We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay Better than the First”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Ranked #135 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is our second time staying at this hotel. Our group was in town for the annual Comic Con convention. We had a group of 8 in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite. Very spacious and clean which I greatly appreciated. There are a lot of families that stay here so there is some noise around the hotel, but that did not bother is whatsoever. They have good amenities (swimming pool, basketball court and game room). Their free breakfast, light dinners and cocktail hours are also very generous.

The reason I am giving this hotel 5 stars is because of their customer service. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Front desk staff answered all our questions and directed us for dinner several nights. The kitchen staff even went out of their way to prepare a vegetarian option for someone in our group. We called housekeeping several times for extra towels and toiletries...each time they delivered within minutes. We could not have asked for more.

Will be booking here again for next years trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QBee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your taking the time to review us after your recent stay! I couldn't be more pleased to hear that we have earned your repeated business, and I can't wait to read your comments to my staff. They thrive on customer satisfaction, and there is no greater complement to an establishment than to give it your repeat business.
On behalf of all of us here at the Residence Inn Mission Valley, thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to your next stay!

Todd Capizzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 779 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

From the moment we entered the staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and it was great to have a separate room with bunks for the kids. Master bed was so comfy. Well equipped kitchenette and each room had their own TV! Very convenient location for all San Diego sights assuming you are driving as we had a car and so it was easy to get around. Complimentary breakfast included. If I had to name one negative then it would be the fact you have to pay for parking at 13 USD a night. Only wish we had been able to stay longer but needed to move on. Overall very friendly and clean property. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Assume all rooms same as its designed as a long stay property. But if traveling with kids then just...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hello, and thank you for writing a response about your recent stay here the Residence Inn Mission Valley. I am so pleased that you found our rooms to be spacious, clean and comfortable. Being an extended stay hotel, we do our best to deliver convenience, comfort, and warm hospitality.
Again, I thank you for taking the time to share your experience of my hotel on Trip Advisor, and I hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. Until then, happy travels.

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Residence Inn Mission Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is located a short drive away from Mission Beach, SeaWorld, and Balboa Park. We were there over the July 4th weekend so there were a lot of people in the hotel. We returned around 10pm each night and there were usually only a couple of parking spaces left in the lot. The customer service at this hotel was excellent, which is what I typically have found at any Residence Inn I have stayed at. The free buffet breakfast was good, but don't wait until the last minute to eat...the line gets very long.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review my property here on Trip Advisor. I am glad that our central location was convenient during your vacation, and that you found my staff to be friendly and helpful. Summer tends to be busy here in San Diego, and I apologize if you felt it was too crowded. I truly hope you enjoyed San Diego, and that we have the pleasure of accommodating you and your family again in the future.

Todd Capizzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel was excellent. It offered a free dinner along with free breakfast. It was a full breakfast with everything you can think of. The room was large and comfortable. It was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean. The personnel were very friendly and extremely helpful. Although you had to pay for parking, the excellence of the hotel made it worth it. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

I want to thank you for taking the time to let us know how great your stay was at the Residence Inn Marriott San Diego Mission Valley. We take great pride in making sure our guests have a fabulous experience. I will pass on the great words with our team and we certainly appreciate you staying with us.

Please let me know if there is anything else we can do for you in the future and hope you will choose our hotel on your next visit.

Thank you and hope you have a great day!

Take care,

Jim Larson
Task Force General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

As an individual that travels 75% of the time, I'm in a lot of hotels. This property is absolutely a delight to stay in. The customer service and attitude of the staff is excellent. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and courteous. Although it is targeted for families, it is spacious enough that business travelers will be comfortable.

Room Tip: The area does not offer a "view" but none in this area odder The area does not offer a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathiK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

We want to thank you for taking the time to let us know on how well your stay was at the Residence Inn Marriott San Diego Mission Valley. We are so glad you had a great experience and we take great pride in making sure all our guest enjoy themselves.

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope you will choose our hotel when you are in the San Diego area.

Please let me know if you need anything else in the future.

Take care,

Jim Larson
Task Force General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend, so figured it would be a hopping place. And it was, sort of, but in a good way. There were indeed tons of families, and our room overlooked the kiddie pool. But I was delighted to see that the hours for the pool were strictly (but politely) enforced so that I was able to open our windows and then sleep right through the night. The room itself was perfect for our two adult sons and ourselves with two doubles in one room, and a king in the other, with a shared kitchen/living room area. Nice to have the wifi and TVs in every room. There was a fee for parking ($13 per day). Breakfast was adequate and plentiful. We were short drives for all the sights we wanted to see, like the zoo, Old Town, and the USS Midway.

Room Tip: Upper floors are best, away from the lights that ring the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

We wanted to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your past stay at the Residence Inn Marriott San Diego Mission Valley. We take great pride in making sure all of our guest have a wonderful experience. We are so glad that you and your family had a great night sleep and enjoyed our amenities at our hotel.

We hope that if you are coming back to the San Diego market that you would chose our hotel as your first choice. Please let me know if you need anything else in the future.

Take care,

Jim Larson
Task Force General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family stayed here from July 1 to July 5 and we loved it. The location was great, only 10 minutes from Sea World and the Zoo. The breakfast in the morning was good with plenty of choices, and it was a full breakfast not a continental breakfast. The dinners on Monday to Thursday nights were good as well. We loved our room and it was nice for our family of 6. We had a problem with the TV in the master bedroom on our first night, but maintenance promptly took care of the problem. We had a really good experience at this hotel and look forward to staying here again on our next San Diego vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

We want to thank you for taking the time to mention to us on how great your stay was. We understand the importance of a vacation and want to make sure all of our guests have a great stay with their families.

We take great pride in the amenities we have to offer and we are glad you had a chance to enjoy them. I'm also glad you and your family enjoyed the Sea World experience.

We look forward to your next visit to the San Diego area and if you need anything please don't hesitate to contact us.

Take care,

Jim Larson
Task Force General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Hotel Circle/Sea World Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#175 of 278 in San Diego
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley

Address: 1865 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $169 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Mission Valley is in the center of it all! We are an upscale all suite extended stay hotel in San Diego California located only five miles from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and just down the street from Sea World Adventure Park®. From the beaches of Torrey Pines to Belmont and Balboa Parks to the night life of the Downtown Gaslamp Quarter, The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego MissionValley is in the heart of all San Diego! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing