We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sand, rooftop, drinks, music... :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection
Ranked #107 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed April 1, 2014

All in 1 spot, you get to dress casul, put your feet in the sand, drink and dance to the great music right in the middle of downtown. I haven't stayed in the hotel but I'm assuming it's great by just walking around the lobby, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arosak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, General Manager at Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hello!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. While we no longer have sand at our Rooftop Bar, it is still an excellent spot to kick back with a cocktail. We have live DJ sets every weekend as well as many fashion and art installations throughout the summer. I hope we can welcome you in for a stay soon.

Best,
Michael O.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at several W Hotels and have always been impressed by the excellent customer service we receive. The W San Diego was no different. When we checked in, the smiling Alyssa at the front desk took note that we were in town celebrating my wifes 40th birthday. When we came home from a night out at the Gaslight Quarter there was a bottle of champagne and a piece of cake for her compliments Alyssa and the W Hotel. This is the reason I will continue to choose the W as my hotel chain of choice as well as recommend it for my company meetings (J&J).

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, Manager at Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hi Charles,

Happy Birthday to your wife and thank you for celebrating with us. I hope you enjoyed the champagne and cake! Alyssa is an amazing asset to our team and she will be so glad to hear she made your wife's birthday special.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best,
Michael O.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed a week at this hotel. They open doors, have ice water with fruit and rice crispy squares at the front door.

The hotel is secure. You get a card that you need to use not only for your door, but to gain access to your room floor in the elevator. A plus.

The rooms are clean. They look ok, but need new carpets and a little freshening with some new paint furniture. The linens are clean and the bed is very comfortable.

Do you say that the room is quiet? Yes... it is.

Would I stay here again? Yes.

Room Tip: pick any room above the 10th floor. Don't pick the east side if you don't like looking at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, General Manager at Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hello!

We are so glad to hear about your memorable experience with us! Our talent takes great care to ensure each guest has every request fulfilled and that your stay is comfortable. We are having new carpet installed very soon and hope this will improve the overall appearance of our guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,
Michael O.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Other reviewers mentioned service above and beyond - this was not my experience. This was my first hotel visit ever in 500+ stay nights that the front desk pitched a higher floor room as an upgrade.

Flip-side - texting the bell desk promptly had vehicle ready curbside in every instance. Parking added about 25% extra cost to my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, Manager at Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hi Doug,

I'm sorry to note you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do everything we can do upgrade our guests when they are available. If we have none available, our higher floor rooms have better views and aren't interrupted by the noise from the street below. I hope you found our talent helpful and friendly throughout your stay. Our Welcome Ambassadors are top notch and are always happy to help with directions, your bags and any other request you might have. I hope we can welcome you back.

Best,
Michael O.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

If you want cool... any W hotel is the best choice.
The room we got was awesome. The location of the hotel is ok. San Diego is one of my favorite cities. Staff was wonderful.
Only thing I dont get... wi-fi and parking isn't free. When you're paying the amount of money that these hotels cost you should at least get free wi-fi and/or parking.
Anyway. You can never go wrong with a W hotel. The San Diego experience was nicer than expected and this fine, trendy, cool, modern hotel had a lot to do with it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I love W hotels and try to stay at one whenever I travel. They are high class, awesome hotels, and the San Diego W is no exception. What really stood out though was Sophie at the check in desk. She knew I was having a horrible night and went above and beyond to make sure I had the best possible stay. I can't thank her enough and the W is so lucky to have this angel working for their company.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iheartlemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, Manager at Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hello!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Sophie always goes above and beyond to deliver on our Whatever/Whenever service. We agree that we are lucky to have someone like her on our team. I'm glad she was able to turn your night around. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Best,
Michael O.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Possibly the worst hotel I have had the misfortune to stay at & that includes Taiwan & China! Parking? What parking? $35 for valet the only option. Our adult Son had an enjoyable stay at W San Fran the previous month so he thought this site would offer the same - NOT. They lost our prepaid booking so I was forced to pay again on check-in, we were charged for wifi when my sons status included wifi, everything in the room had a price tag attached - very 'in your face- we want your money'. Sliding door on bathroom provided no privacy. Instead of our planned 4-night stay we checked-out first thing the next morning and found a far better hotel up the road.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneMoreRobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, General Manager at Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. You will find that our parking is in line with other hotels downtown. We only offer valet parking because we don't have a garage to self-park in. If you'd like, you are welcome to find parking near the hotel. Our Welcome Ambassadors would be more than happy to help you in that regard.

We love recognizing our SPG members and do everything we can to reward their status. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in The Living Room and encourage guests to come and enjoy coffee or a cocktail while they work. We do charge for items from our munchies box and Smart Water, but are happy to provide you with anything you need. Please give us a call at Whatever/Whenever and it will be delivered promptly.

I am sorry to note that you checked out early. We would have loved the opportunity to make your stay a memorable one. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

All the best,
Michael O.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#66 of 286 in San Diego
990 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#71 of 286 in San Diego
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 286 in San Diego
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection

Address: 421 West B Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $161 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Republic takes design cues from San Diego’s oceanside location, with lofty ceilings and chandeliers made from reclaimed driftwood. Coastal inspiration continues in the guest rooms, furnished in contemporary neutral tones accented by blue tie-dyed pillows. With a convenient downtown address in the heart of the city’s social hub, guests enjoy quick access to the historic 16-block Gaslamp Quarter, trendy Little Italy, the San Diego Bay with its world-famous aquarium, the ballpark, and the convention center. It can all be taken in from the hotel’s stylish rooftop lounge, where craft cocktails and light fare pair perfectly with breathtaking city and ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Diego Hotel San Diego
w Hotels San Diego
w Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing