We will definitely stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a very nice property with a helpful staff.
Location is great as well, you can stay in town and have some fun or easily get downtown. I would stay here again. It's nice to be able to get a fresh hot meal...................................

Room Tip: All are good
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I would like to give the hotel a 5, but I had trouble with the wifi in the first room I was given. I asked to be changed to another room, and the wifi worked fine. The hotel is clean and although there is a parking fee, it is optional and I was able to find on-street parking without much trouble. While I think the hotel is recently renovated (I read somehere it said that was the case), this is an older hotel and still kind of feels "old". The lobby is a very pleasant place to sit and "people watch". Staff was friendly and I loved the location. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Near the lobby is best.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DitzyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I havent stayed in Old Town San Diego since the 90's and decided to give this hotel a shot instead of staying in the Gas Lamp. First, its in a great location, directly off of I-5, minutes walk from Old Town restaurants, and easy drives to the beaches, Coronado Island, Downtown San Diego and best off all,you can see the fireworks from Sea World if your balcony faces the right direction.

The service from the Front Desk to the Housekeeping Staff was fantastic. The food was average but nothing bad. If you like the idea of having a quick breakfast before heading out to start your day, this hotel has it.

The rooms are very clean, a little outdated, but I could care less if its as clean as my room.

They have an underground parking garage which is great, but it is small and I constantly noticed truck, vans and other large vehicles had issues parking there. Also, if you dont want door dings, this is not the place for your vehicle.

I didnt visit the pool, but every day there were dozens of families having a great time there.

All in all, if I am not staying inside the Gas Lamp, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I had a great hotel overlooking the courtyard with had a great fountain. I could be noisy of famili...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Walking_Dead_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Good value for a three day business trip. Free shuttle 5 mins to airport and free breakfast (oatmeal, toast, fruit, boiled eggs, yogurt, and cereal). Inner courtyard and fountain area are perfect for breakfast. Room decor was a bit odd with color combos, but spotless and extremely comfortable bed. Rooms on street side are a bit noisy

Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over 4th of July weekend and loved every moment! Room was on 2nd floor with a balcony overlooking the courtyard and swimming pool. Slept with the balcony doors open every night - it was perfect! Rooms were clean, spacious, and modern. Above expectations for a Fairfield Inn. Only thing that was average was the breakfast. Will stay here again for business or vacations in San Diego.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Western Inn
#131 of 278 in San Diego
345 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town

Address: 3900 Old Town Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Mission Inn Old Town)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in San Diego
#41 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $133 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the culture and history of San Diego's Old Town, Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town provides travelers with a relaxing escape. Set away from the bustle of the city, and located minutes from San Diego's top beaches, our accommodations are perfect for those who want to be near it all yet revel in the slow pace that comes with a removed place. Old Town, with its charm and stories, delights and there is no shortage of museums and authentic shops to explore here. If you are looking for hotel suites in San Diego that let you completely unwind as you visit Old Town, Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town is ideal. We offer excellent value for travelers desiring more space, modern amenities, and an exceptional San Diego location. Our hotel provides a free daily breakfast and easy access to the Gaslamp District, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Diego Old Town
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Old Town
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing