We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it and I rarely eat pork!”

Carnitas' Snack Shack
Ranked #80 of 4,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
CA
Level Contributor
248 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Loved it and I rarely eat pork!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I highly recommend this fantastic eatery for lunch! It is Zagat rated, and they use local and organic ingredients. The food was soooo good!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank WKCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    73
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
467 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Woo pig!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

If all things pork are to your liking, then the Carnitas' Snack Shack is for you! We were about 4th in line, but the wait was actually for the food after we'd place our order. The seating is all outdoors with a few tables under a covered patio. The food all tasted really good, and since the wait for the food was kind of long, we knew that everything is made to order.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mis_Adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Triple pork sando: v. good, not amazing”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Decided to check out the triple threat for an early dinner (no line!): bacon, pulled pork and schnitzel: really everything tasted very good quality and fresh, but it really didn't blow me away: I think the sandwich needs another element for contrast as the schnitzel was a bit undersalted/underspiced, as was the pulled pork, maybe a sweet element, or maybe mine was just missing the aioli as I didn't really note any? I dunno. Anyway: would I wait in a 45 min line for another? Nope. But still, quality of ingredients deserves the 4 dot rating here...but try for an off-time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shappych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
302 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very Good But Beware the Lines”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong- the food here is good- think localvore BBQ and Mexican mashup. But the process is excrutiatingly slow. First you wait in a walkup line- we waited over a half hour at lunch. Then we waited another 45 minutes in the back outside seating area until our food finally came. That is simply too much time for a meal of this type. I won't be back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mookie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilbert, az
Level Contributor
142 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Not quite up to the hype”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

While our food was good, it did not blow us away. After standing in line for an hour, I guess I expected more. Probably the best item, between the four of us, were the carnitas tacos. The triple pork sandwich had tasty bacon but the pulled pork was dry, and the schnitzel was fairly weak. The steak sandwich was pretty good, as the meat was flavorful and tender.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank memberat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnitas' Snack Shack also viewed

 

Been to Carnitas' Snack Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing