We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th visit to this property, but with problems this time...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Ranked #126 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Aiea, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“4th visit to this property, but with problems this time...”
Reviewed October 12, 2006

This was our 4th visit to this property, in the last two years or so, and we never had any problems with the service or facilities before.

But this time, the front desk had problems with finding available rooms for us, despite making reservations, six months previous. We checked-in about 2:00 pm and Brandy or Brenda at the front desk told us to come back a little after 3:00 pm, because the rooms weren't ready. We came back at 4:00 pm and our room was still not ready, despite two guests ahead of us receiving their room keys with no problems. Our room request was nothing special, but just your basic one bedroom suite.

After finally running a print out of the available rooms, Brandy gives us our room keys to suite #147. Low and behold the toilet didn't flush. We call the front desk at 4:50 pm (Oct 7th), Brandy informs us that she will call buidling maintenance to check the toilet out. One hour later at 6:00 pm, no one still does not show up. We call Brandy and she says, "ooh I taught it was fix, the maintence person said, he just fixed it" Of course we respond that no has showed up yet. At about 6:20 pm, a "angry" maintenance person knocks on our door and mumbles something and proceeds to the toilet. After about 5 minutes, he walks out without saying a word. We assumed he fixed the toilet and obviously he did.

We will probably be back to this property again and hope the above incidents were only a one-time bump in the road, but for the price you pay for suites and parking here, you expect the service to be a little better than the motels down the street. SGS 10.13.06

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Toilet Problem and Front Desk miscommunication
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SGerard_S84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    253
    98
    41
    18
See reviews for
431
58
16
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

We were very unhappy with the Comfort Inn and wanted to check out. We called directly to Residence Inn and were greeted by a very kind and helpful front desk clerk "Mary" who saved us. I can't tell you how nice it was to be treated professionally and humanely.

We stayed in a two-room King with bunk beds in the other room and a fold out in the living area. The only thing I wished is that the bathroom was either central to the room or there was a half bath...anyway. It was the first night I slept through the night because of the comfort of the bed. Down comforter and pillows felt like home. The kitchen was nice and had a regular sized refrigerator. 3 TV's were nice for our family of 6.

The pool was nice and the jacuzzi great. Breakfast was wonderful with some hot foods, 4 waffle makers (whipped topping and strawberry sauce), fresh fruit and yogurt and the usual continental fare.

The laundry facilities were nice with 4 washers and dryers and secured with room key lock. They had a little store that was overpriced but not any more than a convience store.

There was a small game room off the pool and breakfast area. Everyone at this hotel seemed to be having a good time and the atmosphere was a happy one. Kids were running around and I saw a lot of generational families that must have been vacationing together.

There was a $10 charge for parking but it was closed off at night with an arm accessible by room key.

The two room suite cost $179 but a very bad suite at Comfort Inn was going to cost us $229 so I think we made a good choice.

The only drawbacks were the lack of fast food in proximity to Hotel Circle...are you listing Wendy's? It is easy to get to Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Balboa, and Old Town (especially) but there is no shuttle or transport. Again...is anyone listening? Two streets of hotels and no shuttle?

  • Liked — The bedding on the King was very comforting and allowed me to sleep. Pool nice. Nice Staff.
  • Disliked — Charge for parking. No main hallway to get to front desk.
  • Tips/Secrets — The soap/softener is for sale in the store by the front desk, not in vending machines.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mom-o-five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, IL
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

This is a good place if you have kids. The rooms are spacious, nice kitchen area.

The breakfast in the morning is free and is good. The dinner is also provided free during weekdays and is very good! The pool is OK for the kids; they'll enjoy it.

The lobby is nice. But the whole place is a bit dated and cramped. The staff is super helpful but we found the hotel to be very crowded - not enough space for all the people who were there. And what was that syrup smell in the eating area?! Yuck.

Also the location was forgettable - next to the 8 freeway when we could have stayed on the beach on Mission Bay.

Won't stay there again; but we've stayed in worse places.

Helpful?
1 Thank af847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

Our family of four thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at this Residence Inn-Mission Valley July 24th -27th. (We also stayed at the Catamaran Resort & Spa the 27th - 30th, which I will post a review on soon.) The Residence Inn is one of the newest hotels in Hotel Circle and we were very pleased we booked here instead of the other places we saw in that area once we arrived. This Residence Inn is nestled up against the hillside, off of the main road, enough so that we didn't hear any traffic noise whatsoever. Our first impressions were good considering the talk of the general Hotel Circle area and it being situated right next to 1-8 weren't very positive. However, it turned out we were in a great location in terms of getting to and from Old Town (which we loved!), Sea World, beach, banks, shopping, restaurants, etc. and we felt safe.

We rented a car, which is necessary IMHO, so getting out and around wasn't an issue. We found it very easy to navigate our way around this area and San Diego in general.
The front desk here was very helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. Even printing out directions to any place we wanted to go. We arrived very early so our room was not ready...Not a problem. The front desk staff still checked us in, took our luggage, and gave us pool keys so we could enjoy the amenities. Nice pool and game rooms for the kids. Our requests for an upper level room overlooking the pool was granted. Our room was immaculate! Full kitchen w/ all the bells and whistles. Our maid even loaded our dishwasher for us one day, which I never expected! The beds were comfortable to us also. Note: the walls are thin and you can hear (somewhat faintly) conversations.

The complimentary daily buffet breakfast and early evening snack and drink social was really good and a nice touch! I would recommend you get down to the lobby before 8:00 AM as the breakfast rush hits about then and the buffet lines are long and tables can become scarce. We are early risers so it wasn't an issue for us to get up a bit earlier to avoid the hubub. It was booked FULL with families & children of all ages when we were there and the pool also became packed by 3:00 PM every day. The pool area has a wading pool which is perfect for toddlers, an average size 4 1/2 ft deep main pool plus hottub. Our teens enjoyed it as we visited w/ other families around the pool during the evening socials.

We did hang out one day on Coronado Island at the Hotel Del Coronado, which is beyond fabulous!! Get directions and go visit to take in the beauty of this area for great shopping, restaurants and beautiful beaches. We also highly recommend a visit and tour of Old Town. Literally, this area is 5 minutes away from the Residence Inn Hotel. We ate our way through there- the first night at El Agave (which is wonderful mexican cuisine), toured the Historic Whaley House and shopped. Very fun and interesting so don't miss this place since it's close by!

Residence Inn-Mission Valley Sea World is an ideal place for families with young children to stay at. The price is right, it's very clean, close to most attractions and provides a family w/ home- away -from- home amenities.

  • Liked — For the price you pay: The full kitchen, free breakfast buffet, nightly social hour, cleanliness & close to attractions.
  • Disliked — Hotel circle is not the best area aesthetically because it is surrounded by a freeway. Just an OK area.
  • Tips/Secrets — Rent a car. Bring your own shampoo, conditioner & bath soap (hotel provides itty bitty ones)
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank SquirrelyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metrowest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

we stayed there for 4 nights. July 16-20. It's a nice hotel. clean. modern. etc but pricey for that area. more info follows, some has been said before but included so that we reenforce positives and negatives:

Good: breakfast buffet included. hot breakfast,eggs, cereal, waffle irons. etc. clean modern room. decent space. Kids suites give a nice parent/kid separation although it was very weird that the only bathroom in that room type is inside the parent room so the kids have to go through your room to get to it.. Free basketball and volleyball area. good game rooms for kids.

BAD: thinnest hotel walls ever experienced. i swear we could hear people in the next room breathing. had non-smoking room but smoke smell from smoking rooms wafted in . needed to run a/c ro keep the smell out. also 10 dollars a night to park! ridiculous. for that area. parking spaces EXTREMELY small. I am not kidding. I can park anything anywhere but in this place when its sold out you need a shoehorn to get out of your car.

Area: very convenient to SeaWorld. Also near some decent malls. not too far from other major San Diego areas ( coronado island, La Jolla, petco park etc all within a reasonable car ride)

Generally good for what it is but not worth the rates ( AAA rate of 249 plus that 10 bucks a night parking fee) Other were paying higher (319, etc) The whole hotel circle area is considered more reasonable and family freindly but for that money an extrea hundred a night might easily get you to a much nicer area if the budget allows.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank likes_travel_3323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2006

We just stayed one night at the Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley/Sea World Area, June 24-25, 2006. The hotel room was clean and spacious. Our 2 year old enjoyed the second bedroom with bunk beds that we didn't expect. The biggest draw back is the noise. You can hear everyone around you. The walls are very thin. The breakfast is good. Many items to choose from, hot and cold and fresh fruit. We did feel safe at the hotel. We didn't feel all that safe at the local outdoor mall. And we are from LA. Pool was fine too. Overall, I wouldn't stay again. For the price, I would rather stay near the beach next time.

Helpful?
5 Thank Alie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2006

I'm always a little worried when I book a hotel that has tons and tons of great reviews. I have this image in my head of somebody at the hotel getting paid to sit at a computer and write reviews all day long! We've been bitterly dissapointed in the past. That was so NOT the case at the Marriott Residence Inn.

We showed up about 6 hours before check-in time hoping they might have a room for us and they did. The free breakfast was great and they did a super job of keeping things clean even with a lot of little kids running around. Because there were a lot of people there for long stays, everybody seemed to treat the community areas more like they would their own homes and tended to pick up after themselves which helped too.

My kids loved playing pool and pingpong in the gameroom. They also made good use of the basketball court and the pool. The laundry room came in handy too! The staff was super nice to us and the kids. They had tons of sheets of good directions handy to area attractions. When it was time to check out, they even printed out a mapquest route to our next hotel!

Our kids' suite room was a very comfortable set up. The bunkbed idea is great. I don't know why more hotels don't do that! It was also great that they had a full compliment of dishes (and a dishwasher so I didn't have to handwash!!). They only thing I'd change would be to add an additional entry to the bathroom or another bathroom so the kids didn't have to walk through the masterbedroom to go potty. We got woken up a lot by the toilet flushing.

All in all, we thought we got a great value and although this hotel didn't have a view of anything other than a freeway, it was very centrally located to everything we wanted to do. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank nrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#176 of 278 in San Diego
87 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Address: 1865 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Mission Valley is in the center of it all! We are an upscale all suite extended stay hotel in San Diego California located only five miles from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and just down the street from Sea World Adventure Park®. From the beaches of Torrey Pines to Belmont and Balboa Parks to the night life of the Downtown Gaslamp Quarter, The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego MissionValley is in the heart of all San Diego! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing