We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Heavenly Porkers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carnitas' Snack Shack

Carnitas' Snack Shack
Ranked #36 of 4,609 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Heavenly Porkers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I found this place by accident when Google-ing Carnitas. Their hours are from 12:00pm to 12:00 am. So on Wednesday we arrived at 12:10pm to find a line waiting to order. I dropped my daughter off while I found a place to park. WOW she is 30th in line! Many of the people were regulars and the talk was: have you tried the Pork Belly appetizer, or the Carnitas, etc.etc. Well I was there for the Carnitas Tacos and my Daughter ordered a BLT (which really is bacon, ham, lettuce, and tomato on freshly baked Brioche, and an order of seasoned fries. Well......the carnitas was off the chart! The best I have had anywhere. Two tacos were plenty, I almost couldn't finish them. The BLT was awesome. The thick cut bacon was done to perfection and the ham was very tender and added a nice twist. However, the freshly baked brioche pulled it all together. Finally, the crispy seasoned fries were to die for. They had a nice bit of spice and had to be fried in pork fat to achieve such a great flavor WITHOUT being greasy. I can't wait to take my wife there next week!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RSFBigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    64
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We didn't find this place to be as amazing as the reviews said. We didn't like how close the ordering window was to the street, lots of flies as well. Our sandwiches need more on them besides just meat. Like sauce? Or toppings? Sorry but this place was super awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food, providing you like pork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We really had no idea what to expect, we just new that we had to give it a try based on the amazing reviews. It certainly lived up to them.
We walked down from our hotel and joined the queue in the street. After maybe 15 minutes, we placed our order at the hole in the wall (the menu is very pork based, but everything sounds delivious). As we chose to eat in, we headed round the side and got a table and our food was brought out to us. I can't think of sufficient words to describe how good it was, but the pork belly melted in the mouth and tasted delicious and the BLT was unbelievably good.
I thoroughly recommend this place, and just wish they would open one in London!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
286 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Unbelievable meals for pork lovers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Carnitas' Snack Shack is a tiny gem tucked away where you'd least expect it! They recently remodeled and added a garden and more tables, as it used to be quite difficult to sit down! They also have a beer license now and offer many micro brews. On a large grill out back you can watch your meal being cooked! My all time fav is the Triple Threat Pork Sandwich, with pork belly, pulled pork and bacon! The pork belly appetizer is to die for, also! You can't eat there w/o ordering their delicious fries with bacon ketchup! And this trip I splurged and got the bacon ice cream sandwich! Talk about decadent. Whether ordering their carnitas, or any other pork item on the menu, you will be raving about this place to your friends!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vacationers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Grease needed to be drained off a bit more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place more. It's a hip place and the flavors were good. It was just too greasy for me. The carnitas need to be drained more. Plus, being hip, it was a little pricey. I liked the beet terrine a lot and I want to go back and give them another try. It's nice that they have beer and wine, too. And a gluten free beer option for the wife! Big points for that! Maybe i should give a three and a half.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nakaboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnitas' Snack Shack also viewed

 

Been to Carnitas' Snack Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing