We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value , everything near by”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Ranked #141 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My boys play on a travel waterpolo team and you need things close by. This hotel works great because of the staff as well as the two restraunts next door and a gas station in the same complex. Being close to major freeways and easy access makes this a good value

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

bob l,

Thank you for the review. As a TripAdvisor Senior Reviewer, we recognize that you are a savvy traveler with an eye for detail. We are pleased that you recognized our staff and location as great values in your stay. We look forward to hosting your family and water polo team on your next visit.

Thank you again for the review. Your business and feedback are important to us!

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 295 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our company had six (6) employees from the UK stay at the Springfield Suites in Poway for two weeks. The customer service, room cleanliness, and location were exceptional. We didn't have any issues only positive feedback from our employees. You will not find a better accomodation in the area for the price and overall experience. We highly recommend this property for a business and/or personal stay. We will definitely use Springfield Suites again in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Matt F,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our hotel as one that takes great care of all of your travelers. We appreciate your loyalty to our SpringHill and we look forward to welcoming you and your company travelers back on their next visit.

Thank you again for the great review!

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times for business. The staff has always been very courteous and check-in has always been simple. The rooms are clean and I always know what to expect when I come here. Carly, in business sales, has always take great care of my company.

During my last stay I witnessed the breakfast attendant helping an elderly women put ER sweater on and getting her situated. It was such a kind gesture and completely above and beyond the scope of her job.

There is a Chili's right across the way so it makes it easy to get dinner if you are traveling solo.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetstephanie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Sweetstephanie79,

Thank you for the kind words about our hotel and specifically noting our staff helping our guest beyond the call of duty! Also thank you for mentioning Carly and her great service. It is clear that you have an eye for detail and we thank you for pointing out such specific examples.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I travel on a regular basis from San Jose to Poway. SpringHill Suites is the perfect place to stay. There are several other choices, and after staying at three other locations, this is the one I have chosen as my home away from home!
The accommodations meet requirements for travel, and the staff is totally professional and personable. As a matter of fact, I would rather stay here for the customer service, than move to a five star hotel without this staff! Seriously!
There are weeks where many activities are happening, and kids are running rampant, but...they will always let me know and set me up in a room that they think will be the quietest... They have been right on every time, and I have never had to change rooms. (I am very satisfied with the rooms with two beds and two t.v.s!
I am very comfortable here, and will remain until life changes! It will be a sad day when I am no longer seeing this staff for my travel needs! Thanks to Pauline, Kyle, Tom, Matt, etc...

Room Tip: A nice place to return to over and over again. I like the rooms with two beds, because of the angle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dory M,

Thank you for the great review! We are proud to be your first choice in San Diego. It is a great compliment that you see our service as 5 star and that you recognize so many of our staff members. We are pleased that you enjoy the room layout and that it meets your needs so well.

Thank you for being our loyal guest and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Diego!

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I am a business traveler and stay in hotels every week. The Springhill Suites in San Diego is the only place I stay. They have a very Friendly Staff and treat my stay like they care about me. It is almost like a second home. They always go the extra mile every time I call or come in to stay. It is my "home away from home".

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Bobby G,

Thank you for the kind words about your regular stays with us. We are pleased that you recognize that we always go the extra mile and personalize our service to you. We realize that it is not easy being on the road and we do everything we can to make you as comfortable as possible. Being considered a "home away from home" is a tremendous compliment.

We look forward to your next stay...and the one after that...and the one after that!

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We travel regularly from Utah to the San Diego area, and stay at this Springhill Suites location whenever possible. It is our 'home away from home'.
We love the staff, they go the extra mile to ensure that our stay as enjoyable as possible. We've been coming to this location for years, and it's nice to be recognized by the staff and greeted warmly when we arrive.
The rooms are always immaculately clean, and very comfortable. The remodel is very nice, and we enjoy the new decor of the rooms.
Breakfast is really great, with ample choices. The food is fresh and delicious.
I highly recommend staying here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Catherine F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate that you noticed our clean rooms and great breakfast but perhaps most importantly, our staff and service.
Recommending our hotel to others is perhaps the greatest compliment of all. Thank you for that!
We will see you on the next trip!

Warm regards

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The property is well maintained and is an excellent location. For persons travelling "leisure", the location is excellent since this property is central to San Diego county, just 15mins south and you are downtown, 15min north and you are in the Oceanside area. Access to expressway is easy and then you are on your way. Business travel - excellent provided there is no sports activity coinciding with your stay.

Stayed over the holiday, after Christmas through New Year. This hotel was 'ground zero' for many teams and families, which this property is well suited for, however this large occupancy over-whelmed the breakfast staff as they did not keep up. During "normal" times the breakfast is well done.

The property is what you will expect given the Marriott brand. Do however INSPECT the extra bedding/blankets as during this stay we had to turn in 2 blankets, #1 for dirt, #2 for an unknown "biological" stain. Not sure if housekeeping cleans the extra bedding which you will find in the closets - be sure to look it over if using. Eve. staff did replace (only after having to search for replacements).

Given this was a holiday period, management did not service rooms on New Year Day, however they did not discount the room price until challenged. While it was nice to recognize the employees, a full service hotel should not have to be asked to adjust the rate if full service is intentionally not provided (night manager did make an adjustment.)

Overall, good location - worth of consideration while staying in the area, just be cognizent of bedding and if "team' activity is scheduled for the area, be prepared since this location is geared toward family activity (good if traveling with family/team).

Rooms - request lower numbered rooms on any of the floors (1-15) as higher numbers are closer to expressway and the associated noise, along with enjoying the 4am garbage truck beeper at the adjacent Chillis restaurant, request a lower odd-numbered room on floor 3 or 4.

Room Tip: Lower, odd number, floor 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

RDGUSA,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Thank you for noting the positive experiences about our hotel upkeep and location. Also, thank you for letting us know about the housekeeping issues. I can assure you that this is not our normal operation and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss it further. We strive to deliver the cleanest rooms every day. When something falls short, we appreciate the opportunity to address the issue and take corrective action.

I apologize for the lack of communication around our service on New Years Day. We could have done more to inform our guests and provide more options for service. I was pleased to read that Kyle took care of you.

Please feel free to call me anytime at 858-635-5723.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
#190 of 278 in San Diego
109 reviews
5.2 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Address: 12032 Scripps Highlands Dr, San Diego, CA 92131-5155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Diego
#50 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $115 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite hotel offers 137 Marriott studio suites each with living, sleeping and a kitchen area with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. Our all-suite San Diego hotel offers wireless high-speed Internet, daily complimentary breakfast, outdoor pool and much more including the newly redesigned inspired lobby and public spaces. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Springhill Suites by Marriott - San Diego / Rancho Bernardo / Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing