We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great microbrew and food”

Ballast Point Brewing & Spirits
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Private San Diego Brewery Tour
Ranked #57 of 430 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
calgary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great microbrew and food”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Late on a friday evening looking for a beer and dinner and we happened to be downtown SD. Ballast had been suggested to us by a trolley driver the previous Sunday at the Hillcrest Farmer's Market so we thought, let's take a look. PACKED but it was after work on a Friday so no big surprise. Circled the room a bit looking for a seat and managed to snag two chairs up against the rail near the brewing tanks. Hubby grabbed the beer and I went and lined up for food. Being hungry now I opted for a cookie right away and ordered a burger and fries for each of us. The cookie was just what we needed to hold us til our food was delivered which was actually only about 20-30 minutes. Didn't seem bad considering how busy the place was. Burger was AWESOME, fries were okay but I'm picky about fries. I had the Longfin Lager and hubby had the Calico Amber Ale, both were tasty and exactly what we were looking for with out dinner. The place was really loud but it was very busy and again boistorous after work friday group so not surprising. Saw lots of couples and big groups so it looks appealing to a big variety of people. Would recommend and would go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank calgaryjetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    44
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little Italy location great!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Just happened upon this place while staying in Little Italy. So convienant walking back from Balboa Park. Good food and the beer is great. Thanks to Amber and staff for making a fellow Alaskan right at home.

Helpful?
Thank amdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Came Here on a Whim!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We came across a parking spot directly in front of their front door, while looking for a spot to park at so we could go over to the Waterfront Bar. We thought it was fate so we walked into Ballast instead. It did not disappoint us at all, whatsoever. We thoroughly enjoyed their fine burgers, fries, bratwurst, & varied assortment of freshly made brews. It was fate that brought us here & it made us happy on our decision to eat & drink at this fine establishment!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sofital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
293 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I wandered across this gem after leaving the Saturday Mercado in Little Italy. It was close to noon, so we stopped in to try some of their craft beers. A great find!

Staff were hugely friendly and freely offered samples to taste before ordering. Todd started with a pint of Calico Amber Ale, then sampled the Calico Pepper Amber Ale (with Guajillos + Ghost peppers = heat). I had a glass of India Pale Ale, then switched to Pumpkin Down (spices + herbs = yummy).

After some beers, we decided it was time to have some food (besides, it was lunchtime….). Great menu at Ballast Point – unique tastes offered. We shared their onion rings (beer battered and huge portion for $5) and the slow-cooked pork sliders (2 burgers with coleslaw served with potato salad for $9). By the time we left, the place was packed with the lunch crowd (a testament on how good it is).

A must visit when in the area!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun place but always crowded”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I really like the beer selection. What I don't like is how the bartenders serve beer. Many times they ignore people at the bar waiting patiently to order. They need some sort of number system. Make it fair for people that don't like getting cut in line. They seriously need to make the space bigger. Often there's no place to stand, sit, or move.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SStalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballast Point Brewing & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Ballast Point Brewing & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing