We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I Know, I Know 5 Stars for a Residence Inn?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Ranked #83 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“I Know, I Know 5 Stars for a Residence Inn?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Theoretically, a five star review should be for someplace unique, not a chain hotel. But, this Residence Inn did everything exactly right. It was clean, quiet, well managed. The Manager's name is Derek - he took our reservation on the phone. I guess he deserves the credit for a good "culture" a the property. EVERY employees was friendly, smiling and quick to help- which was almost weird!

The room was colorful and nice, very clean and quiet.

Breakfast was good, but the hoards of people eating like animals was a little of putting. People! How about some manners!

Huge amount of restaurants within one or two miles.

Nit picking:
Bed was hard.
Sausage patties on consecutive days.

Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review! We work very hard to maintain a culture of service and friendliness and we're thrilled that we were able to demonstrate that on your most recent trip. Hopefully we have the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    73
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
156
39
9
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is perfect. the rooms are large and the area is very safe. Easy access to sea world and the beaches. Lots of food locations and it is near the mall. The staff is very friendly too. This will definitely be a top choice for our visits to this area. great for families.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for the "great" review title. We always strive to be great and are thrilled that you and your family found our hotel to be such a good fit. We love our location and always enjoy hearing that guests do too. Please come visit us again.

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here with a youth water polo team, visiting San Diego for a tournament. The hotel is located close to a freeway(but far enough away to avoid noise) in a relatively non-congested part of town, giving us access to La Jolla, University City, Balboa Park, all without traffic jams. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast is more expansive than at some other comparable "Inn" families and includes hot offerings with eggs, sausages, and a wide assortment of fruit, cereal, bread and pastries, yoghurt. And, unlike some of their competitors, they keep the breakfast station well stocked. Also, juice and coffee are available 24 hours. The pool is small but pleasant and the Jacuzzi works fine. The lounge is pleasant, wifi is functional throughout. I think this is better value than cheaper motels that give you just a small room, and much less expensive (with more amenities) than hotels in the resort areas of town. As long as you are willing to drive to get where you are headed in San Diego, this is a great way to go!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jf002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
HI and thank you for the 5-star review! As a brand and as individual properties we strive to provide a balance of amenities and value. We are delighted that our style and level of service fit your needs so well and that you had a great stay. Thanks again.

Please come see us again the next time you're in San Diego!

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at this property. Everything was nice, staff, breakfast, beautiful room, good location, but except for one very important thing to us, the bathroom. As I said, everything was perfect until we had a problem with many little insects crawling in the bathroom, they were everywhere, in the bath, in the sink, on the wall, even in our bed.

After complaining, we changed room, but saw few insects again in the other room too.
We are very sorry to have to report this thing here, hoping that it will be resolve. We did not have this problem in all the hotels where we stayed during our stay in beautiful San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank subway_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience while visiting our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us as we feel it is one more way for us to know how we are doing and to correct the things that need attention. I am truly sorry to learn that your stay was less than perfect. I will follow through by sharing your comments with the entire staff to help improve our service levels for you and future guests.
Again, thank you for your generosity in taking the time by giving us this feedback as it serves as a tool for further enhancement of our services and accommodations.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel before starting our long drive home. It was very clean, comfortable and the breakfast was good. Derek was at the front desk and made us feel welcomed. He was very friendly & helpful! We would definitely stay here if ever in San Diego again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasGirl3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review! Our team is committed to making our guests' stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We value your feedback, and are grateful for the recognition you placed on the staff. We hope you'll come back and visit soon.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earthangel_376
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights while on vacation. It's nice to have a place with a good size refrigerator and fully stocked small kitchen, especially when travelling with 2 toddlers. The staff was very friendly - everyone you saw in the hallways greeted you with a smile & a "hello" or "goodmorning". We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite that had a pull-out couch in the living area. Our room was cleaned daily & our used towles were also replaced daily.

We especially liked the breakfasts & simple dinners (offered M-F with both white & red wine & beer on tap), which helped us save quite a bit of money. Breakfast options were plentiful: muffins, bagels, toast, english muffins, cold cereal, milk, yogurt, oatmeal w/ toppings, make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes, canadian ham, sausage, breakfast burritos, & even steamed white rice with your choice of japanese rice seasoning. We experienced 2 nights of dinners - meat filled ravioli & salad one night, and soup (creamy potato & bacon soup and tortilla soup, bothe very delicious) plus salad the other night. We saw that other nights offered meatloaf, bbq, among others.

The pool was pretty nice too. A small pool that only goes to 5 ft and a whirlpool. Both were sufficient for our family & our kids had alot of fun enjoying it.

The location was also very convenient - right off of hwy 15 and 20 min from san diego airport (depending on traffic), 20 min from balboa park, 30 min from legoland, 30 min from san diego safari park. There are also 2 strip malls just up the street (away from hwy 15) that has a grocery store, sushi, frozen yogurt, donuts, subway, mcdonalds, pizza, etc.

All in all we were very pleased with our stay here and would definately visit again.

Room Tip: I would choose a room facing away from the pool. The kids using the pool in the afternoon can get q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earthangel_376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We value our guest's comments, and were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we get a chance to serve you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Herrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

After having a miserable experience at the Hampton Inn in Sherman Oaks (Los Angeles), I was pleasantly surprised -- and relieved -- when we arrived at this hotel for a three-night stay. The staff was great, the rooms were big and clean and the free breakfast was a big hit with our kids. If you're traveling in the San Diego area, I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
MPSCalifornia,

Thank you for your review! It's comforting to know we were able to help save your vacation! Sometimes it can be such a relief to find a hotel where you can actually relax!

Thank you for the recommendation and for staying with us with your family.

Best Wishes,

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
5.3 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131-5156 (Formerly Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Business Hotel in San Diego
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay hotel offers 95 Marriott suites each with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens. We offer perfect extended-stay accommodations by combining all the comforts of home, including wireless high speed internet, hot complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool and much more. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing