We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!!!!!”
Review of Thai Village

Thai Village
Ranked #1,290 of 4,768 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

NOT DINE HERE!!!! Our food had taken over an hour and a half and when finally question we were treated as if it were our fault we ordered on a busy night (Sunday?) the food was extremely expensive for the quality that we experienced! It was also wrong. If I can give you any advice it is to NOT DINE HERE!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boswife01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Thai Curry's!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We've been to Thailand and multiple Asian destinations and this is some of the best curry we've ever had!

We ordered the satay chicken, green curry, mango curry and Thai spicy chicken rice (not realising rice came with the curry dishes- it normally doesn't in Australia) all for $38!!!. 5 out of 5- great spicyness, good constancy.

Couldn't have been better! We'd recommend it!

Oh and they do take away. Enjoy!!

Helpful?
Thank MazzAdventure13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good duck curry”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Thailand quite some times. The quality and taste of the duck curry or "entree" as the call it here is great. Also the portions are large.

The reason I give an average is the papaya salad was below average - more green salad and tomato than papaya. Also the interior and finishing of the restaurant it self is not really inviting.

Overall the duck was good, the overall experience was average.

Helpful?
Thank Andres_Boot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quality Authentic Thai”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant proved to be a pleasant surprise. We happened to be walking down Mission boulevard looking for an open restaurant on Christmas Eve. Upon entering this restaurant, the fragrant smell of curry beckons you to enter and sit down. I had the House Curry with noodles and shrimp. The soothing taste of coconut milk hides the mild heat of the curry. My husband ordered the Broccoli and chicken. He said it was very good and had a mild sweet flavor. Our daughter ordered the Hot Basil. She said she enjoyed this dish, but the beef was a bit chewy. You can choose your level of hot, from 1-10. So the heat is really up to you. The staff is very friendly, and the prices were reasonable. Overall, I highly recommend you try this restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank vswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A must visit for unique and delicious Thai cuisine!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Delicious! We will be regulars here!

What we ordered:

Shrimp Avocado curry - 5 stars - this dish is out of this world! Tons of fresh avocado, plump shrimp in a slightly spicy green curry sauce.

Chicken Mango curry - 4 stars - order when mangos are in season and you will not be disappointed. This curry is slightly sweet and not spicy.

#67 Noodles - 4.5 stars - nice and spicy large flat noodles. Very large portion.

Spicy fried rice - 4 stars - again this dish had a nice spice level and was Avery large portion.

We had 4 people in our party, we all left very full and had leftovers!

Staff is very friendly and accommodating. The food is cooked fresh so, if it is busy, expect a little bit of a wait.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Livewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Village also viewed

 

Been to Thai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing