We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Ranked #115 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was so thankful that my boyfriend booked this place for our short last minute vacation in California.
The location was great, next to a major highway, and was a midpoint between all of our travel destinations north and south.

For the amount of standard/free amenities given, the value for the suite was awesome!

1) Free breakfast everyday -
Cereal, oatmeal station, waffle maker & batter, pancakes, hashbrowns, potatoes, canadian bacon, bacon, sausage, eggs (cooked in different ways), bagels, muffins, coffee, tea, juice, milk, yogurt, and white rice & miso soup ingredients! Enough variety to make breakfast different everyday!

2) Free dinner everyday -
We did not partake in this because we were normally out for dinner, but there was a schedule on the refrigerator letting us know what "theme" they had for dinner for which day.

3) Free wi-fi is always good.

4) Don't have to pay for parking (unlike the downtown San Diego hotels).

5) Fitness Center (24 hrs), pool, basketball court, and patio outside.

6) Nearby restaurants walking distance from the hotel.

7) Suite included a full kitchen! (Fridge & freezer, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, sink, cabinet, cutlery, dishes, dish washiing soap, etc.) The only thing NOT there was an oven haha

8) There were many more amenities listed on the fridge we did not use, but were surprised that these services were available: Coin-op laundry facilities, dry cleaning pick-up/drop off, & grocery shopping.

There was a variety of people here. Tourists, families, and business people were eating free breakfast every morning in the large lounge area. This is a great place for anyone.

If we decide to vacation in the San Diego area again, we are definitely coming back here = ) !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaysiah-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Kaysiah-chan,

Thank you for the very detailed review! We love senior contributor reviews because we know you have an eye for detail. Your photos and detailed descriptions confirm that. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit.

Happy travels!

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 356 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for almost a week and it was really nice to be in a place that almost felt like home. The beds were comfortable, the evening reception (M-Th) offered a great variety of foods and drinks, the breakfast offering was very complete with a different "main" course offering each morning. This hotel is close to San Diego and the beaches so it is ideal for business or pleasure. The staff was very friendly and anxious to please. All in all a great place to stay in this area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite with a bedroom separate from the living room/kitchen area. This was nice since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TucsonHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

TucsonHikers,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. As a TripAdvisor "Senior Contributor" with 25 reviews in 16 cities, we can tell that you know good service and offerings when you see them. It was our pleasure to serve you during this trip and we look forward to welcoming you back in future travels.

Warm Regards,

Trent Selbrede, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel greatly exceeds our expectations. All employees from management to the support staff are personable, courteous and customer service oriented. The rooms are clean, comfortable and recently redecorated. We appreciate the complimentary breakfast and especially the complimentary weekday dinners, which include beer and wine. One staff member in particular, "Maria", goes above and beyond to make sure we are totally satisfied and well cared for. She is a gem! We have been staying here for 2 months, and if we can't be at home, this is the place we choose to stay.

Room Tip: Because we check in every Monday, we have stayed in many different rooms. All have been completely s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Brenda C,

Thank you so much for the positive comments regarding your stay(s). Also, thank you for recognizing Maria's service during breakfast and social hour. We feel that our property is great, but it is our staff that makes the greatest impact on your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel, was very pleased with my overall stay, very clean rooms and nice beds will definetely recommend anyone visting town to stay at this hotel, price was also not bad at all. Also the staff was very helpfull in suggesting me good places for dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LORI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Lori K,

Thank you for your positive comments and your recognition of our staff service. We enjoy letting people know about the great dining options we have here in our area beyond the typical chain options.

We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My sons took me to the Miramar Air Show on Saturday October 13. My two oldest grandsons got to go with us (the whole reason it was so great). They are almost 2 and almost 7 years old. We stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn Scripps Poway. The suite was perfect for us all. The young one slept great just around the bedroom wall from us. We loved the kitchenette, the breakfast, the pool and spa, and the restaurants right next door to the hotel. The beds were wonderful, the bathroom seemed all brand new, and everything worked perfect. Internet, Flat panel TV (two sets).

Room Tip: Tip the breakfast servers, they may look busy, but they take great care of us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBBigBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

PBBigBear,

Thank you for the great review! We are pleased you enjoyed the suite layout and other amenities. We want to especially thank you for recognizing our breakfast staff. Many rooms are similar but we believe our staff set us apart.

Please look us up on your next visit to San Diego!

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great hotel for the family, Staff was super friendly and allowed us to check in early 2hrs. Got the one room suite, kids stayed in the living room on the pullout sofa bed (which was pretty comfortable) the room had very nice setup and decor. Breakfast was good (nothing special) seating was nice for the fact, I could sit down (problem with other hotels was small eating area) Location just off the 15 freeway, a little north of San Diego ( this is my only compliant, but it made up in not pay resort fees or parking fees). Loved it and will be the hotel we stay at for are yearly San Diego trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wasco2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Wasco2go,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay. Although we are not downtown, we are central to all San Diego attractions. We like so say "we are about 20 minutes from almost anythiing in San Diego!".

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located off a major freeway so going anywhere is very easy. The hotel itself is very nice, the rooms very comfortable. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel to families visiting the San Diego area.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aries808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Aries808,

Thank you so much for your review! It appears you are an avid traveler and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. Also, thank you for taking the time to recognize our friendly staff. They are the key to a great experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

-Trent Selbrede, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
5.3 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
5.6 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131-5156 (Formerly Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Business Hotel in San Diego
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $129 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay hotel offers 95 Marriott suites each with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens. We offer perfect extended-stay accommodations by combining all the comforts of home, including wireless high speed internet, hot complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool and much more. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing