We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family place !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Ranked #98 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We visited this place based on reviews from TripAdvisor and for sure we were not disappointed. Our short 4 night stay was extremely pleasant & comfortable. Staff is very friendly and amicable. Our requests for extra blanket and pillows were met within 5 minutes of placing a call. There is ample variety of food ( b/fast & dinner{beer & wine} ) available. Lots of amenities , free wi-fi, Tv, electric stove, microwave, fridge, utensils, laundry area, swimming pool, gym & plenty more. The rooms/beds are extremely clean, five stars to the staff for keeping them spotless. All major attractions(Safari park/Sea world/LegoLand) are within 20-25 min. driving distance.Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

P P,

Thank you so much for the positive review and even including some pictures from your visit. We are pleased that we met your expectations and that you recognized our cleanliness. People sometimes think that our location is off the beaten path, but as you pointed out, we are quite central to everything in San Diego!

Thank you for the the review and recommending us to future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 353 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have visited this property several times, and each time the service is better than before. I have been employed in the hospitality industry and am fully aware of how guests should be treated and this property has it down pat. They always greet you with a smile and use your name as if you're their best friend. The breakfast served daily in the lobby is wonderful! It's not just danish & coffee but instead a good variety of hot & cold foods on a rotating basis. A request for an extra pillow for my daughter was delivered within 5 mins!!!! Extordinary! Every employee in the hotel beems with smiles & a heartfelt hello. We have used the pool, excercise room and laundry room and all were in excellent working order as well as tidy & clean. This property is kept VERY neat & clean. Once again we thank you for another woderful stay & we will return again soon! Your Flag family!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Susan H,

Thank you for the glowing review of our hotel! As someone that has been in our industry, we can tell that you have an eye for detail. We especially want to thank you for recognizing our exceptional staff. Most anyone can provide a clean room, but it is our staff that sets us apart.

Thank you again for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

P.s. My family and I will be in Flagstaff in February. We will wave at you as we head up to Snowbowl!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Trent and Derek along with rest of the staff are AWESOME! ALWAYS professional and on point! Every stay is a great experience! Thank You for your positive attitudes and managing a great place to stay! Keep up the Great work!
Abe Aero Inc...Tucson

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wartho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

wartho,

Thank you so much for your positive comments about myself, Derek (our AGM), and most importantly, our staff. We are pleased that you (and your coworkers) have a great experience every stay. We will definitely share these comments with our staff and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Due to a flood in our home, we needed to move out during construction. This hotel was close to our home and provided a full kitchen. We ended up staying at this hotel for 3 full months. We cannot say enough good things about this hotel, the staff, and its amenities. Our 2 bedroom room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Having dinner prepared for us 4 nights a week was especially welcomed. The daily breakfast buffet had a variety of choices and was excellent. The full kitchen allowed us to prepare any meals needed. Laundry facilities, onsite gym, pool, jacuzzi, and a homey atmosphere were all welcomed. The location has easy access to the freeway and local shopping. I would recommend this hotel for both short and longer stays.

Room Tip: Rooms are generally sound proof but top floors do not hear any noise from room above.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Larry M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Difficult circumstances such as floods or fires often bring guests like you to our property, and we enjoyed welcoming you to our extended family. We are glad to hear we helped keep life somewhat "normal" while you were displaced. While sad to see you leave, we are glad that you are back home and would recommend our hotel.

Keep in touch!

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on a relocation for almost 60 days during Oct-Nov 2012. I must say the staff at this hotel are amazing! They are very nice and welcoming to all guests. Also an added bonus, the hotel serves a complimentary breakfast and dinner. In the evening from 5:30-7:30pm they also serve complimentary beer and wine. This hotel also accepts pets. The hotel is well kept inside and out and is right off 15 freeway. If you are relocating or planning on staying in a hotel for a lengthy time frame I would highly recommend this location.

Room Tip: I stayed on 4th floor right by elevator and room was very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

robert c,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recognize our staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed our social hour Monday through Thursday and our daily breakfast. We are indeed ideal for extended stays and welcome our short term guests as well.

Thanks you again for the positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have to say that this hotel is far superior to any other hotels I stay at in and outside of the San Diego area. Being a frequent business traveler, I am staying in a hotel 90% of the time and have experienced many different brands and types of hotels - both very expensive and very well priced. The hotel staff and management here is the best I have come across - they will truly go out of their way to ensure the guest is taken care of. The property is very well maintained, rooms are very nice, the dinners are great, location is excellent and other travelers are very considerate and friendly. Out of all the different hotels I have stayed at in San Diego, I now default to this hotel. Great job to all hotel staff members for building and maintaining an environment that continues to draw people to the hotel time and time again and for always going that extra mile that makes all the difference. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to family and friends!!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank holtrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

lovetoskico,

Thank you very much for the review and recognizing our staff! We have a mission to provide the best experience possible to our guests. We know business travel is stressful and we make every attempt to help you mitigate that stress.

Thank you again for your positive comments! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was so thankful that my boyfriend booked this place for our short last minute vacation in California.
The location was great, next to a major highway, and was a midpoint between all of our travel destinations north and south.

For the amount of standard/free amenities given, the value for the suite was awesome!

1) Free breakfast everyday -
Cereal, oatmeal station, waffle maker & batter, pancakes, hashbrowns, potatoes, canadian bacon, bacon, sausage, eggs (cooked in different ways), bagels, muffins, coffee, tea, juice, milk, yogurt, and white rice & miso soup ingredients! Enough variety to make breakfast different everyday!

2) Free dinner everyday -
We did not partake in this because we were normally out for dinner, but there was a schedule on the refrigerator letting us know what "theme" they had for dinner for which day.

3) Free wi-fi is always good.

4) Don't have to pay for parking (unlike the downtown San Diego hotels).

5) Fitness Center (24 hrs), pool, basketball court, and patio outside.

6) Nearby restaurants walking distance from the hotel.

7) Suite included a full kitchen! (Fridge & freezer, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, sink, cabinet, cutlery, dishes, dish washiing soap, etc.) The only thing NOT there was an oven haha

8) There were many more amenities listed on the fridge we did not use, but were surprised that these services were available: Coin-op laundry facilities, dry cleaning pick-up/drop off, & grocery shopping.

There was a variety of people here. Tourists, families, and business people were eating free breakfast every morning in the large lounge area. This is a great place for anyone.

If we decide to vacation in the San Diego area again, we are definitely coming back here = ) !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaysiah-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Kaysiah-chan,

Thank you for the very detailed review! We love senior contributor reviews because we know you have an eye for detail. Your photos and detailed descriptions confirm that. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit.

Happy travels!

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
5.3 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131-5156 (Formerly Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Business Hotel in San Diego
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $161 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay hotel offers 95 Marriott suites each with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens. We offer perfect extended-stay accommodations by combining all the comforts of home, including wireless high speed internet, hot complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool and much more. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing