We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Ranked #119 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days to cover Seaworld & Legoland. Quite a comfy hotel & nice beds.

The hotel has free breakfast included which is unlimited & filling. You can easily get past lunchtime with a big breakfast.

Only downside is that the hotel is just off the highway & not many eating places close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CycloneWellywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 356 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

Not only did I get a splendid price on Priceline, the hotel was a real treasure in ammenities and location. The room/studio was extremely clean, quiet and well appointed wit most pleasant furnishings and a very functional kitchenett with cooking and dining supplies. The buffet breakfast was such a bonus as we like a good lumberjack breakfast when on vacation. The attendants greeted us with sincere welcomes as if we were special guests at their own home. More than splendid treatment and a huge buffet that even had rice and oatmeal with three different entres each day. Pool and spa on site. Three restaurants in walking distance and freeway close. Highly enjoyable and recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susansba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We didn't want to drive the whole 2 hours to the zoo in the morning, so I used Pricline and got this property for $71 a night. It's not particularly near the zoo (still 20 minutes of driving) but a huge improvement over getting up at the crack of dawn. Bed was firm, but comfy, room was spacious with full kitchen (including dishes and dishwasher) and a complimentary bag of microwave popcorn. Separate bathroom/vanity sink areas is something I always like. We headed down to the complimentary breakfast to see if it was worth partaking of (or just rudimentary as so many places are) and were pleasantly surprised by the yogurt, oatmeal, waffle station, eggs, sausage, buscuits, etc., etc., etc. They really went out of their way to provide a wide range for many tastes. Totally made the stay a bargain and we will stay there again enroute to SD fun.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoCalTraveller34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Had stayed at this Residence Inn previously, and stayed again in September.

The hotel is excellent for both travel and leisure. Love the location. Very nice pool and very accommodating front desk staff. Nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PageantGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Contractors working on house = Hotel for the week. We had a two bedroom suite on the second floor for only $169/night. Service was excellent. Three kids loved the breakfast buffet every morning. Coffee great, and Starbucks close by. Close freeway access.

I live 4 miles away, but for those visiting San Diego with family, it's an ideal location for several reasons. While it's Inland by 15 minutes, it's situated close to the freeway, and in the middle of everything you might want to do. Only 15 min from downtown, 15 minutes from beach, 20 minutes from Wild Animal Park, 15 minutes from San Diego zoo, 30 minutes from Lego Land.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank previewfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights. Very nice room - 1 bedroom with sleeper sofa and kitchen. The place had a full sized refrigerator, stove, kitchen ware, coffee maker. Room was good sized, very clean. Place was pleasant. The only thing was the sofa bed was a bit saggy and the regular bed was a bit on the hard side (I like a softer sleep). Because my husband snores, he ended up on the sofa bed and it wasn't very comfortable. The breakfast was great - hot food that included eggs, pancakes, waffles as well as oatmeal, cereal, bagels, yogurt, and fruit. We saw at least 6 people with dogs and one morning we heard a dog barking (room next door?). Location is about 30 minutes to Legoland and 20 minutes to Seaworld. We were there for vacation and hockey tournament, only 5 minutes from San Diego ice rink.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Excellent experience with location outside the San Diego congestion. Had a two bedroom suite which slept the extended family. Breakfast was great with eggs, sausage, waffles, and other options. Wish we would have been there on a weekday to take advantage of the complimentary happy hour also. Recommend it highly. Happy travels.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
5.3 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
5.6 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131-5156 (Formerly Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Business Hotel in San Diego
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $131 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay hotel offers 95 Marriott suites each with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens. We offer perfect extended-stay accommodations by combining all the comforts of home, including wireless high speed internet, hot complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool and much more. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, TravelUp, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing