We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town
Ranked #116 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very nice property, when we first arrived I was a little wary because the entrance is right off the street, but once you get into the property it's very pleasant. The interior decor is very nice. The location is good, close to the freeway, short drive to downtown and Old Town is a few blocks away. There is was no noise from traffic or anything. The room was comfortable; could have used some better lighting, but not a big deal. The amenities were great. The hot breakfast was a great way to start the day. We'll definitely keep this hotel in mind when we stay in SD again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Edriss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 459 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our recent stay was very nice. The room in the back building, was very clean and nicely decorated. We arrived late and were not only welcomed cordially, but our parking fee was waived as grandson was graduating from MCRD. That was extremely generous. I asked for and received a quiet room; but next time will remember to try for windows that open. I imagine for safety reasons and streetside was the reason ours were sealed shut. Breakfast was a real savings; yes, simple, but it was welcomed by our family, who have simple tastes. Really, how many waffles, bagels, etc. can you eat at one sitting. I think for the time and budget savings, it was well worth it. The breakfast area was always clean,tidy, and the outside areas are very nicely decorated with beautiful plantings. I like that you can access the property only by a key card to outside gates or through the front lobby. That made me feel secure. The beds were extremely comfortable; I have a bad back, so this was very important to me in particular. You are within walking distance to Old Town and we only had to use the car to get to MCRD. The bathrooms were very, very clean and I like that they only change your sheets/towels if needed. We went all three nights without having them changed. Once you get the hang of the 3 buildings, it's a cinch to get to and from your room. Overall, we were treated exceptionally well and any questions or concerns were addressed immediately by the staff. We got a killer recommendation for the Coyote Cafe and loved it so much, we ate there all three nights. It was simply awesome! And, don't bother with trying to park on the street. There's not that much parking in the area, and I would not have liked to ponder where I was going to park late at night. The parking garage is a little tight, but our SUV made it in and out quite handily, plus access to your vehicle, again, is only by key card. How safe can that be. I do think, though, that the parking fee could be a little less, even though we didn't have to pay for it this time. I think 1/2 the price would be more reasonable. Will absolutely stay there again, and I am very particular about the hotels/motels I stay in. I really couldn't come up with any reason not to be a repeat customer. Thank you for such a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back building. The neighborhood behind there was exceptionally quiet and a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonomaFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Arrived in San Diego to enjoy 7 days from snow of Calgary, Canada. Confirmed pickup at airport and all once we had our baggage. Took 1.5 before someone finally came to get us. I had confirmed reservation at hotel and all week prior for two queen beds at this hotel. Upon arrival, the hotel was already full due to the Marine Graduation at Miramair Marine base north of San Diego. Our reservation was for double occupancy two queen beds, but instead as they couldnt accomendate we ended up with a studio with one bed. I had taken my mother along with me on this holiday and this was not the best way to start my holiday. They provided a bed (futon rolly in bed) which was not comfortable at all. The lady at the information desk told us to check in two days as maybe something would show up and they would try. We arrived on Wednesday and couldn't get a two bedroom occupancy till Saturday. The service people at the front desk seemed very abrupt and rude.

Beds not comofrtable; pillows very flat and linens very dirty when we arrived. Upon checking out they made me feel very stupid. The contential breakfast was a joke as nothing avaliable at 7:30am as hotel was loaded. We spent a lot of money in Old Town at Hungry's or lil cafes to have breakfast as atleast we were guaranteed a hot breakfast or something to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saskrider1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Saskrider1981,

Thank you for your comments. We take all feedback serioulsy, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. You can be assured that I will address these issues with my staff to correct them from happening in the future. Again I do apologize for any problems you may have encountered and please feel free to contact me directly if you are coming back to the area for furture reseravtions.

Sincerely,
Steve Pastor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This property offered both airport transportation and close to Old Town for a walk and was in the medium price range for San Diego hotels which are expensive for the most part. Parking is an additional charge but it is covered and gated. Breakfast that was served was not as good as others served by similar or competing brands in different cities Will agree that some attention to this could bring about a compliment from most patrons.

Hot tub was working!!! Room was nice, bedding comfortable, TV great. First floor not appealing view but convenient to wheel out the next day.Upper floor offers some great balcony views. Staff was plesant, but failed to tell us that airport van needed RESERVATION the next morning when they should have known since i asked where the rental car return was to take my car after check in and asked for times of van the next morning. Could have been disaster, so manager, go over this with front desk!!! Easy location to find. Would use again if needed.

Room Tip: No street noise was noticed with an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRSkier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear LRSkier,

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback regarding your stay at my hotel. I am glad you were able to utilize the shuttle and the hotel was conveniently located for you. We hope to see you back again soon.


Steve Pastor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I only stayed a night but everything was great. We checked in early with no problems, friendly and informative front desk associate, we set up our airport shuttle easily and when we got to the front desk in the morning the driver was right on time. The associate that morning, at 5am, was very friendly and helpful, kudos to him! We needed extra towels and toothpaste and it was brought immediately. Location is awesome and its a nice old town feel. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for close to lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We are usually happy with our stays at Fairfield Inns, but the Fairfield Inn in Old Town San Diego was a bitter disappointment. While the hotel staff was, for the most part, lovely, our room was not. I imagine that the hotel was aiming for a sleek modern look with the room furnishings, but instead our room came across as cold and spartan. For the price, we expected more. The real deal-breaker came when my husband decided to take a shower before bed. He stepped into the shower, turned the water on, and when he pulled on the shower stem the entire tub faucet and a length of pipe came out of the wall in his hands! Water was pouring into the wall but we managed to shut it off. The desk sent maintenance up but he said he would have to wait for his supervisor to fix it in the morning because it would require a torch. The hotel was full so they couldn't move us to another room. Thankfully, we were able to shower in my sister's room the next morning before departing for whale camp in Mexico where shower facilities would be limited. When we checked out I talked to the desk manager about a discount. He said they had already taken $25 off of our bill. I said I didn't think that was much of a discount for all of the inconvenience so he grudgingly gave me a 50% discount. The breakfast buffet was fine. I would not stay at the Fairfield Inn in Old Town again. Too expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: The hotel is something of a rabbit warren (windy hallways and multiple buildings) and we had to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Nancy P,

Thank you for your review on April 3, 2014. I deeply regret the experience you had with the plumbing in your room and offer a sincere apology. After reviewing your review I ensured that the issue was fixed and it has already been taken care of. Obviously that is not the level of service you would come to expect from a Marriott property. Again please accept my apology and I hope you will give Marriott another chance.

Steve Pastor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We decided to stay at the Fairfield mainly because of the free breakfast. We had reservations at the Old Town Inn but cancelled for above reason.
Gotta say that out of all the places we've stayed at that provide breakfast this was the worst. Sausage seemed to be uncooked or warm in the microwave. LlMP with no evidence of browning. Scrambled eggs like yellow rubber. I understand it's free, but I would think perhaps the "Chef" might want to rethink serving such a uneatable mess.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Tom C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your stay at my hotel in Old Town. I do apologize if the breakfast was not up to your standards. We strive to provide a good hot breakfast and I will be sure to share your thoughts with the chef so he can address your concerns.

Sincerely.
Steve Pastor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town

Address: 3900 Old Town Ave, San Diego, CA 92110-2904 (Formerly Mission Inn Old Town)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in San Diego
#40 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $120 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the culture and history of San Diego's Old Town, Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town provides travelers with a relaxing escape. Set away from the bustle of the city, and located minutes from San Diego's top beaches, our accommodations are perfect for those who want to be near it all yet revel in the slow pace that comes with a removed place. Old Town, with its charm and stories, delights and there is no shortage of museums and authentic shops to explore here. If you are looking for hotel suites in San Diego that let you completely unwind as you visit Old Town, Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town is ideal. We offer excellent value for travelers desiring more space, modern amenities, and an exceptional San Diego location. Our hotel provides a free daily breakfast and easy access to the Gaslamp District, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Diego Old Town
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Old Town
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing