We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Ranked #89 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel before starting our long drive home. It was very clean, comfortable and the breakfast was good. Derek was at the front desk and made us feel welcomed. He was very friendly & helpful! We would definitely stay here if ever in San Diego again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasGirl3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review! Our team is committed to making our guests' stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We value your feedback, and are grateful for the recognition you placed on the staff. We hope you'll come back and visit soon.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    79
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
167
40
11
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
earthangel_376
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights while on vacation. It's nice to have a place with a good size refrigerator and fully stocked small kitchen, especially when travelling with 2 toddlers. The staff was very friendly - everyone you saw in the hallways greeted you with a smile & a "hello" or "goodmorning". We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite that had a pull-out couch in the living area. Our room was cleaned daily & our used towles were also replaced daily.

We especially liked the breakfasts & simple dinners (offered M-F with both white & red wine & beer on tap), which helped us save quite a bit of money. Breakfast options were plentiful: muffins, bagels, toast, english muffins, cold cereal, milk, yogurt, oatmeal w/ toppings, make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes, canadian ham, sausage, breakfast burritos, & even steamed white rice with your choice of japanese rice seasoning. We experienced 2 nights of dinners - meat filled ravioli & salad one night, and soup (creamy potato & bacon soup and tortilla soup, bothe very delicious) plus salad the other night. We saw that other nights offered meatloaf, bbq, among others.

The pool was pretty nice too. A small pool that only goes to 5 ft and a whirlpool. Both were sufficient for our family & our kids had alot of fun enjoying it.

The location was also very convenient - right off of hwy 15 and 20 min from san diego airport (depending on traffic), 20 min from balboa park, 30 min from legoland, 30 min from san diego safari park. There are also 2 strip malls just up the street (away from hwy 15) that has a grocery store, sushi, frozen yogurt, donuts, subway, mcdonalds, pizza, etc.

All in all we were very pleased with our stay here and would definately visit again.

Room Tip: I would choose a room facing away from the pool. The kids using the pool in the afternoon can get q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earthangel_376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We value our guest's comments, and were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we get a chance to serve you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Herrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

After having a miserable experience at the Hampton Inn in Sherman Oaks (Los Angeles), I was pleasantly surprised -- and relieved -- when we arrived at this hotel for a three-night stay. The staff was great, the rooms were big and clean and the free breakfast was a big hit with our kids. If you're traveling in the San Diego area, I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
MPSCalifornia,

Thank you for your review! It's comforting to know we were able to help save your vacation! Sometimes it can be such a relief to find a hotel where you can actually relax!

Thank you for the recommendation and for staying with us with your family.

Best Wishes,

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipahu
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

While we understand the Aloha Spirit being from Hawaii...it felt as if we never left home! The staff's service with a smile from every single employee was beyond what any hotel has ever offered. Whatever we requested within reason...they found a way to make it work. I am partially reluctant to share this as I don't want others to flock here in the future!!!!!!! Excellent!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Garrett M,

Thank you very much for your review. Our staff tries very hard to show each and every guest our best service and sometimes the "aloha spirit" can be infectious as well.

We truly enjoy hosting your group each year and we hope to see you again next year!

Thank you again!

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We arrived July 27th and stayed six nights. We visited La Jolla, Torrey Pines, the zoo, Sea World and Misson Bay and we were never more than 20 minutes away. We actually enjoyed getting out of the busy city. The breakfast and week night light dinners were cost saving and good! The entire hotel staff was friendly. Grocery store less than two minutes away, couple good restaurants in walking distance. Plenty of shopping and dining one exit away. I rely on Trip Advisor and I wanted to be sure to recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Area around the bed in the queen bedroom a bit tight. Person using the pull out couch must go insid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Joann864,

Thank you for reviewing us and commenting on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable. Luckily we are far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown area yet close enough to enjoy everything San Diego is known for.

We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again during your next trip to San Diego!

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Excellent stay!!! Although a little pricey, it was well worth the money we spent. We had a suite with a kitchenette (fridge, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, dishes, utensils, dish soap, dish cloth, etc.). There was pull-out sofa and then a king bed in another room. There were two tvs (one for bedroom and one for sofa room), a small closet near the door, an eating table for two, a small desk for your computer, free Wi/Fi, and a vanity outside of the bathroom itself. There was tea packets, hot chocolate packets, oranges, apples, and bananas available in the kitchen are all day. Coffee and hot water were also available, however, they were usually cold by evening time (not a big deal). There was a gas station and Wendy's next door. We rented a car so we drove to all the major attractions which were no farther than 30-45 minutes away (i.e. Zoo, Sea World, LEGOLAND, etc.). There were also restaurants and a few Vons grocery stores nearby. Vons let me sign up for their store card to get the "card price" on items which I though was great. The hotel staff were really friendly and polite. There was a pool, small basketball court, barbeque, lounge area outside, and great gym room. They provide a light dinner on Monday to Thursday (such as tortellini and garlic bread with salad, barbequed hot dogs, hamburgers, and chicken burgers, macaroni and cheese with garlic bread). If there was something we needed, we just had to ask (eg/ ice: the staff got me some from the back kitchen, they were also willing to bake me a store pizza in their kitchen since I didn't have a stove with an oven in my first suite). I signed up for their membership program to receive bonuses. All in all, I will definitely stay with them again and highly recommend them!!!

Room Tip: I had to split up my stay so I stayed in two different types of suites. I had a separate bedroom wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmaralFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for the wonderful review you shared on TripAdvisor. Our professional and friendly team is committed to making our guests' stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We value your feedback, and are grateful for the recognition you placed on our devoted staff and quality accommodations. If ever you're in the area again, we hope you'll come back and visit us!

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Brilliant place to stay and discover San Diego. Really great staff that do all they can to make your stay enjoyable. This provided us a home away from home for a month. The breakfast is good and during the week there is the added extra of a light complimentary snack. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I'd like to personally thank you for the kind review on TripAdvisor! We know you have a variety of hotels to choose from when staying in the San Diego area, and are excited you decided to stay with us. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
5.2 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Miramar
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131-5156 (Formerly Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Business Hotel in San Diego
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay hotel offers 95 Marriott suites each with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens. We offer perfect extended-stay accommodations by combining all the comforts of home, including wireless high speed internet, hot complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool and much more. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing