We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice flavors”

Flavors of East Africa
Ranked #912 of 4,770 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: African
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“very nice flavors”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

just saw the place and thought it would be a nice spot try. We were correct. Loved the spicy jerk chicken, and the wife said the lamb was some of the best she has had. Will be sure to return for more before too long.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2duane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing flavors. Can have this everyday”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Been here 3x and twice just this June with friends and family ages 8-65.so flavorful, organic, local ingredients. We all loved it and went back a week later. Must have: spicy jerk chicken, chicken curry, lentils, collard greens, lamb and sambusas just to name a few

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agellert69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique, tasty, and affordable”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place is one of my favorite spots in San Diego. I remember when they were only found at the farmers market in Hillcrest. For under $15, you can eat a wonderful meal whether you like fish, meat, or even gluten-free and vegan. I love the hominy and the collard greens are absolutely delicious. The sambusas are wonderful, but my favorite thing about this restaurant is the mambazi (the Kenyan fried donuts) delicious with flavors of vanilla and cardamom. This place is definitely worth stopping at. Ethiopian food is easy to find in SD, but this Kenyan place is one of a kind.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank always_sunny_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting and Different”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Be sure to have their home made Root Beer, made with their special brew of roots.
African food tends to be stewed or cooked for a long time, so keep wit the stews and curries -which do better with longer cooking - and avoid the roasts and chops, which dry out. Wit this approach, there are a lot of iterating edibles on the menu. The eggplant is an especially good side, ad we liked the coconut samosas and the lentil-encrusted plantains.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoGayGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this place.. We tried the sambusas (spicy beef, chicken and spinach) and they were delicious.. as they are deep fried (similar to an Indian samosa) they were slightly oily in case you are watching your calories.. The portion size of the entrees were large with two sides and a bread/rice. We opted for the chicken curry with chapati and sombe (mixture of spinach and some other green veggies, which you can easily pass) and their specialty lamb curry with rice and yellow lentils. Both the chicken and lamb were very well done and extremely flavorful. The pumpkin-pie-like dessert that we tried could have been better though but you should definitely try their house-made drinks..!! The decor is pretty simple and the place is next to another eating joint and a car repair shop. In case you are looking for a fancy place this is not it. But if you want something different than your regular meal feel free to give this a try..

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank supramuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavors of East Africa also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Flavors of East Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing