We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hotel to stay at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Ranked #111 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun hotel to stay at”
Reviewed March 24, 2010

The room was well furnished with a cool design. It was located a little out of the center but everything could be easily reached with a short walk. The rooftop beach patio was a fun place to spend a lazy afternoon. Service was without reproach.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank21961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    542
    295
    146
    98
See reviews for
158
506
158
586
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2010

From the moment we pulled up and checked in the service was excellent, the atmosphere in the Hotel was always buzzing and the staff always friendly and happy to help with a small matter, a special mention for Melissa Humble whom was a complete star helping me in a happy and professional manner always.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBlade22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I always have a great stay at this hotel. The hotel quality and atmosphere is excellent. This last time was exceptional made so by the staff, especially Melissa Humble. i was amazed she remembered me from a stay a couple of months before. She again went above and beyond to make my experience special.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sciphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2010

W San Diego is a terrific all around hotel. The staff is as polite and attentive as the Four Seasons. This is the only hotel outside of that chain that I have found that really knows how to treat customers. I travel to San Diego frequently and am always remembered by the staff. The rooms are cheerful and cozy with all amenities. It is also very quiet - everywhere except the lobby where it is supposed to be vibrant and fun. A special thank you to M. Humble of the staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverWoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skydlimit
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2010

I show up, ask for a humidifier, 'cause I was flying out to San Diego and my nose starts bleeding like I had gotten my [--] whooped by Manny Pacquiao in the ring. I don't mean a trickle, I mean I had gone to the ER a couple days before bleeding.

I go up to the room, and they didn't have one. So, Melissa Humble in the front desk tells me to give them a few minutes. Next thing I know, Lupe in housekeeping went out to buy me a humidifier, AND brings me back some Vicks Vaporub!!!! I LOVE that stuff!!!! It cures EVERYTHING.
I grew up on that, and even had it for dinner on some nights when we were that broke back in the 80's!

As I went to pick up some medication, Melissa offered to have someone on staff pick it up for me! The only reason I declined was 'cause I wanted to feel the warm breeze.
Anyway, the location in great, the room is very nice, plus there's free WIFI if you're platinum.
I have never had a hotel take care of me like this before!
THANKS W!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skydlimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2010

I stay at the W every time I travel to San Diego- for me its perfectly located a little out of the mess of the gaslamp but walking distance to everything- little Italy, the convention stairs (for exercise) and restaurants and convenience stores.

The staff at the hotel (my favorite friendlies are Melissa at the front desk and Eric at the front door/valet) is exceedingly friendly and accomodating. They remember your name, and your preferences and continually make me feel welcome- they genuinely seem happy to see me. It seems there is a club of us that is addicted to their hospitality... so much that we overlook the fact that the rooms are due for a "refresh"...

That's really my only complaint- while the hotel is stylish, well appointed, and comfortable- it just feels like some of the rooms are "beat" and need new carpet- but i'm fussier than most on this aspect of traveling.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAlyeshmerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Wow! I travel about 25 nights per month and rarely, if ever, do I encounter the level of service and enthusiasm presented nightly by the staff at the W in San Diego. The fantastic service begins at the front door where the valet and bell staff are always smiling and willing to lend a hand or open the door. Melissa Humble is the consumate hostess, greeting my colleagues and me by name as we arrive in the lobby each night. Melissa is always ready with suggestions for restaurants, activities, and consistently finds ways to improve my stay each and every visit. The rooms are always clean, fresh, and fully stocked. I'm continually impressed with the housekeeping staff and their attention to detail in the rooms. It's the attitude of staff and their enthusiam for providing First Class Service for every guest, new or returning, that make the W San Diego feel like home.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORD_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 278 in San Diego
910 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#29 of 278 in San Diego
985 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 278 in San Diego
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Address: 421 West B Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly W San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a simply delightful experience at the Renaissance San Diego Hotel. Our downtown San Diego hotel's location is perfect, near the historic Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Convention Center, as well as close to top shopping and dining. We're also moments from Mission Bay and San Diego Beaches. At our hotel, you'll find luxurious sophistication that allows for memorable moments in San Diego, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Diego Hotel San Diego
w Hotels San Diego
w Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing