We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Logistically Challenged”
Review of Urban Plates

Urban Plates
Ranked #232 of 4,768 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Logistically Challenged”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Urban Plates serves fresh-to-order food cafeteria style at reasonable prices. It's a great and healthy alternative to fast food for a quick meal. They offer a great variety for all tastes. The only complaint is their ordering system makes no sense. Everyone seem to bottle-neck at the entrance so ordering takes much longer than it should. If you are lucky to be there when the lines are slim, you are in for an enjoyable meal; when there is a crowd, the confusion begins as to where you order.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeeSleepEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    50
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fresh good food”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We placed a take out order after a long day. A good selection of poultry, meat, soups and children meals. All fresh and good

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dakiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Best Ever!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I just want to eat here all the time. The simple premise of fresh, healthy food made right in front of you. The salads are amazing - the nicoise has fresh grilled ono tuna, how great is that? The mac n cheese is to die for. The hot and cold vege selection is fabulous. The meats are freshly grilled as you order.
One price fits all, makes it easy.
YOU MUST EAT HERE!! They MUST open more sites! How about Encinitas?????

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leendar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Welcome relief from bad Hotel food!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed nearby at a "Luxury Resort" that had awful, I mean awful lunch food so we knew for dinner we were leaving the grounds for something tasty, somewhat healthy and easy dinner. We did a quick local eatery search on our phones and found this place. Yes, in general it is cafeteria style in the sense that you get a tray and order your food, but that didn't bother me in the slightest. We didn't think we were coming for a sit down 5 course, white gloved meal. There are many of delicious fresh made options. You could go as healthy or as "comfort food" as you like. The staff behind the lines were pleasant and helpful. Price point is just right and believe me you will not leave hungry. Wish they had more of these throughout southern California. Well done!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food!!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Their food is awesome! They have a great Salad Bar. They have awesome sandwich's and their hot plates are to die for. It is not a sit down place where you order from a waitress or waiter, but you go through a line and order. They do have indoor dining as well as outdoor dining. Very casual dining. It is a one price menu, the same price for everything.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Starlet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Plates also viewed

 

Been to Urban Plates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing