We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Ranked #131 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with lots of extras! Many hotels have breakfast as this one does, but this is a BREAKFAST! Eggs several styles, hot oatmeal , sausage, bacon, fruit, yogurt, biscuits & gravy, bagels, & more. This hotel has dinner Mon thru Thur included plus free wine & beer for happy hour. Sat night they had a BBQ with brats, hamburgers, hotdogs & beef tips.

Rooms are clean & well appointed. Staff was very friendly & helpful. Lots of families stay here with game room, & pool for the kids.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of my hotel on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all the wonderful food we offer to our guests here at the hotel. My kitchen staff will be pleased to know that they were able to leave such a great impression with you during your stay. Please feel free to call us for any of your future hotel needs on your next trip back to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 779 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

We traveled to San Diego for a quick two night trip for a graduation at MCRD. I phoned ahead while traveling to let the front desk know we were several hours behind our expected arrival. When we did arrive, the front desk staff (I can't remember the young man's name but he was awesome) was appreciative of that prior information and gave us complimentary parking!

Everything about our stay was great, clean room, prompt response to the extra towel request, good hot complimentary breakfast, and guest parking is gated for added security. If we had more time we would have enjoyed the pool, Jacuzzi, and game room. Well worth the price!

Room Tip: This hotel is on Hotel Circle, not water front but literally minutes away from everything. We had P...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KELittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing a review on Trip Advisor of my hotel. It is always good to hear when our staff can go above and beyond for our guests. It sounds like you and your family was able to take advantage of all the complimentary amenities we offer here at the hotel, breakfast, light dinner, happy hour, etc. We look forward to your next trip out to San Diego.

Todd Capizzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Enjoyed our stay in the area. Very central location close to Old Town, beaches, Sea World and stadium area. Remember check-in is 4PM, if you need your room earlier make sure you ask in advance. The very helpful staff will do whatever is needed.

Room Tip: Remember some of the two room suites have bunk beds which only work for real little kids generally.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor of my hotel. Early check in is something we try to accommodate for our guests whenever possible, just ask the front desk and they will work hardest to assist in the matter. And with our convenient location our property is great for anyone trying to see what San Diego has to offer, which could take a whole week to see, with the beaches and the amusement parks, downtown, La Jolla and the seals, and many wonderful restaurants, there are plenty of things to fill your day with. We look forward to your next trip to San Diego and hope that we will be able to accommodate you and your family once again. Happy New Year!

Todd Capizzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We loved the RI Mission Valley...we spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day night there, and the whole family enjoyed it. We loved the pool area, and the location of this hotel. It wasn't more than a 15-20 minute drive to everything we wanted to do and everywhere we wanted to be in San Diego. It's 5 minutes from the gate of Sea World, 10 min to the airport, 10-15 min from downtown and about 20 minutes to Las Americas Outlet mall that backs up against the Mexico border.

The staff was really, really friendly, and very welcoming to the kids. They have a kids corner and kids program, a really good sized outdoor pool with a wading pool and a hot tub (and even some cabanas). With the kids programming and the pool area, it felt really resorty. The breakfast was plentiful and pretty good, and their evening dinners/cocktail receptions were nice as well.

It's worth saying again that all the staff members we encountered was extremely friendly and genuinely concerned about our satisfaction. We liked it a lot.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

I appreciate you sharing a review of my hotel on Trip Advisor. It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful vacation over the holidays, and I am glad that our hotel was able to be a part of that good time. We are very conveniently located and it seems that you all found your way around the area nicely, with Sea World, shopping, the Gaslamp district, etc. We are a very family friendly hotel and with the addition to our new weekend kid’s activities, it makes for plenty of fun things for the family to participate in like arts and crafts and movie nights with snacks and pillows provided. I hope that you will look us up on your next trip back to San Diego, until then have a great New Year.

Todd Capizzo
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

But, if you come in at night after a 15 hour drive and your dog will only do their business on grass...it is in the front of the hotel. The room was spacious and very clean. A well equiped kitchen. Breakfast was very good. The hotel had a very nice Gingerbread House display for the holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsN1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for writing a review if your experience here at the Residence Inn Mission Valley on Trip Advisor. We were very much in the holiday spirit here at the hotel with our gorgeous tree in the lobby and gingerbread house display and I hope you and your family were able to vote for your favorite Gingerbread House before you left. We believe that our guests deserve to feel at home when they stay with us and I hope that you were able to experience this during your vacation. Please don’t hesitate to call us for any of your hotel needs for your next trip to San Diego. I hope you had a nice holiday and we look forward to seeing you again.

Todd Capizzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our family (2A,2C, 10 & 15) stayed here in Nov for 2 nights in a Family Suite. As the title suggests it was the nicest hotel of our 3 week vacation by far.
Amanda at check in is a STAR! She greeted us like old friends that were returning despite not having been here before. The smiles and warm welcome made us feel immediately at home. Her suggestions for Las Vegas (our next stop), were well received.
There is not an Aussie traveller in the world who is going to knock back the offer of free beer, and the evening happy hours were a nice touch.
The room was excellent, big comfortable beds, A/C worked well and room was quiet, despite being in the front of the building, nice lounge/kitchen area but curiously only one bathroom which was ensuite to the main bedroom. (I should read the room description more carefully next time!)
Breakfast was OK considering it was free. Wifi was the best we encountered for speed.
Pool was good, with towells supplied and poolside cabanas.
Little gift shop in the lobby had a good supply of items considering how small it is. Vending machines in the hallway near the laundry were plentiful and well stocked. Location is good, my only concern was the lack of eateries in waking distance. However the Pizza from the delivery service menus in the room was excellent.
Guest laundry was also the best we came across all trip. Lost of machines in good condition.
Security is excellent with card access for all buildings and car park.
The only dissappointment was the charge for car parking, $13. Sure, it doesnt break the bank, but detracts from what was a great stay.
I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel if travelling to San Diego.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry00seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing a review on Trip Advisor of your recent stay at our hotel. Amanda is a star, along with the rest of the front desk staff. They take their jobs very serious and it means a lot to them when they get such great reviews from our guests. It is great to hear that you found our hotel to be accommodating to your needs and that we hit the mark for you and your family during your 3-week vacation. I hope you were all able to experience all the wonderful sites San Diego has to offer while you were in town, especially with the hotel being in such a great location for easy access to most of the attractions. On behalf of my staff and I we look forward to you next trip to our area and hope that you had a wonderful holiday. Happy New Year!

Todd Capizzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for nearly two weeks while in town for business. This hotel is very nice. The hotel is located VERY close to I-8, yet, even while standing in the parking lot seems like a more suburban quiet area. The hotel is centrally located so you are literally never more than maybe 20 minutes away from anything in San Diego. There are multiple shopping areas and restaurants nearby.

The hotel has a good variety of hot and cold breakfast items daily. The rooms are large and have a large refrigerator, 2 burner cooktop, microwave and dishwasher along with all dishes and utensils.
The pool looked very nice, maybe i'll try it on my next visit.

Okay, the most important thing at this hotel was the staff. I got to know a good number of the staff by the end of my stay, they all were very pleasant and went out of their way to insure my stay was satisfactory. The staff provided great recommendations for restaurants, shopping, etc. when asked. The staff were all polite and top notch! I know where I'll be staying when I go back to San Diego.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billhein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of my hotel on Trip Advisor for future guests to read. I am pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of the great location of my hotel but also able to take advantage of the quiet property that the hotel is on. We are minutes away from some of San Diego’s best attractions but also offer a quiet retreat to get away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. One of our motto’s here at Residence Inn is “service so memorable” and the staff takes a lot pride in knowing that they are able to accomplish this with our guests. I have shared your review with my staff and they could not be happier to know that they were able to make a difference during your stay. We are looking forward to your next trip out to San Diego and look forward to accommodating you once again.

Happy New Years
Todd Capizzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Hotel Circle/Sea World Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#175 of 278 in San Diego
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley

Address: 1865 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $165 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Mission Valley is in the center of it all! We are an upscale all suite extended stay hotel in San Diego California located only five miles from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and just down the street from Sea World Adventure Park®. From the beaches of Torrey Pines to Belmont and Balboa Parks to the night life of the Downtown Gaslamp Quarter, The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego MissionValley is in the heart of all San Diego! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing