We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Ranked #136 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Our family stayed here one night, extending our vacation at a timeshare. This was a great hotel for us. Our kids, ages 4 and 7, just loved it. They had their own bedroom with two twin beds in it. King in the master with one bathroom. The beds, bedding and linens were very comfortable. Three TV's in the room. The security is good. Our kids loved the pool. Both kids pool and the main pool are heated to a comfortable temperature. The hotel was clean throughout and the staff was very nice. The breakfast in the morning has a large variety of food, but food itself was so-so. Free internet in the lobby. We would definitely recommend staying here for a family weekend or a multiple night stay for business. If we come back to San Diego, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JanetS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 783 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2008

We had a 1 bedroom suite. Beds were very comfortable. Shower had great water pressure. Cute kitchen but we didn't really use it.

Breakfast buffet--FANTASTIC!! Scrambled eggs (the real thing), pancakes, belgium waffles, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, hash browns, juices, GREAT coffee with the flavored creamers. Juice, coffee and treats available all day in the lobby. There is a 'kid corner' with small tables and chairs and a tv with cartoons on for the kids.

Pool was heated, jacuzzi was relaxing. Towels provided although most were small/kid sized. Basketball court in front of the hotel, pool tables and game room were fun.

Neat courtyard area for relaxing out by the pool. Two computers in the lobby area, one hooked up to a printer. That's a plus for those who need to print out their airline boarding passes the day before.

Only complaint was the housekeeping wasn't done til later in the afternoon.

Location was great...close enough to drive into the city and about a mile from Old Town.

Would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

At first I was unsure about the hotel because I saw it was right by the freeway. However the drive way was further back from the freeway, so it helped with the noise of traffic. It was only a minute away from old town, easy to access sea world and everything else you needed.

The breakfast in the morning was amazing, really good food. There is also a big swim area and a small fitness center and game room. Really clean, spacious rooms, with full kitchen and office desk area. I never heard noise from other guests nearby.

I will stay there again sometime in the future, maybe during the week to save money!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Megstravel38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

I have never stayed at a hotel/motel that has tried so hard to please. The staff can't do enough to make you feel at home (Away from Home). We just returned from a family vacation of 7 days at the property. We had the 2 bedroom over looking the pool to keep an eye on the young ones and parents. The other room we had was a one bedroom. There were 6 adults and 3 small children 1,3, and 4 ages. They called several days ahead to find out about our reservation and if we had any request. I ask to have easy access to unload and come and go to the pool area. Our request was honored. Note we were there during spring break so no real price break but have to say if was fair for what we had. The only bad point and it had mentioned before was the thin walls.We were woke up to mornings at 5:15 AM 2 mornings and the bathroom could have been updated a llitle.
Enjoy this place it is a gem. The location could not be better.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

After a fun day at the San Diego we a family of 5 (2 kids grandma, hubby & myself) fchecked in for 1 night during Spring Break 3/2008. We had a nice corner room with a view of the roof (blah), but it was quiet and rarely ever heard a peep from outside noise.

There is a kitchenette, dining area, pull-out sofa bed and separate bedroom w/ 2 queen beds. It was ample size but the bathroom was plugged up and we arrived. It took the maintenance men a while to arrive & service the bathroom, but they were nice and repaired the toilet.

The room is clean, decent, needs just a bit of painting. The beds were fine, but more "heavenly" type of pillows would have been nice.

The kids & daddy enjoyed the warm pool & jacuzzi. During the weekdays there are happy hour theme nights and we ate Mexican that evening and didn't even have to go out for dinner. Also included was free beer, wine & soda for 2 hours.

The breakfast buffet was more than ample for our family. Plenty of variety from cereal to hot waffles & sausauges.

Close to the Zoo, Sea World, Downtown, Coronado Island, etc....The next day we drove out to Balboa park and took the kids to the Science Museum (a good deal for $30 for the 4 of us w/ the AAA discount...grandma sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful weather. We also toured the free arboretum & one museum of Renaissance art (which was also free). Then we ate at our favorite & inexpensive seafood restaurant downtown Anthony's. Good food, wonderful view & very reasonable for lunch and/ or dinner. We later took a drive to Coronado Island and it was just gorgeous.

Overall, good experience & all for under $200 for one night for a family of five at the Residence Inn Marriot San Diego Mission Valley.

Will stay there again for convenience & price...although I had to pay $10 for parking where in the past it was free!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank juicygirlfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

This has to be one of the best hotels for families ever. We were impressed. The rooms were perfect for traveling with young kids (3 and 6). The front desk people were very helpful. Pool was heated to 90 plus degrees. The breakfast had a great variety of choices everyday.

The only cons were the afore metioned in numerous reviews:
The walls are thin in the rooms. One night we think the room next door fell asleep with the TV on and we could hear it all night.

The only other problem is a Marriott problem: Pillows!! Marriott pillows are pretty bad. For all the good the hotel has i would bring my own pillow next time.

Great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cooper12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

I've made several trips to the San Diego area and have stayed downtown, at the airport and on Coronado Island. This hotel is now my first choice when travel to San Diego. The staff is great, the rooms are clean, the breakfast and supper are outstanding and the exersize facility is adaquate. There are plenty of common areas including the gate house, an arcade, pool area with grills and a pool room. The hotel has a quiet atmosphere and is close to several restaraunts. It is only a short drive to Old Town and down town San Diego. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HoosierTraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Hotel Circle/Sea World Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley

Address: 1865 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $141 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Mission Valley is in the center of it all! We are an upscale all suite extended stay hotel in San Diego California located only five miles from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and just down the street from Sea World Adventure Park®. From the beaches of Torrey Pines to Belmont and Balboa Parks to the night life of the Downtown Gaslamp Quarter, The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego MissionValley is in the heart of all San Diego! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing