We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Old Point Loma Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$349.00*
and up
Guided Jet Ski Tour in San Diego
More Info
$63.72*
and up
San Diego GoCar Tour
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Classic Sailboat Harbor Morning Cruise
Ranked #20 of 435 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grand Rapids
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My brother had told us to be sure and visit. In fact, we went out there three times. The views are breathtaking and the cemetery is something to see for sure.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    389
    70
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

WOW we loved this romantic spot, we wore our camera out lol. A romantic spot to take in all the views this gym has to offer!
We will be back 2014

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank WSJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lighthouse lookout”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a great vantage point to see the Naval base and the lighthouse museum was great. You can look all around the shoreline. We saw a Naval submarine leave the base with 2 escort ships very cool!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I like seeing lighthouses wherever we go. This was very interesting how it's the top of the house...makes sense to be so handy during the night hours though. Rooms in the lighthouse were wonderfully furnished. Museum next to it was very informative. Great location and great view too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
624 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“A glimpse of life in a lighthouse”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

You get a decent glimpse of what it must have been like for the keeper and teir family to live in this small space. Placards explain some of the work necessary to maintain the light. It is not functioning as a light house today. The tower to the light is only open 2 days a year. There is a copy of the light on display in the keeper's assistant quarters nearby. A hands on light display intending to show how the lenses magnify and focus the light was not working while we were there. The bulb was missing. Great views are a short walk down from the lighthouse, with explanatory stations that give interesting information on sea life and plants, and the impact of climate change.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pkrissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Point Loma Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Old Point Loma Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing