We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service, great rooms, highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Ranked #121 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service, great rooms, highly recommended!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here during a college road trip with our daughter. Requested a quiet room because we were all so exhausted and were pleasantly surprised by the size of the two bedroom unit. King bed in one room, two twin beds in the other. Lots of space, kitchenette, bathroom and all spotlessly clean. However the family staying in the unit above us were very noisy and the minute we reported it to the front desk, it was dealt with. An employee from the front desk actually came to our door to apologize in person and delivered a 'bag of goodies' ... Bottle of wine, bottled waters, fruit and candies! We also got a price adjustment to our check-out bill ! ( completely unexpected !)

Breakfast was great, pool was large and very clean, with plenty of towels and evening complimentary " pulled pork " sandwiches/salads plus free beer. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor if you want complete quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loola2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review on Trip Advisor of my hotel. I am sorry to hear that there were noisy neighbors during your stay but i am happy to know that my team was able to react in a timely manner to rectify the situation for you and your family. We here at the hotel do not condone any parties and have a strict "quiet after 10pm" policy in place to avoid noise disturbances from affecting our guests. I hope that you and your family will be back soon and allow us to accommodate you once again.

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    247
    94
    41
    17
See reviews for
424
57
16
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel was clean and comfortable and offerred a free breakfast. We were upgraded to a family suite which has two bedrooms one with a bunkbed and one with a king. Everything was clean and pleasant, and I slept very well on the bed. This was a nice place to stay if you are finishing up a day of traveling, and want to rest up prior to heading to the rest of your vacation. The one unusual thing about the room though (the family suite) in order for the children to use the bathroom, they have to go through the master bedroom. Under certain circumstances this can be rather inconvenient.

Room Tip: Be aware that the family suite requires children to go through master bedroom to use bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of my hotel on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy some rest and relaxation during your time here at my hotel. The room you stayed in was our two-bedroom, one-bathroom suite and yes the bathroom is in the main bedroom however we do offer two-bedroom, two-bathroom suties with a bathroom in each bedroom so please do not hesitate to ask upon you return for the availability of this room type. We look forward to hearing from you soon and accommodating you in the future!

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Room was good - had two bedrooms with the kids on a bunkbed (great after 3 nights with them in the same room).
Breakfast free and much better than the previous Residence - busy but manageable. Didnt try the pool but looked inviting.
Free food and drinks unbelievable - any wine/ beer for 90 minutes ..... A great touch.
Main thing though was the staff - were friendly and accomdating.
I would definately recommend this hotel for families.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Davejlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of my hotel on Trip Advisor. Happy to hear that you found our rooms to be accommodating for you and your family’s needs while staying here with us in San Diego. The bunk beds are always a fun touch for our guests with younger children, allowing the kids to feel like they have their own special space while also giving the parents some room for quiet and relaxation when needed while traveling. It also sounds like you were able to take full advantage of our complimentary breakfast, light meals in the evening and our beer and wine happy hour from 6-7:30 every night. I hope you were able to try many of the seven different brews we offer on tap, many of them being local to San Diego. On behalf of my staff and me, we look forward to your return trip to San Diego and hope that we can accommodate you and your family once again.

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talkeetna, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nice furnishings in room. They appear to have been recently remodeled. Common areas in very good shape. Parking charge was high and unexpected, This is the only Residence Inn I have ever seen charge for this.

Room Tip: Facing Courtyardor on back side away from freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 802RobertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at my hotel on Trip Advisor. I am glad you were able to enjoy your time while here in San Diego. Being a big destination city with high demands it is our company policy to charge for parking in order to keep up with the surrounding properties. We hope you will be back in the San Diego area soon!

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had a two bedroom unit very clean and spacious. The hotel is great for families with children of all ages. Great breakfasts favourite waffles and evening social wine and beer tasting. Staff very accommodating and friendly. Thank you for a great holiday. One suggestion for consideration to perhaps have a food bank section where one could drop off unopened food for the less fortunate in the the community. We had a lot of food unopened, the front desk did mention that it would not be throwing in the garbage. I sure hope that this does get to someone in need. Thank you

Room Tip: Two bedroom units are great very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenN937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of my hotel on Trip Advisor. I am glad to know that we were able to assist in helping your holiday be the best it could be while you were here in San Diego. As my staff mentioned to you we do not waste the left over unopened food in the rooms, we are always able to find a home that can use the items, so rest assure that it does not go to waste. We look forward to your next holiday to San Diego and hope that we are able to accommodate you once again.

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Positives:
Staff is friendly
Wonderful family breakfast buffet, staff was VERY attentive at whatever was needed. We were impressed with them.
Nice bigger pool and spa.
Clean, decent size rooms
Very clean, upscale hotel
Close to most attractions, right next to freeway with great access
Discount passes to major attractions (though we didn't use them)
Supper in the evening
You feel safe at this hotel

Negatives:
Walls seem thin, easy for others to hear making you feel like you have to be extra quiet
Elevators in corners are slow
Not a big fan of staying in rooms where pets were at (though they clean them well)
Parking costs $13/day
Wish the supper would go past 7:30pm
Hotel doesn't have a lot of property as it is on the kind of squishy feeling hotel circle
Mattresses not very comfortable

Overall great value for the money

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyIsEverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of my hotel on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you sharing your positive and negative experiences with us. Feedback from our guests is what helps my hotel to improve on a daily basis. It is nice to hear that you found the property, rooms, many of the amenities, and the location to meet your needs during your stay here in San Diego. We look forward to your next trip back!

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here recently for a business trip and decided to bring my family along with me (since it was the perfect opportunity to have a little San Diego getaway!). The suites are very spacious, more than enough for four people and was very clean and inviting. They have free breakfast every morning and a light dinner every night which mainly consists of salad, soups and more. Between certain hours they also serve beer and wine. They have different evening events to keep visitors happy, and the staff is also very nice and accommodating. I only stayed for two nights but if I had to stay somewhere for an extended period of time, I would love to be here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for writing a review from your recent stay on Trip Advisor. I am glad you and your family were able to enjoy your time here at my hotel, even with business in the mix. San Diego has various attractions for people of all ages, which makes it a perfect place for leisure travel. With our all suite rooms, including kitchens, living space and separate bedrooms, it is perfect for families just like yours and it is nice to know that you were able to spread out and utilize all the rooms have to offer. We hope that it will not be long before you and your family are back!

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#175 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Address: 1865 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Mission Valley is in the center of it all! We are an upscale all suite extended stay hotel in San Diego California located only five miles from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and just down the street from Sea World Adventure Park®. From the beaches of Torrey Pines to Belmont and Balboa Parks to the night life of the Downtown Gaslamp Quarter, The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego MissionValley is in the heart of all San Diego! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing