We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a relaxing breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fig Tree Cafe

Fig Tree Cafe
Ranked #371 of 4,724 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between 4th & 5th
Description: Fig Tree Café began in the fall of 2008 with owner Johan Engman's simple mission rooted in the creation of an inviting and genuine dining experience. Since opening the first location in Pacific Beach, Fig Tree Café planted a second restaurant in the middle of San Diego's Hillcrest neighborhood at 416 University Avenue. In Hillcrest, Fig Tree Café features an urban modern open kitchen concept, enabling patrons to observe the culinary action. The eatery is easily intimate with chameleon-like characteristics. It operates as an on-the-go spot for daytime diners serving the finest breakfast, brunch, and lunch options. Playing host to the Pacific Beach crowd, the original café inhabits an old cottage with a dog-friendly patio, surrounded by a garden-like setting just off the beach-goers' beaten path. According to local lore, the flagship locale even includes an old putting green, left intact underneath the deck. The most recent branch sprouted in August 2013 in the Liberty Station development. Rustic wine barrels flank the indoor bar, made from wood which once supported stairs to the deck of Chef Alberto Morreale's home. Dining al-fresco is enjoyable on a patio built for up to 50 of Point Loma's finest folks. The mesh of necessity and creativity cultivates a warm vibe supported by honestly reclaimed décor. Each incarnation of Fig Tree Café is uniquely designed to fit the neighborhood niche and the three establishments share a commitment to using homegrown rosemary, selecting produce and eggs from a family farm in Ramona and giving back to their respective communities. Fig Tree Café's menu presents diners with the depths of California's culinary culture, serving authentic and mouthwatering dishes at reasonable neighborhood prices.
pilgrimx4
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a relaxing breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I had the pleasure of breakfast here when I was visiting my nephew. I had the eggwich and he had the meatloaf hash and eggs. YUM!! We have wonderful attentive service, and great suggestions from our waiter. I will be going back next time I am in town!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pilgrimx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    22
    16
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exactly what i want for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Even though it was busy Fig Tree maintained a relaxed, comfortable coffee-house atmosphere with friendly, attentive service and exceptional food. My smoked salmon benedict with asparagus, perfectly poached eggs and house potatoes was very, very good, but my friend's brioche french toast stuffed with mascarpone, mango and strawberry with a side of the best man candy bacon ever might have been even better.

Helpful?
Thank IronBlosam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our family of 4 enjoyed a nice breakfast/lunch. Kids loved the pancakes and French toast. Eggs and sandwiches were also great. Will definitely add this to our list of favorites in San Diego. (They also validated parking.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmoeller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
190 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Pity, could have been so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were drawn in by the pleasant decor of warm wooden colors and soft lighting. We both had pizza which took forever even though the restaurant was nearly empty. The pizza had a nice crust but very sparse toppings. When our plates were empty it again took forever for our server to attend to us. We actually thought she had gone home for the night. The other servers were all too busy walking back and forth and cleaning up, while our table and two others were still occupied.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beachy Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great little patio restaurant that has super breakfast and casual atmosphere. Cute patio adorned with large trees and super outdoor ambiance. Breakfast is the specialty with a great menu from pancakes to benedict. Service is friendly and food is great. Doggies welcome. Super spot to meet friends and family with a relaxed and fun atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiriamGC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fig Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Fig Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing