We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Long wait for table and food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snooze

Snooze
Ranked #7 of 4,614 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Breakfast marks the beginning of a new day. At Snooze, we believe life is for living and each person and each day is worth celebrating. Our mantra: it only takes a moment to make a difference. From the day we were born, our people - Snoozers - have led the way serving creative twists on America's favorite breakfast classics in a casual, friendly and vibrant atmosphere. The passion of our Snoozers is contagious. Over the past 10+ years it has inspired Snooze fans of all ages across the country.
San Diego
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Long wait for table and food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Be prepared to wait - we went for lunch on a Tuesday and waited 50 minutes; hostess texted us when table was nearly ready; we walked around the neighborhood during the wait. Once seated it was obvious noise level is way too high. Loud music, voices, bad accoustics. Cheery waitress took our orders relatively quickly but then we waited over 30 min for our simple grilled cheese and tomato soup orders. Our food was tasty, nothing to shout about. Maybe we will try it again when less busy - and perhaps our attitudes will improve when we don't have to wait forever for a table, then wait again for sloooow food prep.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank culdesacSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    202
    51
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was by far the best breakfast we have had a restaurant. The french toast, breakfast pot pie, and breakfast tacos were amazing. Our server was friendly and gave us the pancake of the day for free. The atmosphere of the restaurant was great as well. It was open, full of light, and clean.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SP535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The best breakfast ever...worth the wait to get seated. Pancakes out of this world with the blueberry Danish and the sweet potato flavours the best of the lot. So brilliant going back tomorrow and if we were not booked to go back to UK this weekend we would camp outside to be first in every morning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We don't even know where to begin- it was hands down the best breakfast on the planet. We were there early (before 9am) so we had no wait at all. The blueberry Danish pancakes were fabulous, as were the hash browns. My kids raved about the bacon as well. Wish I had room (and calories) to try the sweet potato pancakes, but since I need to go on a food detox after this vacation, I think sticking with one breakfast was more then enough. I wish we had more time to go back again and again. Come to the east coast Snooze!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2b4twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stick out the wait.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were staying in La Jolla and I asked a local for the best breakfast. I wasn't finished for a millisecond before she recommended SNOOZE. Her words: 'It's a little ways a way, and you should definitely take a snack, but the drive and the wait are totally worth it.' So we took her word for it.

The wait was horrendous - nearly two hours - which will put a damper on any person's experience quite frankly. However, it's not like they were slow-moving. The place was crawling with people. Once we were seated, our service, food, and the overall experience were incredible. It was easy to see that the workers there enjoyed their job. Eager to please, all having a good time. I like that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jonathanfrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snooze also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing