We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
J Street Inn
Nearby Hotels
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $321/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$209
$188
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$232
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$200
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites(La Jolla)
$199
$194
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$346
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$237
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$315
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $279/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
15
9
9
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
9
9
3
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 39 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for 5 weeks as a foreign student. For the price, the rooms are good. But unfornately it's not very clean and the rooms in the 1st floor are very gloomy. The best point in this hotel is the location, near Seaport Village and the Gaslamp Quarter.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skazo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I stay here for work, which my employer pays for the room. The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is in central downtown San Diego. It is within walking distance to just about everything: Seaport Village, the Embarcadero, Petco Park, Gaslamp Quarter, Horton Plaza which has a 24hr Fitness Sport, Santa Fe depot where you can catch the Coaster train and ride up the coast of San Diego county, and the San Diego Trolley that will take you to Fashion Valley, Qualcomm Stadium, Costco and Ikea amongst other interior areas. There is a 24hr grocery store two blocks away. I usually sleep with the window open and I love the sounds of the city drifting in my room.

Other than the location, this hotel doesn't have much going for it. The lobby is nice, but that is the only place you can pick up the internet. Rooms are clean, but the beds are not the best. The rooms have no decor; white walls, no wall art, open closet, ugly furniture. The bathrooms are dated but do have good water pressure. I have seem mold in some bathrooms. There is a large stainless steel sink with a garbage disposal and some rooms have a cheap plastic table and chairs. Air conditioners are old and noisy but work when you need them to, although in San Diego that is not too often.

Overall, if you want to stay in the heart of San Diego and don't plan on spending a lot of time in your hotel, this is probably a good bet. San Diego has so much to offer that your hotel should be the least of your worries. Get out and enjoy my hometown!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hamrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for 3 weeks, because i had some English Classes at a school near.

Good points:
- nice location: it´s near everything in San Diego, like a 24hs supermarket, Gaslamp Quarter and restaurants.
- very good for single students
- not too expensive
- laundry area

Bad points:
- the mattress is terrible, too soft. I left the hotel with a problem in my backs.
- the front desk is disgusting.
- it´s not a very cleanliness hotel.
- the carpet doesn´t smells good.
- weird bathroom

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Fabricio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

I just stayed at the J St. Inn for the 7th time over the last 8 years, each time as a tourist. You can believe all the positive reviews and descriptions, ignore the negative.

The folks behind the desk are friendly and helpful. When I arrived at around 9 am, Todd checked me in and handed me my key in about three minutes, the room was ready, and spic and span.

The toilet flushed perfectly every time, including paper!!!!!!

The shower is wonderful; powerful pressure and massive flow of water (one of the strongest I ever experienced - really). Hot water is instant and plentiful.

The bed is excellent, firm with two good pillows. Aircon/heater worked great, and lots of cable channels, including HBO. Brushing your teeth in the kitchenette sink is a little weird, but who cares.

Later, Ron let me use the desk phone for some calls outside of 619. The room price is only 7 cents minute for local, and 10 cents a minute for long distance (compare that to any hotel). Only caveat is you need to make a $20 dollar deposit. Your room can be dialed directly, and the folks at the front desk are great at taking messages.

One great thing is how quiet it is. In all my stays I have never had a noise problem, either from another room, or from outside. The windows really block out street noise, and the walls keep out any noise from other rooms (I'm especially sensitive to this).

The folks staying here are mainly long term residents, and very friendly and respectful. I have had some bad experiences at fancy hotels with noisy, obnoxious guests (especially when they are in groups). Never here!

This isn't fancy, but equivalent to a La Quinta or Comfort Inn, with a perfect location in the Gas Lamp Quarter, only one block from Ralph's. Dozens of restaurants, including Dick's Last Resort, The Rock Bottom Brewery, and Bucca de Beppo, are only a few minutes walk.

For a weekly rate of only $300, around $43 dollars a night, this is an incredible value. As long as it's available, I will never stay anywhere else in San Diego.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

I just stayed here in Oct 2007 for the meeting at convention center. It's very convenient and very close to the convention center.

The price is good. The rate is a flat rate/ week- $280 ($309 including tax) per week, even you stay 1 nigth or 6-7 nights. So, if you plan to stay in San Diego for whole week, this is really really good deal. You can choose double-bed room or single-bed room at the same price. For my opinion, I suggest you to book for double-bed room because single bed room is very very small.

In the room, they have microwave, small fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, ironing, free wireless internet, TV cable with several channels (no HBO). There is a maid to clean everyday. The one thing I don't like is bath towel. Otherwise, it's great, and I will recommend my friends to stay there if they go to San Diego.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SI101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews