We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Clean Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor
Ranked #179 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gardena, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Clean Comfortable”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The decor was pleasant and the staff was friendly and attentive. Pillowtop mattresses, updated decor. Reasonble sized room, small bathroom. Continental breakfast. Free but very limited parking. Free Wi-Fi. Close to restaurants, harbor and other retail. Would defintely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athmanager, Manager at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
The staff and I thank you for the kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
The Point Loma area is a very good location. The sportsfishing docks are just accross the street and we are within walking distance to a variety of restaurants and Shelter Island.
The pillowtop mattresses are very comfortable.
We look forward to your next visit to this area.

Thank you

A J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    75
    44
    31
    20
See reviews for
43
88
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I was in San Diego for a working trip in May. Coming from Singapore and having just stayed 4 days at Park Hyatt, this inn was a bit of a shock. Its a scene from Hollywood movie. The whole area is very open. Anyone can walk in and out of the compound. I did not feel safe at all when I first arrived. The room is very basic, clean and a bit small. The location is very NEAR the airport and a ride on Supershuttle pick-up to Airport will only cost $ 5 before tips. If you have a car, it is easy to get to anywhere. I did not hear any sound from aeroplanes. I also did not hear a sound from the slamming of door since my room was just next to the breakfast room. Apparently my room was facing a small road. I heard other guests complaining of noise coming from traffic. Breakfast is not impressive. Imagine my surprise that I was charged insurance $2 per day for using the room safe which I did not use! Have you ever stay at an inn or motel that charges insurance for usage of room safe? Think about it! Staff were friendly which is a plus. I will only recommend this Inn if you need to stay near the airport and if you are not a solo traveller.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athmanager, Manager at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Thank you for the valuable feedback. We are in the process of updating our breakfast items. We have added blueberry waffles along with other tasty items.
I hope you stay with us in the future.

Thank you,

A J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

STAFF: AJ very hospitable & welcoming. Would stay again.
ROOMS: older hotel. Good value. Everything we needed. Wifi, breakfast, free parking. Squeaky floors & bed (luckily we were on top floor). Only small people would fit in shower door (compact bathroom). Nice having separate room for luggage.
LOCATION: Point Loma is a boat lovers dream spot. Over the hill to Ocean Beach. Cabrillo Nat Monument open to 5pm - $5/car.
FOOD: Miguel’s Mexican – sickly sweet cocktails w/o alcohol, free starter but made us remember why we don’t like Mexican Food:{

Room Tip: Ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0ve2Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athmanager, Manager at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
The staff and I are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to make everyone feel welcomed.
The shower doors are a bit small. Our plans in the near future are to update the bathroom which includes opening the shower area.
We hope to see you on your next trip to San Diego.

Thank you,

A J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
209 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We reserved a Snooze and Cruise one night room with parking for a week. Great value at $139. Their shuttle service to port was excellent and on time both ways. Front staff was patient with guests and answered questions well. Small area for parking, but we didn't have a problem.
What's good...right on the SD harbor, good front desk staff, nice cruise plan/stay provided with excellent service with their contract with shuttle service.
Not so fine...room and bathroom tiny, extra couch unsleepable pulled out, so slept on top, not comfy either, and too short. Pretty standard, but if you want the cruise plan, it's helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athmanager, Manager at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Our cruise and snooze package has been working out great. We are always looking for ways to make the package easier for our guest. Your feedback is very helpful. On your next cruise out of San Diego, I hope you consider staying with us again.

Thank you

A J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed here 4 nights during comic-con and enjoyed it. The manager and staff was nice and really helpfull. When ever we needed a taxi the manager took care of it. The breakfast was good. You can tell they have spent alot of money remodeling this place. Didn't hear much street noise at all. I wish there was alittle bit more space in the room around the desk and fridge area but everything else great and we will probably stay there agian next time were in San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athmanager, Manager at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Thank you for the kind words. The sound proof doors and windows have certainly made a difference with outside noise. It's almost that time again for Comic Con. I hope to see you this year.

Thank you

A J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Everything about the room was satisfying. The check in with "AJ" was excellent as he was very courteous and helpful in questions we had. The only complaint from the stay was when we proceeded to check out we got a "don't care to talk to you just goodbye" attitude from "AJA" the front desk clerk. We weren't even being over spoken , just small talk where the clerk proceeded to reply to every question or statement with a few words then didn't seem to want to talk at all. I said I was checking out, all she did was ask for the room # then set "ok you're good" and no thank you or hope your enjoyed your stay or anything. Seemed a very rude attitude when I expect the employee to be trained in wanting to make the guests come back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDballer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athmanager, Manager at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Please accept my sincere apology for the behavior of the front desk agent at check-out. The principal goal of our hotel is provide dependable service to all guests and make all feel welcome.
I am happy that your check-in was good and hopefully that will bring you back to our hotel in the near future.
Again, please accept my sincere apology. On your next visit to San Diego, please give us the opportunity to make things right.

A J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed at the Comfort in for 2 nights during a day trip to San Diego. The outside of the hotel was a little shabby. We were greeted by a friendly CSR. He was very helpful w/info and getting us checked in.

Our room was adequate and clean. The remote didn't work well.

We did a day tour in San Diego and decided that we were too tired to return back to Los Angeles. So, we reserved another night. We were able to do so at the same rate as the night before which was a prepaid rate.

Our second room seemed larger and nicer. Had problems w/the heat but it wasn't a huge problem.

Overall, very good stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEGrayNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athmanager, Manager at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
I am pleased that we were able to give you the same rate on your second stay with us.
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience from the remote/heat not working in your room.
The next time you are in San Diego, please give me a call directly for the best available rate.
Thank you for staying with us.

A J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ramada San Diego Airport
#138 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#183 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#112 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor

Property: Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor
Address: 5102 N Harbor Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-2356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of San Diego's most convenient hotels, the Comfort Inn At The Harbor, just one mile north of the San Diego International Airport. This San Diego, CA hotel is centrally located near many popular destinations, including Sea World San Diego marine life adventure park, historic Old Town San Diego, the San Diego Zoo , Mission Beach and Ocean Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn At The Harbor Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing