We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a wonderful stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town
Ranked #116 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mission Viejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall, a wonderful stay.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My mother, brother, and I surprised my sister this past weekend with an overnight stay here for her birthday. I'm very glad I chose here, because the overall stay was very nice.

Before I begin, I want to mention that when you first drive up to the front of the hotel on Jefferson, park in the typically-empty loading zone. Don't try to go into the underground parking structure, expecting someone to be there to help you or a button to call for someone, and then try to reverse out of there cursing yourself quietly (this was not me at all). Park on the curb, check in, then use your room key to get into the structure.

The hotel itself is unique and wonderfully located, as it's nuzzled right between Jefferson and San Diego Ave. It's close enough to the action of Old Town (walking distance), without all the noise. The rooms have a different layout than I've seen in a hotel before. There's a stretch of hallway, and then an opening to the outside with about 2 rooms, before going to another stretch of hallway. It's different, and struck me as a mix of a hotel and motel. It was pretty neat, but I'm glad we got a room in a hallway (because of the rain).

It should be mentioned that my sister is in a wheelchair at the moment from surgery late March. The doorways were all wide enough to accommodate, though I'm not sure how well one would be able to move about inside the hotel room/bathroom with strictly a wheelchair, and no use of crutches. It was roomy enough for her to easily get around in the crutches. With the bathroom being so small, however, I don't think someone solely in a wheelchair will get by as easily. Though we did not have a handicap accessible room, so it may be unfair to judge the bathroom.

We were on the second floor, so had a balcony overlooking the courtyard. It was very nice to hear the fountain below with the doors open. I also want to mention real quick that the A/C unit works very well and actually makes the room cold! Due to rain, we couldn't keep the balcony doors open (which a nice breeze had been coming from). We didn't use the pool/jacuzzi, but I will mention the jacuzzi looked well heated (we could see the steam lol) and the pool is small and doesn't look to go any deeper than 4.5 feet.

The money-winner for us was, believe it or not, the desk. It was an incredibly welcome surprise when we noticed the desk was on wheels and could actually be moved in between the beds! My sister loves playing board games and we had brought some along with us to play, and that little cherry on top made game-play so convenient and comfortable for all! While playing games, we got the munchies. Turns out, there's a liquor store directly across the street from the second floor - talk about convenient. We were there and back in ten minutes flat. Again, excellent location.

Sleep quality here was not an issue of noise, but comfort. The bed is good, the sheets are comfy, but the pillows suck. They seemed like they would be really nice, but when it came to actually sleeping on them... One pillow is not enough, two is overkill and strains the neck. In hindsight, I would bring my own pillow, or a baby pillow to combine with one of the hotel pillows. Pillows really effect how well one sleeps, but other than the pillows, everything was great.

With all the great things I read about breakfast, I will say I did go in with some level of expectations. They were not met in the slightest. At the very, very best, it was ok. And that's only if you find something you actually want to, or can, eat. Granted, it's complimentary (thank God), but it's not really breakfast... just yogurt, fruit, microwave jimmy dean sandwiches, and make-your-own waffles that no one was interested in eating. It was a bit of a let down that my sister's birthday breakfast was a banana and cup of grapefruit :| Had I known, I wouldn't have told her that I heard great things about the complimentary breakfast here, and have her be let down as well.

Overall, the stay was great and my sister had a great weekend. The goal was met in that regard! Had the breakfast been breakfast, I would have given 5/5 in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Park in the loading zone to check in. Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter. If you get a balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    178
    73
    24
    12
See reviews for
178
92
18
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
1. Free breakfast
2. Free wifi
3. Half mile walk to trolley
4. Recently remodeled
5. Clean rooms with flat screen tvs and granite counters
6. Friendly staff
7. 2 min walk to old town with food and shops

Cons:
1. 30 mins to downtown with walk and trolley ride but only $5 round trip
2. $15 cab ride to downtown

Overall I highly recommend this hotel for its value and location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayhey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, RI
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is an approximate 20 year old property, formerly a Ramada Inn and has been a Fairfield for the last year. Great location right off the interstate and directly at the mouth of Old Town San Diego. One of the closets Marriott’s to the airport (10 minutes) and was the most inexpensive at the time I booked. The outside architecture is quite neat, don’t know if it’s Mexican adobe but till stylish for the area. The rooms are standard sized, clean and comfortable. Extra large fridge and pleasingly large LCD TV (but with a disappointing meager 30 channel lineup). Internet speed above average, noisy air conditioner. Small pool, very nice courtyard in the middle of the property. Breakfast is so-so, only hot choice are waffles or a microwaved sausage sandwich. Other than that, sugary cereals, fresh fruit, etc. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Only real peeve I have is the airport shuttle only goes hourly- for a property that close to the airport, it should be more frequent or on-demand. Good choice for the business or recreational traveler, especially if a visit to Old Town is top on your list.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edtoby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Waverley, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Loved my room facing the courtyard, mostly quiet except one night I'll swear there was an elephant staying in the room above me and could clearly hear people having it off in the next room for a bit as well. I was lucky to be staying in an end room so only had to deal with the noise from two neighbours but that was really only on the weekend - the rest of my five day stay was lovely and quiet.

The room was excellent: clean, spacious, well set up, and comfortable with great pillows, soft bed and a sofa chair. Staff were really friendly and helpful too.

Only downside was breakfast was pretty awful unless you like microwave in a bag egg and sausage muffins (they did have DIY waffles but I'm not into sugary breakfasts) so I skipped out to eat in a nearby restaurant instead. Eventually found the best espresso at the coffee cart near the trolley tour booth - the guy there pulled the best macchiato I had in the US.

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard on the south side of the hotel was mostly nice and quiet (and away from the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We reserved 25 rooms. No complaints (that's rare).
Lovely garden setting, eat breakfast in the garden area if you like.
recently re-modeled w/ great up grades, better than we've seen in some of the 5 stars we've booked.
great location for Old Town, it's in walking distance.
No restaurant, but the Continental breakfast is better than usual, includes Jimmy Dean sausage and egg muffins and u-make waffles along with the usual fruits and cereals.

Room Tip: choose upper floor if hotel pedestrians (minimal) out side the room bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rguide915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my family, which included 2 small children. We checked in fairly late, at 9PM, and the receptionist was very friendly and efficient. We were assigned 2 rooms right next to each other, as requested.

We were a bit concerned with parking, as we drove here from Orange County. We had NO PROBLEM finding free street parking on the same block that the hotel is on. There is ample street parking, and I would recommend trying to park on the street before paying the exorbitant charge of $15 per night to park in their underground structure.

Free breakfast was great, with make your own waffles and plenty of food for our family to enjoy.

The pool and jacuzzi were open until 10PM, and the jacuzzi was actually hot, unlike most hotels where it is merely lukewarm.

The room had everything we needed: a nice flatscreen TV, desk area, good lighting and a microwave and refrigerator.

We would definitely stay here again. It was an easy walk to old town for shopping or dining or to the Old Town Transportation center to catch a bus, trolley or train.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbsprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The rooms here are poorly soundproofed and you can hear peoples TV in adjacent rooms as well as above. The exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work either. The rooms are also quite small for the price ( I paid $147.00 for two queens + $20.00 for parking in the garage. I also noticed that the elevator permits has expired 6 months ago.

My biggest issue is with the rude staff at the front desk. They tried to tell me I only booked a king bed for three people when I knew it was for a premium room with two queens.The clerk said he "didn't have time to redo the reservation" as it was too much work. He also stated that they have no obligation to honor 3rd party reservations such as mine booked through Expedia. I also hear the same story told to other customers by other desk personnel. The location is closes to the freeway and airport too. You can't keep the door open because of the noise.

Room Tip: rooms facing the center coart yard tend to be quieter. Don't get ripped off by the parking fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing that feedback with me regarding your stay at my hotel. I understand your frustration with your room type not being reserved properly. I can tell you that when you book thru a third party web site they send over the reservation as "run of the house". They do not specify which type of room the guest would prefer so we do our best to accommodate all reservation requests. My recommendation would be to book direct thru Marriott.com for your next trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Western Inn
#134 of 278 in San Diego
337 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town
Address: 3900 Old Town Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Mission Inn Old Town)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in San Diego
#41 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the culture and history of San Diego's Old Town, Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town provides travelers with a relaxing escape. Set away from the bustle of the city, and located minutes from San Diego's top beaches, our accommodations are perfect for those who want to be near it all yet revel in the slow pace that comes with a removed place. Old Town, with its charm and stories, delights and there is no shortage of museums and authentic shops to explore here. If you are looking for hotel suites in San Diego that let you completely unwind as you visit Old Town, Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town is ideal. We offer excellent value for travelers desiring more space, modern amenities, and an exceptional San Diego location. Our hotel provides a free daily breakfast and easy access to the Gaslamp District, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Diego Old Town
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Old Town
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing