We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour and really good sushi next to Petco Park”
Review of The Dragon's Den

The Dragon's Den
Ranked #1,062 of 4,804 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour and really good sushi next to Petco Park”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place has great Happy Hour as well as really fresh sushi. I like to sit outside in the patio. It is right next to Petco Park, you can see the Jumbotron from the patio and they have two flat-screens outside with a 5 second delay. So after you hear the roar of the crowd you can check out the action on the TV's to see what all the fuss is about. I had the Hot Top Roll which is actually deep-fried and quite delicious. I also had the Yellowtail and Dragon's Roll. They have a pretty varied menu with lots of choices. They also have 2 tables with 2 kegs inside of them that you can pour your own beer and pay by meter, so pour half a pint, you pay for half a pint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SurfdogSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sushi without breaking the bank”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Awesome staff, fast service, very good sushi... Especially for the price...I had a party if seven and the waitress was an absolute doll and she made us feel very welcomed..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pour Your Own Beers”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great place to enjoy some small bites and enjoy the easy access where you can pour your own beer. A good place to start your evening out. Great bites include the crispy aromoatic duck and the boiled pork and chive dumplings.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Sushi with Brown Rice. Hmm.”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

After a long day at Comic-Con, my geeks and I wanted sushi. Fifth avenue was packed, so we walked a bit further from our hotel on E street. We tried The Dragon's Den. They have the typical sushi menu, no surprises. The ambiance is casual. It was a bit more sports themed than I like in a sushi restaurant, but since it is next door to the baseball stadium, I get the point. We were seated pretty quickly, but since we arrived rather late, the sushi chef had run out of sticky rice with which to make our sushi, and the waiter asked if it was okay if we had brown rice instead. I was skeptical, but we went with it. It was delicious. I don't know how they make the brown rice sticky, but they did, so I don't care. The sushi was decent (spicy tuna cut rolls), the nigori sake tasty, and the beer cold. In the end, I was pleasantly surprised. The waiter even said that if we didn't like the sushi with the brown rice, he would not charge us for it. No need since it was very good. Great service, good times. The geeks approve.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Kenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great East Village Sushi!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I enjoy wandering around downtown to find restaurants for lunch. We happened upon the Dragon's Den and decided to give it a try. We were really impressed with the friendliness of the staff, especially Andrea, our server and Hector, the sushi chef. My husband had a spicy tuna handroll and a Dragon's Den roll. He really liked them both. I had the California roll and it was great. I also tried the green onion pancake but it was a bit too greasy for my liking. We live in Alpine where the sushi is a bit cheaper but we would not hesitate to come back here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hiviolet007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dragon's Den also viewed

 

Been to The Dragon's Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing