We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 San Diego Hotel Circle
Ranked #209 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is an older hotel. My room (one queen bed) was small - barely enough room to walk around the bed. The wall-mounted a/c unit is right next to the bed (and your head), with limited control options; it's old and noisy (but then, so am I). It's not the kind of room where you want to linger & lounge.
The property is squeezed in a crowded area of hotel circle. But the location was very handy. The rates were good. The bathroom was clean, and spacious enough. The water was hot, the amenities good (I hate that gooey super-sweet smelling shampoo). We were arriving late & leaving early, and needed a basic, predictable, inexpensive place to sleep. For that, it fit the bill.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwerty818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 928 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked this hotel as a package through our national airline last year just after the name change so we couldn't find any reviews at the time so we accepted that being a Quality Inn the level of accommodations would be adequate for a few nights stay.

On arrival we were checked in by an unhelpful man hidden behind a thick plastic/glass security wall which was the first sign things might not be so good. Once we got to our room it was tidy looking but after a few minutes of our 1 year old crawling around on the carpet her hands and knees were black with filth (also the bottom of our feet were black).

The air conditioning was very noisy which is fine if it's cooling the room but this wasn't the case and we had 2 very uncomfortable nights. On both nights there were lots of people hanging around outside in the carpark and a few very much looked like working girls which made the place feel unsafe especially with 2 young kids.

The only real redeeming features were the complimentary breakfast which we enjoyed each morning and the location which is handy to the local attractions and shops.

Room Tip: A room at any other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I got a really good deal otherwise this review wouldn't be very positive at all. Let us start with the service

Service: The manager of the place is incredible. She really went out of her way in terms of helping me get a room over the weekend and then later dealing with an issue with the loss of my iphone (not at the property). Unfortunately, this was offset by the kid who works the third shift and couldn't have been more ambivalent to the fact my iphone was just left in a taxi and I needed help. One day I tried calling the property from the beach seven times to extend my stay and each time it rang about a dozen times then went dead. Again, the manager is wonderful and it is VERY obvious she is trying to make improvements in regards to the phone system as well as customer service.

Rooms: Wow is all I can say. The room I was in was so small that my height/weight of 5'8, 160lbs wouldn't enable me to walk to the bathroom as there was less then a foot between the bed and the side table. I had to literally get on the bed then jump off to go into the bathroom which was ok. The toilet when flushed would run forever and while maintenance came in the first day and supposedly fixed it, it still ran. The TV is an LCD up on the wall. The bed was nice and comfortable and very clean. Again, the size of the room will really really throw some people off if checking in.

There is no pool which is a major drawback if you are here to lounge around a pool. There are few economical options for dining in the area.

Review:

Pros: managers customer service, breakfast, clean rooms, comfortable bed, parking (plenty of it), and wifi works well.

Cons: size of the room is so small it is almost indescribable (nothing the hotel can do about this as the building is really old). The rooms are older with a lot of outdated furniture. Customer service of the third shift guy. Unable to get ahold of them via phone (if i rated the entire service of the property on the dealings with the manager it would be 5 stars in this area but unfortunately she was not the only one I dealt with in-person or via the phone.

Would I stay there again? Possibly. The manager was soooooo courteous, welcoming, and personified the way customer service used to be.

Room Tip: As for a room with two beds but expect to pay more and justifiably so when compared to the single be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderingtheworld200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This particular hotel is on Hotel Circle, easy access off the freeway and close to all attractions. Room was clean, well presented, easy check in and check out, breakfast bar was good, well stocked, well presented. Staff was nice and courteous and friendly. Rates were good and convenient.

Room Tip: Good size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our room was the size of a closet. No Microwave No refridgerater as requested. We stayed two Night and it was a very noisy place. Will not be staying there again. The parking was worse than the food they called breakfast.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We traveled by car for the whole west coast of the USA and the Quality Inn was the best option in all over the places, but in San Diego was a surprise, the Hotel looks like an expensive hotel and it is only 69 dollars in a room with 2 queen beds...very clean, elevator, amazing services...you have to pay for parking 10 dollars but worth anyway

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamsayuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just came out of our worst experience of Hotel Stay in US. It not only spoilt our much awaited vacation but has shaken our faith on Choice hotels.
Me and my fried made 2 reservations and both of us had to undergo same nuisance for 3 days.
As we have small kids , While booking the hotel we requested a Microwave in our room.We were committed for the microwave but while reaching the hotel we found that not only Microwave but even Coffee maker was missing from the room. Person at reception had no idea how to deal with it. He promised to arrange for one in next few hrs but could not do so for next 3 days. He kept saying that his maintenance staff is not cooperating with him.
During the first night itself ,Air Conditioner did not work for whole night and Worked intermittent for next 2 nights. Once again no one came to fix the issue but we were told that there might be some issue with wiring or power load issue as hotel was fully booked.
Air Conditioner was coming out of window fixture and highly unsafe to stay with children. One can easily look into the room from outside due to gaps in the AC and window.
Our Room's Door magnetic Card worked intermittently and every evening we had to go to reception to get it fixed. As usual , they don’t have any reason for it.
There was huge queues during Breakfast time and single lady in the Kitchen was unable to handle the rush. Queue in the counter were bigger than queues in Disney
Manager during checkout was rude and kept smiling when we mentioned about our exp. Staff seemed to be least bothered to listen to the customer (not even pretending). We mentioned that we will be lodging a complaint but there was hardly any response to that and person handed over our receipt to us and turned back to his work.

With the kind of experience we had, I don’t think we are going to choose or recommend any of the Choice Hotels to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satyender S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#163 of 279 in San Diego
194 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#233 of 279 in San Diego
1,334 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#141 of 279 in San Diego
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Diego Hotel Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Diego Hotel Circle

Address: 445 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3402 (Formerly Quality Inn SeaWorld Zoo Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $55 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Diego Hotel Circle 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 San Diego Hotel Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - San Diego / Sea World And Zoo Area
Super 8 Motel - San Diego / Sea World & Zoo Area Hotel San Diego
Super 8 San Diego
Super Eight San Diego
San Diego Super 8
San Diego Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing