We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask questions before booking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town
Ranked #117 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked our room through the Marriott website and chose the Cafe Coyote Package which included continental breakfast, gift certificate to Cafe Coyote in Old Town, and what they called "self-parking". We misunderstood and thought this meant parking in the hotel's underground garage. We parked on the street which was not a problem; however, Marriott's marketing of this package was deceiving in my opinion and I think we overpaid for this room so call first to ask questions before booking. Also we would not recommend the Cafe Coyote at this time. We have enjoyed this restaurant in the past but feel it has gone downhill. On the positive side, the hotel staff was very nice and rooms were very clean. Nice being in Old Town and also close to Mission Hills, Hillcrest, University Heights, downtown San Diego and Balboa Park. Be aware that this hotel does not have in-room safes despite what it says on Marriott website.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing courtyard and fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salthawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 448 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a Beautiful California Inn. Maybe 4 miles north of downtown, close to the 5 and 8 freeways. Newly renovated, well maintained. Friendly staff, great location. Good value. Close to old town restaurants and park. Very comfortable beds, really accommodating staff

Room Tip: We stayed near the street...but it was still quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed there with my wife and our adult daughter for two nights in August.
Rooms were very comfortable and breakfast was more than enough.
We would happily stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.
Good value

Room Tip: Easy to get ti the zoo from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlandSueMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Fairfield in Old Town (a must visit when we are in SD). The hotel has all of the great attributes and wonderful service that Marriott offers in its mid range lodging... pool, guest laundry, breakfast, great beds and clean rooms. They have taken an older three story hacienda style hotel, and renovated it to Marriott standards. It is absolutely charming and gives you the feel of Old Town SD. We had a balcony room with French Doors overlooking a charming courtyard with a beautiful Spanish fountain. Loved the sound of the water... The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the great restaurants and shops of Old Town so it's very easy to walk, and not have to find a place to park which is difficult on the weekends. We paid to park our car in the secure garage under the hotel, which was very convenient. The only suggestion that I could give the hotel is to put another microwave in the breakfast area. Breakfasts are adequate but not fancy (I don't think that they have a full kitchen) as they are the frozen Egg/sausage sandwiches that have to be microwaved so there is often a wait for it, otherwise they have waffle irons, yogurt, fruit, etc and breakfast is included with your room. There are plenty of restaurants nearby for a fancier breakfast. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms with the balcony in the courtyard (2nd and 3rd floors) are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELJUNKIES01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great location, you could basically walk anywhere in Old Town from here. The rooms were a little small, a family of 4 or more would need to share beds. There's no parking lot, street parking is usually not a problem though when staying here. Overall, if you're just looking for a decent place to stay, sleep, and swim, this is probably the place. I personally prefer to stay at a resort or somewhere bigger. Where I stay is an important piece in my vacationing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Rooms are very nice and modern, large screen hd tv.
Breakfast could have a few more choices. Great employees.
Vanessa and Joseph were very helpful. Van driver took us to
The Zoo.. Nice time. Worth a visit..

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank rxplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Was here for 2 days to see a baseball game at Petco Park, The Front Desk staff is really friendly, the Morning staff is Amazing and will go out of there way to assist you. The Trolly is only a short 8 block walk thru Old Town with alot of nice place to eat a short walking distance. The Court yard has a really old school look and The pool and Hot tub were really clean and nice. I did laundry the last night there and the front desk will give you free washing detergent, that is really nice of them to to because that is something I have never seen before. Someone else in one of the Reviews said about a Mexican Restaurant across the street was a good place to eat, Let me say that it wasn't any good just way to Expensive and not much to choose from, Nothing below 24 a plate. I got something called a Mole and it was NASTY and Expensive all I wanted was tacos LOL and they didn't have them. The only bad thing I could say about this place was the AC got the bathroom floor wet when I went to use the bathroom at 3am the tile on the floor was soaking wet from the water frrom the AC, that could be dangerous.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Western Inn
#124 of 278 in San Diego
348 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town

Address: 3900 Old Town Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Mission Inn Old Town)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in San Diego
#41 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $131 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the culture and history of San Diego's Old Town, Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town provides travelers with a relaxing escape. Set away from the bustle of the city, and located minutes from San Diego's top beaches, our accommodations are perfect for those who want to be near it all yet revel in the slow pace that comes with a removed place. Old Town, with its charm and stories, delights and there is no shortage of museums and authentic shops to explore here. If you are looking for hotel suites in San Diego that let you completely unwind as you visit Old Town, Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town is ideal. We offer excellent value for travelers desiring more space, modern amenities, and an exceptional San Diego location. Our hotel provides a free daily breakfast and easy access to the Gaslamp District, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town Hotel San Diego
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Diego Old Town
Holiday Inn Old Town
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing