We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Carnitas Tacos. Enough said.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carnitas' Snack Shack

Carnitas' Snack Shack
Ranked #17 of 4,536 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Carnitas Tacos. Enough said.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The patio area is darling!
Worth the wait. Make sure to have a little extra time. They know their carnitas. I love the crunchy carmelized pieces.
Beer is cold.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kylebal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    62
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Delicious steak sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Took about twenty minutes to get our food but worth the wait. Steak sandwich was big enough to share. My uncle got the triple threat pork sandwich and loved it even though he was initially disappointed that it was a little small. The wait can be long to order. We waited in line for about 10-15 minutes. Yummy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoodLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious Pork Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After living across the street for over a month, I finally went to Carnitas' Snack Shack yesterday. There was 1 person in line (this was exciting since usually I see lines of 20+ people), so I skimmed over the menu quickly before deciding on the Triple threat pork sandwich - pork schnitzel, pulled pork, bacon, pepperoni-pickle relish, shack aioli. Hey, go big or go home!

I went around the back to wait for the sandwich and was pleasantly surprised by the patio area. There was plenty of seating, it was clean, and there it felt like I was in someone's backyard for a bbq.

Once I got my sandwich, I walked home to dig in since I was cold. I split it in half with my bf and initially he thought the sandwich was small but I figured it would be filling since there was three types of pork. Plus, we had plenty of speghetti leftovers to get through.

Let me tell ya - I was happy with half because of the richness. The pulled pork and bacon stood out more than the schnitzel. In fact, the schnitzel got kind of lost in the mix. The pepperoni-pickle aioli was great and they put on just the right amount - not too much and not too little. I loved how it helped bring the entire sandwich together. I would definitely go back and maybe next time, I'll get their fries that I saw everyone with!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just had to check out Carnitas' Snack Shack after reading the review in Triple A's Westways Magazine. Their hours are 12 to 12. Closed Tuesdays. I got there 40 minutes before opening, the line was already forming. You order and pay at the sidewalk window, then head around back to the outdoor patio to wait for your food.......I had the BLT, which also includes slices of ham. Excellent. Got the seasoned fries to go with it. Very good. The ketchup type sauce they serve with the fries I could live without.(very bland).

One friend ordered the 'Triple Threat' sandwich which includes breaded prok schnitzel, applewood-smoked bacon, and roasted pork on a brioche bun. They loved it. Another friend had one of the two specials for the day. A pulled pork sandwich, which also got two thumbs -up.

When we left there was a line of about 15 people waiting to order. This was on a Thursday. Be prepared for a line pretty much whatever time you go. But it's well worth it. Enjoy!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenster2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this place highly enough! Whatever you do have the bacon ice cream Sandwich!!! The Carnitas tacos are unbelievable and if they have the pork triple threat sandwich...get it! This is a pork lovers heaven! :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnitas' Snack Shack also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Carnitas' Snack Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing