We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$484
$350
Fairmont.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$289
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$187
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$138
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$323
$199
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,855)
Filter reviews
1,856 results
Traveler rating
726
573
308
149
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
726
573
308
149
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsw hotelrooftop bargaslamp districtvalet parkingmodern hotelvalet servicelobby areacorner roomhorton plazagas lampfire pitupon checkfitness centerchalkboardhipmelissacourthouse
Filter
Updating list...
839 - 844 of 1,856 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here recently with my boyfriend for a few days. Typical trendy decor that you will find at most W Hotels and the staff I interacted with were very friendly and helpful, with the exception of the concierge - surprising. Great location, within walking distance to the Gaslamp, Little Italy, and the Bay. It was a little cold, but the rooftop deck has a piece of art that doubles as a fire pit and comfy chairs. Rooms were cool, not crazy about the sliding door on the bathroom - NO privacy whatsoeva! Fitness center is sufficient, but small. There is a lot of attention to detail in this hotel, which makes the experience fun. Loved the chalk board in the room!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizweigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have stayed at this W many times over the last 6 months and so my review is an aggregate of experiences vs. just a single stay. In general i find the staff to be indifferent especially at the front desk. You have to ask about elite benefits almost every time.

While I was Gold SPG any sort of upgrade was quite rare. On one particular stay upon checking in found the bed to have been completely turned upside down with feathers on the floor. I was moved to a different room but the front desk manager made a point of telling me twice "we'll put you in an upgraded room..no charge" Really?

I've stayed here once since i turned Platinum and they did upgrade me to a nice corner room. This time not a single available outlet to plug in a laptop in the work area. It took about an hour to get that sorted out with a power strip. What really irked me about this last stay is the front desk person telling me that I don't qualify for Platinum amenity points because i booked a prepaid rate on SPG.com. Are you kidding?? Then getting just 3 starpoints total for a bill of about $200 and despite asking and confirming that bill will be emailed..that never happened either


Will I stay here again? Probably because its conveniently located but not because of attentive and warm service

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SK1212000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is true W style. Swank, trendy, cool and great attention to detail. The staff were very helpful and always positive.

The room was nice - comfortable bed, nice view of the city - but it was loud. The doors to the rooms are heavy and unless people are closing them softly, the sound of banging doors resonates - and it certainly did throughout the night. We could also hear the occupants in the room next to us.

Hotel gym was average. Had plenty of cardio equipment and nice touches (towels, water, mats, etc).

The rooftop bar is pretty cool - nice open air bar to have a drink and chill. The hotel restaurant is nice, but if you want a great meal and great service, wander around the other side of the bar to the Karl Strauss Brew Restaurant (www.karlstrauss.com). This place is AWESOME. Excellent pints, excellent service and great fish tacos.

Hotel was a short walk to the Gaslamp District which is filled with pubs, restaurants and shops. You can spend a great afternoon wandering around and taking in the sights.

Overall, great place - just fix the doors!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is super posh and the best price we could find with the location we wanted. Just minutes walking from Gaslamp, Little Italy, and Hillcrest, the W puts you right where you want to be for great food and fun nightlife! The hotel itself offers a really hip and fun atmosphere and an incredibly helpful and friendly staff! Every time we asked for a recommendation on a restaurant or a place to check-out, they gave us great advice that was awesome every time! The rooms were very contemporary, but comfortable with plenty of space (and a really cool window chase lounge!) They also offer a car service that will take you places around the city at no charge! I have nothing but excellent things to say about this place! A must-stay for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay in San Diego! I am so glad you loved the location, we are conveniently located downtown between Gaslamp and Little Italy.
I do hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Brad W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Its a very cool hotel with nice rooms and attention to details. The staff is friendly and professional. The bars and restaurants of this hotel is awesome and the after work lounge is great way to finish up work in a nice way.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinGranstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews