We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!! Great show!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horton Grand Theatre

Horton Grand Theatre
Ranked #165 of 424 things to do in San Diego
Attraction details
Pooler, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WOW!! Great show!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were excited about going to see Mixed Tape...and it well surpassed our expectations!! The show is in a quaint theater in the Gas Lamp District and the show is phenominal!! They do a great job at not only bringing back the music of the 80's, but working TV shows and other interests of the '80's into the show. If the 80's was a decade you enjoyed you absolutely should not miss this show!! It is now running through the end of March!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kj1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a super fun walk through the 80's. If you grew up in the 80's the show makes you realize that you weren't all that unique after all! Well worth the money. Great venue. No bad seats. Spunky cast. Don't remember the name of the actor (sorry) but the tall guy is going places, great comedic timing. A few distractions ... I think it would play better with actors who were actually alive in the 80's, and the clothes were caricature. Also -- spoiler alert -- the Challenger reference was a big fat dud.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellerBrooklyn_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful 80's walk down memory lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was in town on business with a day to myself. My co-worker and I decided to see the show and bought tickets the day of the show at Art Tix. Worth every penny and we had excellent seats. We sang every song and laughed till we about cried. Left the theater on a High from such a fun production. It's a MUST see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank shannonm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mixtape is a Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went to Saturday night's performance and bought our tickets from ArtsTix for a great deal that morning! We absolutely loved the show...it was so much fun! Horton Grand Theatre is a small theatre, therefore any seat should be fine. Parking is limited due to the Gaslamp location, but there is a parking garage right across the road. When I pulled up, the man working asked for $25. I told him that I thought theatre parking was $10, and he agreed to that.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank takeatripMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Downtown San Diego small theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

The prices for top notch entertainment are very reasonable. Not a bad seat in the house. Located in the heart of the Gaslamp area with lots to see and do. Parking can be an issue so be prepared to pay for parking. There is a lot right across the street from theater. I saw Mix Tape there which is a funny, fun musical review of music from the 80's with great costumes.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pezdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horton Grand Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Horton Grand Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing