We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darn Near Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Ranked #126 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Victor, MT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Darn Near Perfect”
Reviewed May 14, 2006

Thank you, Tripadvisor, for again referring us to a marvelous place to stay. The suite was bright and fresh with ample room for cooking. Both the bed and the sofabed were comfortable, the bed exceptionally so, and for any sofabed to be comfortable is unheard of. Having fresh colors in the room truly made a difference from the same-ole'-blah-drab of most motel rooms - made it still restful, but a little more lively.

The room was incredibly quiet - the motel is set back farther against the mountain from the road than most other of the motels there, and is quite soundly constructed. The only noise we ever heard was due to a funny indiosyncracy - when one first turns on the TV's they are set at a high volume and need to be turned down immediately. Other than that, all was silent, and drapes plenty dark enough to allow jet lag adjustment.

I don't usually resort to caps, but the breakfast was OUT OF THIS WORLD! Here's what you get every morning, in a big, lovely, open, spacious dining area: soft scrambled eggs, seasoned potato cubes, either bacon or corned beef hash or sausage, toasty golden waffles you make yourself, a bunch of cereals and pastries and fresh fruit and muffins and english muffins and bagels, white and chocolate milk, several juices and pops, and a new thing for me - Japanese breakfast in the form of sticky white rice, miso and tofu and green onion broth to pour over the rice, and sprinkles you can choose to add of sesame or seaweed or shrimp. Plus, the extremely friendly and courteous staff roam around with refills of coffee in the most pleasant manner.

Ah, yes, the staff. They were unfailiingly great! All were friendly, warm, knowledgeable, courteous, helpful and informative. When I couldn't find the breakfast room initially, they took me there. When I got cold and needed a blanket, it was there probably literally within one minute of my phone request. When someone spilled some orange juice, three staff appeared to clean it up and it was gone as quiickly as you could say "splat." When I stopped the room service guy to ask about dinner, his English was admittedly spotty, but he made good eye contact, had a truly warm smile, and finally just directed me to ask the front desk, which was fine due to his good manner. And for glbt travelers, the quiet presence of queer staff was extra-nice. The only problem we had during the whole stay was that our key cards somehow got demagnetized a few times and the front desk folks were absolutely fine with us needing to have them re-keyed.

The location is great, but this place stands head and shoulders above other Hotel Circle places we have stayed. It is very convenient for getting everywhere. Also, on Mon-Thurs, they have an early evening buffet, which means if you're staying during the week you get not only breakfast but dinner if you want it, and are there at the right time, which sure cuts down on the cost of meals out if that's of significance.

It was "May Grey" for us, so did not try the pool or hot tub, but I expect these would also be topnotch. It was extra-nice to have a very tall showerhead that actually splashed over me instead of against me. I didn't try out the gymn or the kids' game room, but both looked good. And they had ping-pong! I couldn't resist that - it was great. And outside, basketball and volleyball courts.

All in all, I think this was one of the most relaxing places I've ever stayed. No worries and a ton of amenities, all supported by superb staff. The only reason I didn't rate it "excellent" was just that it wasn't a sixty-star place - but then, it doesn't mean to be, and it is far more a place I want to stay because of that.

Helpful?
8 Thank woodstork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    253
    98
    41
    18
See reviews for
431
58
16
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2006

Very nice place. We tried going there recently but it was a bit out of our price range at the time. I stayed there over a year ago and I was very impressed. Enough space to stretch out with the divided bedroom suites, and they were very nice and clean as well as having quiet and well maintained grounds. 2 TVs in each room are great for me to watch sports and for her to watch HGTV or whatever it may be :) Good breakfast buffet and the staff was very knowledgable and did their very best to cater to our requests and other needs. It is the prefered place for me to stay in SD when the budget allows for it.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ttchamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 24, 2006

Our family of six stayed for five nights during spring break. It felt like a home away from home. The breakfast was wonderful (make your own waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, yogurt, granola, I could go on and on). The was just enough seating during the very busy times with the tables in and out. It is a beautiful hotel with great customer service. They will even pick up groceries for you for free! We stayed in a Two bedroom kid's suite. It was very roomy and quiet, three tv's, a kitchen & a living room. The only thing odd about the room was the bathroom was located through the Parent's bedroom (we had an infant that would nap in there and was disturbed anytime someone needed to use the restroom). I think our kids looked forward to returning to the hotel every evening just as much as the attractions we were visiting. There were many other friendly families there, all the kids played together. We participated in the evening reception on our last night and wished we had discovered it sooner. We had lasagna and salad and drinks (red & white wine, and a microbrew on tap). It was so wonderful not to have to head back out in the evening to find some food, we got to swim, relax, eat, and swim some more. They also have bar-b-que's available for anyone to use. I am excited to go back just to stay at this hotel. Everything was so clean, well cared for and simply beautiful!!!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2006

We have stayed at this establishment twice. Both times it was excellent. Very modern updated decor. Computer available with internet for free in the lobby - great for a quick check up on things. Helpful desk staff who will draw maps how to get to places. Super-duper free breakfast each morning with waffles, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastry, hot dishes. Managers "snack" at night were things like pizza, pasta night, nachos, and always a salad and soft drinks available. Awesome rooms - large, comfy and clean. Very quiet. Great location easily accessible to all the local attractions. We will stay here the next time we are through San Diego!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2006

What a Hotel. Kids suites are a little pricy ($$) But well worth it. Two bedrooms. VERY NICE. Staff is extreemly friendly. Front desk has maps. Their maps show you return directions as well. Very helpful!! If they don't have if they will find it. Breakfast was wonderful!! Not your average donuts and coffee. Full breakfast. ( I had biscuits and gravy everyday for a week) The weekly manager reception is ok. Go early. Pool area very clean, game room small but all the games worked. Great exercise room. It gets a little busy, but is open 24 hours. If you ask the house keeping staff will clean around your schedule. They came at different times through out the day.
Parking gets a little scarce around 2 or 3 pm. Plenty of parking in back.
Stayed for a week, could have stayed longer. Sea World and Zoo great fun. Buy the year lond pass at Sea World, go back as many times as you want. (Hard to see all shows and animals in one day) Allow at least 2 days for each. We traveled with a 9 and 11 year old. Take lots of breaks. If you have extra time, check out the Scripps Aquariam. great view of the ocean and surfers. Go early, field trips came in around 10am. Lunch not great :( Eat off site. Have Fun.

Helpful?
6 Thank JulieJColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2006

In March 2006 my family stayed in one of the two bedroom units at the Residence Inn. The room was nice and had a nice amount of space for two adults and 3 children. The breakfast each morning was very nice but due to the crowds at the hotel (spring break) it was difficult to find a time that wasn't crowded. In the evening the complimentary "dinner" was a big hit with all of the families. On Monday night they weren't expecting such large crowds which caused quite a wait while additional food was being prepared. The second night there was an equally large crowd but the kitchen had prepared plenty of food and the lines moved quickly. The kids loved the pool and there was plenty of room for many kids to be in the pool at the same time. The location was very convenient to nearby sights. The one downside to staying at this hotel is that there aren't many restaurant options in the immediate area.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzanne1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2006

We stayed here for two nights and had a great stay. The evening reception and the hot breakfast were both excellent, with plenty of food and drinks even on our second day when it was very crowded. I agree with the reviewer who mentioned the odd layout - to get to the lobby, we had to walk outside so that was a little strange. The bedroom was a bit on the small side, but we loved the large living room/kitchen area. The location was ideal for us, only about a 10-minute drive to either Old Town or Mission Bay, and about 15 minutes to La Jolla. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greenberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#176 of 278 in San Diego
87 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Address: 1865 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Mission Valley is in the center of it all! We are an upscale all suite extended stay hotel in San Diego California located only five miles from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and just down the street from Sea World Adventure Park®. From the beaches of Torrey Pines to Belmont and Balboa Parks to the night life of the Downtown Gaslamp Quarter, The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego MissionValley is in the heart of all San Diego! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing