We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flea problem and crazy water temperature” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
Ranked #136 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Flea problem and crazy water temperature”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night and my experience matched several other guests. While the hotel looks great aesthetically and well furnished, there are some hidden problems.

I, too, got bitten by fleas. I, too, found fleas and saw it with my own eyes. It was a one night stay, so I didn't make a big fuss.

The other strange thing happened, which is surprising and very unusual - the water was boiling hot. I know this sounds crazy because most people complaining about cold water. I tried to shower in the morning the water was literally crazy hot. I thought maybe the hot/cold sides are swapped on the faucet but no, if I turn towards hot from the midposition, the water became nearly boiling hot. i could have brewed coffee with the water straight out of the faucet. I end up running both the tub faucet and sink faucet, along with the kitchen faucet to flush out the excessively hot water. It took what felt like 5 solid mins of running the faucets to get the water down to a manageable albeit still very hot temperature.

Getting a flea bite and then a partial burn is not a good way to end the stay. The extra star is earned by a nice well equipped gym and the free laundry room.

Room Tip: You should bring some flea sprays or at least a tube of hydro-cortisone anti-itch cream...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knowmyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear knowmyhotels,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and superior accommodations. We sincerely apologies for the problems you experienced in your room. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. You can be confident that the hotel management will take necessary actions to improve our guest experience.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    38
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
57
13
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We enjoyed a four-day stay over Labor Day at Staybridge. It was conveniently located to family we were visiting. Four adults shared a two-bedroom suite. Room was clean and spacious with a full kitchen which we used. Each bedroom had its own full bath which kept everyone happy. Morning breakfast was quite extensive and good. All requests were responded to quickly. I was hoping for a spacious room at a clean, extended stay property with a good breakfast and that's exactly what we got! Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sstrauss51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel reminds me why I love Staybridge Suites Hotels. Great service, strong attention to detail inside & out, and the free breakfasts & social receptions are terrific! Great location to where I needed to be for work & play

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToddT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went to my 30 year HS reunion and needed a place to stay. This is one of the best places I have been to. The staff was very friendly & personable. The suites were very spacious and updated. Enjoyed the breakfast and dining area. Love the location. Also a special little note from Robert about my stay hit the spot. Way to go Staybridge!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marlene t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, WI
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I went on a big family trip (6 of us in total), half of us were going to comic con and the other half were sight seeing. This was a perfect location for everything! We were about 15-30 mins drive away from every attraction we wanted to see and the 2 room suite with kitchenette was perfect to keep everyone happy. The free hot breakfast worked for everyone except the vegan in the family and we were happily surprised by a free hot breakfast 3 nights out of the week! We would definitely stay here again! My only complaint is that housekeeping never gave us the right amount of bath towels, so every night I was calling the front desk for more which they always brought to the room right away!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swan318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

While I agree with the majority of other reviewers here, we had a terrible experience with fleas in the room over this past weekend. Aesthetically, this is a nice business class hotel -- recently renovated, spacious rooms, with a largely friendly staff.

Unfortunately, my family awoke after our first night, and we were covered in flea bites. Subsequent inspection of the mattress revealed several fleas, and we saw the same fleas on the pull out sofa mattress and crib mattress. This was not acceptable.

We spoke with the front desk who sent over the front desk manager, and they agreed to change the bedding. They offered another room in the "smoking section" of the hotel (why is there a smoking section of any hotel these days?), otherwise they were sold out. So, the bedding was changed...and the next morning we found new fleas! Awesome.

The front desk staff politely reminded us that this hotel is pet-friendly, and they like to keep all pets in first floor rooms. This apparently helps keep pets out of the common areas of the hotel. Unfortunately, it also leads to fleas. They also mentioned that they supposedly treat each room after a pet has stayed there. Apparently their treatment either doesn't happen, or it's ineffective.

Overall, this hotel is aesthetically great. My kids enjoyed the small pool, we visited family, and had fun. Unfortunately the hotel dropped the ball when it came to the fleas. If you're planning to stay at this hotel, do so on the 2nd or 3rd floor, where pets aren't placed.

Hope this helps someone else avoid a similar experience.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Avoid the fleas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpeterson20, Public Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is with our deepest sympathies that this has been your experience at our hotel. While making an effort to contact you personally our management team scheduled an emergency meeting to discuss the outcome of this situation which was absolutely avoidable. As you stated prior, we are a pet friendly hotel but that is no excuse as the cleanliness of our facility is something we invest in with great pride and seriousness. Despite our longstanding record as such we did miss the mark with regard to your stay and fell short not only internally as a staff but also with our most prized possession, your our customer.

That said we appreciate your honest scrutiny and critique of the hotel as it was needed to remind all departments that we all can potentially be fallible. While we take aim to avoid any re-occurrence by restructuring our procedures for "pets in suites", from the bottom of our hearts we apologize and thank you for caring enough to bring this to our attention.

-Sincerest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Went to Rancho Bernardo for a Lacrosse tournament and stayed here. The rooms were updated, comfortable and huge. Enjoyed our short stay immensely. It really not close to the San Diego attractions but it was great for what we needed. The staff was great too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curtis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
8.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
4.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
2.0 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Rancho Bernardo
4.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area

Property: Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
Address: 11855 Avenue of Industry, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites - San Diego Rancho Bernardo Hotel is the favorite extended stay hotel in the Rancho Bernardo Area. We offer free high speed internet access in every guest room and daily complimentary buffet breakfast! Our all suite hotel offers studio, one bedroom and two-bedroom/two bath suites. Each Suite features fully equipped kitchens, including microwave, 2-burner stove top, dishwasher, ice maker and coffeemaker, perfect for any extended stay. The Staybridge Suites - Rancho Bernardo has spacious suites featuring separate living and work areas as standard amenities. Each suite has a direct dial phone number, two phone lines, speaker phone, voice mail, data port and free high-speed Internet access. We also have on site 24 hour business center, Bridgemart convenience store, fitness center and free laundry facilities. Our outdoor heated pool and sport court are available year round. Complimentary shuttle service is offered within a 5 mile radius of the hotel, Mon. - Fri. 8am - 7pm. The Staybridge Suites - San Diego Rancho Bernardo Hotel is conveniently located adjacent to Northrop Grumman and Scripps Hospital. In addition our location provides great access to all of the companies that call Rancho Bernardo home. These companies include Sony, Lockheed Martin, BAE Systems, SAIC, Hewlett Packard (HP), NOKIA, Pulse, Siemens, NCR, Intel, Delta Designs and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area Hotel San Diego
San Diego Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing