We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there early”
Review of Snooze

Snooze
Ranked #10 of 4,799 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Breakfast marks the beginning of a new day. At Snooze, we believe life is for living and each person and each day is worth celebrating. Our mantra: it only takes a moment to make a difference. From the day we were born, our people - Snoozers - have led the way serving creative twists on America's favorite breakfast classics in a casual, friendly and vibrant atmosphere. The passion of our Snoozers is contagious. Over the past 10+ years it has inspired Snooze fans of all ages across the country.
Santa Ana, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get there early”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Went for breakfast. Very popular. Significant wait for groups. Good selection of eats. 3 fresh juices available. Would return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    223
    60
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purley, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Time has come to expand the franchise. This place is hot!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

** I HAVE UPLOADED MENU PHOTOS** I've never experienced a place for breakfast that was in demand like this place is. Despite being the irreplaceable celebrity/contributor to civilisation, even I had to queue. But I didn't mind as one cannot expect to get into every place everywhere straight away. We waited for about 40 mins however a text service is offered which they will send you a text to tell you that your table is ready.
I have uploaded photos of the menu and the food is good stuff. I ordered scrambled eggs with bacon and sausage with hashbrown and toast. They even scrambled the sausage and bacon with the egg which at first I was minorly outraged followed by being thankful as it made the eating part easier as I don't eat them separately. I also ordered OMG French toast. This is the best French toast (pancake is the same in a different style) with salted caramel, strawberries, vanilla cream and tasted coconut. It is definitely not for breakfast but more like desert. If they served that at restaurants a lot of people would opt for it.
There is a 5 dollar valet parking service if you can't park nearby which is just down a bit from the restaurant on the same street. If the kid is on duty don't let him park it as he isn't a very good driver or talk enough to reach the pedals comfortably.
The waiters and waitresses are well mannered and work hard. They are busy. It makes little business sense to not purchase another location elsewhere or make this place two floors. People shouldn't have to wait 40 mins for breakfast. Expand and do it ASAP! The formula and menu works. If this place was open past 3 I am sure people would eat breakfast into the night time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos_Yabrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do not hit the snooze button on Snooze!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Snooze is a must-do for breakfast and brunch fans everywhere. It is absolutely worth the wait and provides you with the opportunity to walk around the neighborhood, grab a cup of coffee from another local shop and enjoy the beautiful San Diego weather.

Research beforehand led us to Snooze and we were not disappointed. The service was fantastic with friendly, attentive and caring individuals at the helm. Each dish was spectacular and the menu provided so many excellent options, deciding was almost a chore.

The portions were plentiful and breakfast was creative and delicious.

Eat a Snooze. You will be glad you did.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnowBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Out of so many spots Snooze is the one!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Snooze is a fun upbeat atmosphere with a great vibe in hill rest in San Diego. The food was out of this world delicious! I had the OMG French toast with a thin layer of marzipone between the bread and vanilla icing. My husband had the snooze spud delux which is a hash brown with cheese and your choice of additions (meats, veggies, sauces, etc). He added sausage and it was the perfect kind of crumbly sausage spice. The women next to us ordered it with chorizo and was in love too. Great drinks - fresh OJ, bubbly drinks, breakfast cocktails, and coffee. The waitstaff was friendly, timely, and worked as a team. We will defibately return here!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetPeaVentura_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Easy 5”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Snooze is stellar. Creative, fresh breakfasts in an open, airy, fun atmosphere. Great service and delicious dishes. We were so tempted that we ordered way too many dishes just to try everything. Left stuffed and happy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank scrutinizing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snooze also viewed

 

Been to Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing